We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Did Not want to leave!!”
Review of New Sanno Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Minato
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
New Sanno Hotel
Ranked #1 of 28 Specialty lodging in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Did Not want to leave!!”
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Amazing pool, clean facilities and fitness center, outstanding breakfast buffet with Great prices, and a memorable staff with a passion for guest services. What a great location; near the train station and bus stops. Starbucks available in the lobby and several food options ranging in price and casualness. Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MyTwoCentsToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    75
    9
    4
    7
See reviews for
124
64
21
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Yokosuka, Japan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

My husband and I love staying at The New Sanno. Parking is free for guests on-site, but the train is easy, too. It's about a 10 minute walk from the subway (Hiroo Station) and the area has a lot of great, international restaurants since there are embassies close by. Within the hotel, the pool is okay, but the food is great. We love grabbing a sandwich from the deli, Kikuya is a great "Americanized" Japanese restaurant and the Emporium has an extensive breakfast. Sunday brunch here is a huge event as well! You can also get a Starbucks in the lobby cafe. We've used their babysitting service as well and it was very useful for us parents to have dinner without our kiddo. The New Sanno is an excellent choice!

Room Tip: They no longer allow cribs in a single room, FYI. Try to book a Japanese-style room (there are only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CJ_Chaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Excellent location! Just a 10 minute walk to the Hiroo station. Our room was very clean, really you can't beat the price. The staff was very attentive and gave us great info about the area. Ordered food from the bar and was pleasantly surprised! Best burger I've had in Japan. The buffet breakfast was really just okay but again, good for the price. You have to book well in advance but it's worth the wait! Highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashlizis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabat, Morocco
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Stayed at the New Sanno for a week on business and had zero complaints! Govt rate was $72.00 and the hotel for that rate was stellar...esp considering its Tokyo location. Fitness center, pool, hot tub, restaurant, cafe, bank, ATM...to name a few of the features. Large, nicely decorated lobby and the staff at the front desk will exchange $ for yen. Small gift shop on the main floor, but a Navy Exchange is on the second floor with a convenience store across from it. All stores and the restaurant and bar take USDs. My room was comfy with free wi-fi. I had a small floor fan but only had it on for a few nights and it was extremely quiet. The rooms have a/c so the fan was nice to have but not necessary. Very friendly staff and a great deal considering how expensive Tokyo is

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen23456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I'm not a particularly tough grader, but I told myself when I began rating attractions that 5 stars should be something give out very rarely as an overall rating. I believe the New Sanno rates 5 stars. I have to admit that I didn't get to take advantage of a lot of what the hotel has to offer, but overall my experience was so amazing that I feel the areas I didn't see would hold up to scrutiny.

First off, the price. As this is a hotel offered to a specific group of people (military and dependents, or contractors on orders), the price is set by the US Government. But it's very cheap by any standards.

Smell. The very first thing I notice when I entered the hotel was the smell. It was amazing. It was sincerely so refreshing and made such a huge first impression. I hate a hotel with a poor smell. Not the New Sanno. It was fantastic.

The rooms are large, by any standard, really, and very large by Japanese standards. The amenities in the room were standard and the internet was a good, strong connection that I used via wi-fi.

The breakfast buffet was simple, but good. Nothing out of the ordinary. There was generally always a Japanese chef there to make omelets that were fantastic.

Location is very important in Japan and the hotel is conveniently located. It's just a short walk to the metro system, or if you have the money and/or don't have the time, a taxt can get you to a main stop.

In the four days there, I didn't have any issues with staff or services. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank padraig74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Il Gzira, Malta
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

The pool, bar, shops and buffet lunch....so much great things are in this hotel, Just like a Disne0-Land you can enjoy just staying there!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meyoukey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Point, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We've stayed at the New Sanno twice, several years apart. The second time was just as good as the first. Wonderful place for families visiting Tokyo, especially if you have children that may not appreciate real Japanese food. Great American style meals here. Easy access to the subway for sightseeing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Douglas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minato hotels
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 109 in Minato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,036 reviews
Shinagawa / Gotanda
Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo
Akasaka / Roppongi
Grand Hyatt Tokyo
Grand Hyatt Tokyo
#3 of 109 in Minato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Royal Park Hotel The Shiodome, Tokyo
Shinagawa / Gotanda
Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Ana Intercontinental Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Sanno Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Sanno Hotel

Property: New Sanno Hotel
Address: 4-12-20, Minami-Azabu, Minato 106-0047, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Akasaka / Roppongi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 Specialty lodging in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is open only to holders of specific United States Military Identification cards. Please contact the hotel directly for further information. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
New Sanno Hotel Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing