We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Comfortable business hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Celestine Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Celestine Hotel
Ranked #14 of 106 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Comfortable business hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I visited this property recently to participate in a conference. The hotel consists of a lobby and four floors (14-17) of a commercial building. One of the restaurants does a double duty as the breakfast restaurant, but the lobby also has a relatively large cafeteria. The standard are quite small, but this is Tokyo. Bed is comfortable, and AC easy to adjust. Bathroom is perhaps a bit too small, the door opens inwards almost to the bathtub.

Service was generally good, although some of the junior staff were not perfectly fluent in English. Their attitude was excellent, of course.

The hotel has a very nice lounge on the 14th floor, which is actually a small building on a courtyard inside the building. The lounge has sofas, chairs and tables for just, well, lounging around. It only serves coffee and tea, though. One can smoke on the other side of the courtyard, and the free lounge wifi covers courtyard as well.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iikka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    330
    64
    12
    0
See reviews for
58
214
85
220
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

This is a business hotel and the 2nd time I am staying here. The 1st time was 2 years ago and I have to say that I saw vast improvement in the service and facilities. Now there is WIFI available in the entire hotel and the signal access is very strong and connectivity very fast.
It's very easy access from Haneda Airport ~ 24 minutes via train to Mita station and about a 3 min walk from the station to the hotel.
The hotel is very clean well maintained. The rooms are certainly not as large as some of the large chain hotels in Shinjuku area but more than adequate for business travellers.
The buffet breakfast has both Western and Japanese fare and is good value.
There is a free lounge on the 14th floor with free coffee/tea/biscuits and opens to a roof top garden.
There are also 2 large stations < 10 minutes walk Mita/Tamachi that will give you good access to anywhere in Tokyo you want to go. Very nice restaurants just behind the hotel so if you are too lazy to venture far for food, they are good options to try out.
With 10-15 minutes walk you can get to Zojoji, Tokyo Tower and Shibakoen.
It's a quiet hotel and perfect for business travellers.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KLTY123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MADRID
Level Contributor
82 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

It´s important to begin by saying that it´s a business hotel. If you´re looking for a hotel close to sightseeing and transportation go to somewhere else.

Celestine Hotel is a very nice hotel if you´re on business.

The lobby is amazing. Spacious, clean, high roof and with a big reception center. Perfect.

Some of the male receptionists are rude. I suppose they are used to dealing with businessmen and they don´t like backpackers... The female receptionists are wonderful.

Our room was spacious and with a lovely view of the city.

Wi-fi is for free, and it´s very fast.

It´s a good detail that they have a lounge on the 14th floor with free cofee, tea, water, 24 hours.

Excellent cleaning staff.

It´s 5 minutes from Mita subway. It´s not an important station, you´ll need to make transfer lines if you want to go to the city center (Shibuya, Roponggi).

There´s a railway station 10 minutes away, Tamachi. It´s a minor station, you´ll need to transfer lines to go to the center, airport or shinkasen stations.

In conclusion, a very good hotel if you´re working and your company pays for your taxis.

Room Tip: Choose rooms on the 16th or 17th floor, with a view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JOSEFELIXAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Nice hotel...easy access from haneda airport and to see tokyo...free coffee in lounge after a day of sightseeing....free wifi thoroughout the hotel a great bonus....rooms were clean and a good size...

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Jiteshvpatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
130 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Our room was the deluxe corner twin (which is 2 full size beds). The room was huge, the bathroom luxurious. Highly recommend this room which has windows the length of the room. This a beatiful hotel, it's close to 2 metro stops, and there are nearby restaurants. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soonergirl1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
150 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

This hotel is in a good location in Minato. It is a walking distance from two train stations, and you can get to many parts of Tokyo easily from it. The rooms are clean, beds are comfortable, and guests are provided with many nice beauty care products. For some reason, I noticed that some Tokyo hotels did not provide any body lotions but this one provided three different types of lotion including a small body oil.
In my opinion, the customer service is okay, but needs improvement. It was not consistently good. Depending on which staff was assisting me, it could be good or bad. One example, is that I needed information and directions, and the two staff members seemed too impatient to assist me. I felt like I was bothering them.That was the only negative because I still had a good stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FabGlobetrotter03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
174 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

The Celestine Hotel was a great find in Tokyo - a city we've been to many times! I wanted a room that was a decent size as there were two of us in the room (and Japanese hotel rooms are notoriously small) and it certainly was a good size for Japan and the bathroom was a good size as well - with a nice long bench to put toiletries.

Some of the good features in the bathroom were a nice bath (shower over the bath), very large size shampoos/conditioners etc and they also had a very well-stocked amenity box with everything you could want. The only thing that wasn't ideal were the very thin towels which were scratchy - not sure why they skimped on the towels.

The room had a comfortable bed, dressing gowns were provided and there were also a couple of sofa chairs, a reasonable sized desk, wardrobe and safe plus tea/coffee making facilities. There was no iron and ironing board but that was brought up to the room very quickly when ordered.

The hotel has a nice lobby with a cafe in it. The Celestine Hotel is in a business area (a block from NEC headquarters) but there isn't too much around the area. However within the same building as the hotel there are several restaurants and we went to the Italian restaurant Pagliacci Due which was great! There is also a Tully's coffee shop (great coffee) within the building as well so it's convenient if you want a restaurants close by. Also the Shibakoen train station (on the Toei Mita line) is just a couple of minutes walk away and you can get anywhere in Tokyo once on the subway system. There are other stations also nearby but Shibakoen is the closest. Also staff are great at the hotel and their English skills are generally pretty good

Internet is free in the rooms (but you can upgrade to a higher speed if you want but this wasn't necessary for normal business usage). TV in the rooms has BBC and CNN so a couple of English channels. Our package didn't include breakfast but they did provide a discount off the breakfast but we still had to pay 1500 yen each person. The breakfast was OK but the buffet doesn't change from day to day so you'd probably get pretty sick of it after a few days but all the basics are provided. There is also a guest lounge that is available to all guests but we were busy and didn't get to use it!

As a business hotel, it was ideal and we would stay there again. We booked the hotel directly (as it was the same price as my usual booking site for Asia, Agoda). Beware of the very strange entry on your credit card - the name of the hotel appeared as gobbledygook (so I'm guessing it was in Japanese) but the location says France (I guess it's a French owned hotel) - it took a while to figure out it was the hotel charge on my card!

I paid about US160 per night inc. all taxes and service fees for a Deluxe Double. The Celestine Hotel enjoys a good reputation in Japan so I think overall it was one of the better places we've stayed and I consider it very good value for money.

Room Tip: Some rooms are a very long way from the lift - we seemed to have to circumnavigate the hotel to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MIWSing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minato
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 106 in Minato
4.5 of 5 stars 2,697 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Royal Park Hotel The Shiodome, Tokyo
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
#8 of 69 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 stars 1,793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Mitsui Garden Hotel Ginza Premier
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Mitsui Garden Hotel Shiodome Italia-gai
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
The Prince Park Tower Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celestine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celestine Hotel

Property: Celestine Hotel
Address: 3-23-1 Shiba, Minato 105-0014, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Minato
#13 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#21 Family Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Celestine Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 243
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, JAPANiCAN, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Celestine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celestine Hotel Minato
Celestine Hotel Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing