We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Celestine Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Celestine Hotel
Ranked #14 of 108 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
Prague
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Very good hotel at a very good location. Also value for money. Gym / pool would be nice but one can walk in the nearby park offers place for excercise. Plenty of authentic places nearby and the tube which is very close is in Ginza in just a couple of minutes.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    343
    65
    13
    1
See reviews for
61
221
86
234
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Good service, awesome concierge, metro station(s) nearby, room clean and calm but slightly too small, big nice breakfast buffet (but exactly the same every day), a lot of small restaurants nearby, stayed here over new-year 12/13. value for money ok. only setback (the semi-double room is definitly too small for two people).

Room Tip: The semi-double Room is not big enough for two adults!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toshima-ku, Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Stayed here on a Saturday night and was pleasantly surprised. It's located not too far from Tokyo Tower and as such I asked if the hotel staff would mind placing us in a room with a view. We got what we asked for with a partial view of Tokyo Tower and a beautifully clear view of Mount Fuji in the distance.

Room size was pretty big by Japanese standards with a nice sized bath. The buffet breakfast was filling and offered a large selection of both Japanese and Western food.

What I liked most about this place was the 14th floor. There is a communal lounge with a library which opens up onto a roof top surrounded by the 15-17th floors. So there's a totally private square/garden area with tables and chairs in which to enjoy free condiments and have a read. Free wifi too!

Saw the Japanese hammer thrower Murafushi at breakfast too!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

Great hotel and location in Tokyo. Stayed there for business several times and have had a very pleasant experience every time. Nice modern rooms, large European/Asian/American style breakfast, and super-friendly staff. Walking distance to all major subway lines, temples, Tokyo Tower, etc. etc.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

This hotel is perfect, especially for business trips. It is right in the middle of the business district. Staff is waiting outside to help you with your lugage. There is Wifi throughout the hotel, and there are some lounges on some floors where you can relax, have some coffee or just sit and talk.
The staff's English is OK, but not perfect but don't expect it to be anywhere in Japan. Little priecy but same for all hotels in Japan, for everything basically if you are used to European standards.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FreddyD90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

What a great hotel! I had to travel to Tokyo with a mind to keep costs under control so was forced away from the usual 4/5* or quaint/boutique/design hotels I try to stay in usually when I travel. I found Celestine through doing a bit of research online and thought I'd give it a go. Given the low price relative to competition, I had some concerns that it would not be great, even with all the good tripadvisor reviews. I was delighted to be proven wrong!

I got the Superior Double Room, which is one of their smaller doubles. The room is indeed small, but not uncomfortably so - there is a good sized king bed, a desk with just about enough space to work and they have even managed to include a small sofa and coffee table. Wardrobe space is limited, so perhaps not the best place for an extended stay. I was impressed with the finish of the room. The hotel has clearly been recently renovated and everything looks pristine and modern. Also impressed with the attention to detail, for example in providing bathrobes and an excellent selection of toiletries, useful to a light-traveler like myself with carry-on bags only. As an added bonus, the hotel has a 24-hour convenience store at the back that sells drinks, light snacks etc. Last but in no way least, all the staff speak perfect English and are very nice and helpful.

The downside? The area is not the most happening and you'll need to take public transport in the day and some taxis to get back home late at night and the latter will add to the total bill. Still, the price difference from anything remotely similar in, say, Roppongi, will more than offset this outlay. The hotel would also benefit a lot if management could strike a deal with a nearby gym for guest use. Finally, it would be great if in addition to the Japanese channels the TV had a few international ones, if only news-channels to keep up to date with what is happening. If the latter two points were addressed, this place would get 5 out of 5 for me.

Room Tip: If you add a comment asking for a particular kind of room, you are likely to get! I asked for a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kermit_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco
Level Contributor
82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

I found this hotel several years ago and stay there each time I visit Tokyo. It is the top 4 floors of an office building. The staff are really helpful, breakfast which I usually take is also good value for money and quite an extensive buffet for Tokyo. Free hi speed internet is a real bonus and very helpful for when doing business. It is centrally located close to Toei Mita Line, Shiba Park station and also very close to the Monorail heading out to Haneda Airport. Being not so old the list of amenities in each room is impressive, I usually get a double deluxe room which I find spacious enough when either I or with my wife are in Tokyo. The price is also very reasonable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minato
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 108 in Minato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,864 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Royal Park Hotel The Shiodome, Tokyo
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
#8 of 70 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
The Prince Park Tower Tokyo
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Mitsui Garden Hotel Shiodome Italia-gai
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Grand Nikko Tokyo Daiba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celestine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celestine Hotel

Property: Celestine Hotel
Address: 3-23-1 Shiba, Minato 105-0014, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Minato
#13 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#21 Family Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Celestine Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 243
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, JAPANiCAN, Travelocity, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Celestine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celestine Hotel Minato
Celestine Hotel Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing