We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
the b tokyo roppongi
Ranked #48 of 112 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Reviewed November 23, 2013

I recently spent 4 nights at the b-Roppongi. While I haven't searched extensively, I think you would be hard-pressed to beat the combination of excellent location in the heart of Tokyo and the value of this hotel. There are a few downsides, but overall, it's a comfortable hotel at a great price.

The Good:
The location is great. It's located in the Roppongi district, home to a lot of restaurants, bars, and night life. The hotel is literally a 1 minute walk from exit 5 of the Roppongi subway station. The Roppongi-itchome station (on a different subway line) is also only about 10 minutes away. From these two stations you can to get most places in Tokyo quite efficiently.

The price is also great. ¥11,000-12,000 a night for a clean, comfortable room (I went for a 16 m^2 "superior" room) in central Tokyo is great. By Western standards, 16 m^2 is rather small, but it had a comfortable double bed, a small table/desk and chair, a tv, a wardrobe, and a full bathroom. If you plan to spend most of your time out and about in Tokyo (as opposed to your hotel room) this is all you really need.

The Bad:

There is an expressway directly outside the front door of the hotel. If you are unfortunate enough to have a room facing the road, it will be fairly noisy. While it wasn't too bad, it was definitely noticeable. However, the other rooms are pretty quiet. I would recommend you try to request a room that doesn't face the freeway, especially if you are sensitive to noise.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IoTorus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotelsGroup, マネージャー at the b tokyo roppongi, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

Dear loTorus

Thank you for choosing the b ropppongi and for taking the time to post your review.
As you mentioned, the location is one of our strengths – our guests can enjoy easy access around Roppongi as well as all over Tokyo via taking a train from Roppongi or Roppongi Icchome station. We are pleased to know that you liked our room. Although we try our best to prevent the noise from the expressway some guests may find it not attractive. We would try to relocate the room if possible at the time.
We truly appreciate your comment. Please come back and see us again!

Best regards,

Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (338)
There are newer reviews for the b tokyo roppongi
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

111 - 117 of 338 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2013

My sister and I stayed here for one night and the location of this hotel is handy as it is very near the Roppongi station. We had a comfortable night's stay here and the main reason we chose this hotel was because the price was very reasonable, with breakfast and wifi included.

We chose the Superior Double Room of 16 sqm -Double occupancy option with 21 day in advance booking and we found this room to be much more comfortable than expected. The bathroom is small but very clean and we liked how the shampoo / shower gel was Shisheido. Another advantage we liked was that there was a Family Mart down the road too incase you needed to get any snacks / water / drinks. The front desk staff were polite and courteous.

If you just need a clean room within the Roppongi area and have a tight budget, I would recommend this place. Although nothing spectacular, it is a good value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meichan3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotelsGroup, マネージャー at the b tokyo roppongi, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear meichan3

Thank you for choosing the b roppongi and for posting the review.
We are pleased to read your positive experience at the hotel including the price, location and room amenities. Please come back and see us again!

Best regards,

Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here 4 nights having read a lot of the positive reviews. We were more than a little surprised to find we were sleeping with out heads just meters from a busy, noisy freeway.

We were also disappointed that the B did not seen to mean boutique as we had hoped. None of the little touches you would expect and generally a very functional and slightly faded environment.

The location is good in terms of proximity to elsewhere and it may be that for the price it's a good deal. We didn't book for the price but for the things we hoped we would get from a boutique offering so perhaps we should have read the other reviews more carefully.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank lhi2i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotelsGroup, マネージャー at the b tokyo roppongi, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear Ihi2i

Thank you for choosing the b roppongi and for taking the time to write a review.
We are disappointed that we did not live up to your expectation.
We try our best to prevent the sound from outside coming into the hotel – however, we cannot deny that sometimes it can get noisy at times and understand your situation. Please let us know next time so that we may be able to relocate you to a different room if there is any available.
We look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards,

Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

So glad we booked this place. The rooms are small but not too small. You have free wifi, free breakfast and the best part is the location. This place is great if you want to be close to a happening nightlife. It is so close to many restaurants, clubs, bars and subway stations. There are literally tons of restaurant to choose from. I would recommend the restaurant downstairs. It is very traditional Japanese (no english menus) where you are expected to take off your shoes and are seated in your own private area to eat in. Be prepared to spend about 2-3 hours getting your drinks and different courses. We stayed in the 3rd floor and could hear people walking about even until 4am - 5 am. This did not bother us though but it may for some people.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roxyrocks84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotelsGroup, マネージャー at the b tokyo roppongi, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear roxyrocks84

Thank you for choosing the b roppongi and for posting the review.
We are delighted to hear that you are glad with your choice to stay at the b roppongi – we are beyond happy to be able to welcome you and become your Tokyo base. It sounds like you were able to explore the city and had a great time! We try our best to prevent the noise as much as possible - we are disappointed you could still hear it, although you did not mind it.
The restaurant downstairs does provide good authentic Japanese food – we are glad that you tried and liked it.
Please come back and see us again!

Best regards,

Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

This was our second time staying at the b roppongi. I was pleased to see that they'd added free wifi throughout the hotel this year!
Service was very smooth at all times. We were really pleased to get free breakfast, even though our room rate on Agoda didn't include it. The breakfast is extensive and tasty! Lots of Western and Japanese options.
We think the location is great -- close to swanky Roppongi Hills and Tokyo Midtown malls and just a few steps from the subway. The neighborhood can be a bit wild on weekends with nightlife revelers, but we felt perfectly safe.
If you like craft beer, be sure to check out Ant n Bee, just a few minutes' walk from the hotel!
We booked a larger room, like last year, and we were really pleased with the size.
All in all, no complaints for this well-run, clean, comfortable hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AsiaJetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotelsGroup, マネージャー at the b tokyo roppongi, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Dear AsiaJetsetter

Thank you for being a loyal guest of the b roppongi and for taking the time to post this review. We are beyond pleased to read your comment about the hotel and our service. Yes, free WiFi throughout the hotel is one of our newest amenities. We still have a free LAN cable in each and every room too for those who would prefer it. It sounds like you know the area pretty well – we are happy that you had a great time during the stay in Tokyo and chose us as your Tokyo base. Please come back and see us upon your next visit!
We look forward to welcoming you back again!

Best regards,

Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Okay, I did read all the reviews about the room being small.... and I did book the deluxe room... but I was STILL surprised!!! lol
No closet?
Bathroom was about 1/2 the size of the room...
Still.... I loved the location, and I will return.... it is priced right.
My cousin and I stayed for 5 nights.
Coffee is GREAT.
Breakfast is pretty good. We made it down late one day, and they were very kind and let us grab some food (thank you!!!)

A few things to keep in mind
- Do NOT ask the staff for references on where to go out clubbing (sadly, they have no idea)
- Do NOT ask the staff about subway or metro (we were given incorrect info)

Basically great hotel, location, clean room etc. . . just don't expect 5 Star SERVICE, but then, you should not at this price!
Above is not by any means a complaint, just to help travelers, so that they make their OWN research on where to go and how to get there etc. . . .
I DO recommend and WOULD stay again at the B Roppongi

Directions: Take the Roppongi exit by train (exit 5) and walk straight, you will see it.
You just have to figure out how to get to Roppongi exit (2 trains will take you their)
Hint: There are INFORMATION throughout the subway, they are very nice and helpful and will give you a map, even tell you how to get to where you want.....

There are many great restaurants and clubs all around....
- Wallstreet is good for a drink, and around the corner. Don't expect much. Older crowd. They were closed on Monday.
- Feria was a blast (but only Friday/Saturday). If you are a foreigner, go here, you will have a blast...Japanese get drunks and are less shy when they are drunk.....
- "Vanity" was very good also (across the street from Gaspanic, but no dancing) nice high end loundge,
- Club Muse, forget about what you read about this club... it was happening on Friday, but 98% asian and under 25, and 80% men. But still, it was happening, and LOTS of people.... if you are a foreigner and/or over 30, just don't go.
We should have walked away when the guy at the door asked us if we had a business card! Lol.... yup imagine how surprised he was when I pulled one....lol
Had fun, but have not felt so old at a club before.... like I said, mostly under 25....
- Gaspanic, we opted not to go.
- New Lex is around the corner, it looked slow so we did not make it to this one.....
- Jumanji (next to wallstreet) was happening on Tuesday night, but 90% men, and the only women there were Working girls (not hookers) but my guess working the clients for drinks for the club....

Room Tip: High floor.... We were on 6th floor and heard NO noise....
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank devinezqui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotelsGroup, マネージャー at the b tokyo roppongi, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Hi devinezqui

Thank you for choosing the b roppongi and for taking the time to write a review.

As you mentioned our rooms are Tokyo sized but we do keep them clean and make the space as efficient as possible. Out location is a strength and it is convenient to anywhere in Roppongi and to many major sightseeing places and areas in Tokyo.

We deeply apologize for incorrect information on subway. We will make sure to educate our staff and prevent it from happening again. We are pleased to hear that you liked our breakfast and coffee.

Please come back and see us again! We look forward to welcoming you!

Best regards,

Ryuji Chiku

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

In seven days of our staying in Tokyo we have appreciated the cleanliness of this Hotel, their good breakfast, continental and Japanese, and the position in Roppongi. The price was surely worth their efforts.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Lenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotelsGroup, マネージャー at the b tokyo roppongi, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Hi Lenny B

Thank you for choosing the b roppongi and for taking the time to post your review.
We are pleased to read your kind comments regarding our breakfast and the cleanness of the hotel. As you mentioned, Roppongi is located in the middle of Tokyo, which provides easy access to any part of Tokyo. Roppongi itself offers a lot of dining options, sight-seeing places, museums, parks and more. Thank you again for sharing your experience.
We look forward to welcoming you back again!

Best regards,

Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minato hotels
Akasaka / Roppongi
Remm Roppongi
Remm Roppongi
#26 of 112 in Minato
80 reviews
Akasaka / Roppongi
APA Hotel Roppongi Ekimae
APA Hotel Roppongi Ekimae
#66 of 112 in Minato
39 reviews
Akasaka / Roppongi
Hotel Arca Torre Roppongi
Hotel Arca Torre Roppongi
#72 of 112 in Minato
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Akasaka / Roppongi
Roppongi Hotel S
Roppongi Hotel S
#43 of 112 in Minato
192 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Hotel Villa Fontaine Roppongi
Akasaka / Roppongi
the b tokyo akasaka
the b tokyo akasaka
#44 of 112 in Minato
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to the b tokyo roppongi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the b tokyo roppongi

Address: 3-9-8 Roppongi, Minato 106-0032, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Akasaka / Roppongi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 112 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Price Range: $70 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — the b tokyo roppongi 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, Priceline, Expedia, JAPANiCAN, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your the b tokyo roppongi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The b Roppongi Hotel Minato
b Roppongi Minato
b Roppongi Hotel Minato
The b Tokyo Roppongi Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing