We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Handy to everything” 4 of 5 stars
Review of the b roppongi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
the b roppongi
Ranked #53 of 106 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Handy to everything”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

Roppongi is a great area to stay in, very clean, as is the whole of Japan from what we saw and very handy to the rest of Tokyo.
Our room at the B Roppongi was small but the bed very comfortable and the room very clean. The breakfasts that are included are adequate. We stayed on the 8th floor and the two nights we stayed were woken to the sway of the building with several earthquakes each night.
You are only a short walk from the amazing Tokyo subway system.
The area itself has lots of great places to eat and drink in.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JMAK69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotels, Manager at the b roppongi, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
Dear JMAK69
Thank you for taking time to write your review on the b roppongi. The hotel is in a fantastic location - close to all that Tokyo has to offer.
We do have a range of different room types to suit each guest, so if you are after something bigger next time please do not hesitate to let us know.
The subway is a wonderful way to sightsee Tokyo, and then just a minute or so back to the hotel.
We hope to see you back here soon.
Regards
Area Manager
Ryuji Chiku
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    148
    65
    10
    6
See reviews for
32
75
54
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Fraser, Colorado
Level Contributor
158 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

We wanted to experience nightlife in Tokyo so we booked the B Roppongi. Upon arriving at the Tokyo airport late in the evening from the US, we took the fast train into Tokyo Station. Then took the subway to Roppongi. Roppongi seemed fun and it was a Monday night. It was very cold in Tokyo on January 16th and I had brought a short dress to wear and no coat on our overnight to New Zealand. Once we got into our room we were both jet lagged that we missed out on our night of Roppongi fun. Our room was small compared to what we are used to in the US. The best thing about this hotel is the location- you are only 1-2 blocks from all of the bars and nightclubs. We also had a view of the lighted Tokyo Tower. I looked out of our window at 2am and 4 am and there were still people in the street below. I began to wonder what people did here Tokyo that allowed them to stay out partying until the wee hours on a Monday night. The bathroom is small and has a Japanese style toilet. I booked on hotels.com and got a great price of US $150 - with taxes and fees I think it was around $170. A great price for staying in Tokyo. It includes a continental style breakfast. I would stay here again- it has great access to the subway and we toured Tokyo the next day by subway.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bcogswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at the b roppongi, responded to this review, February 12, 2012
Dear Bcogswell
Thank you for taking to comment on the b roppongi - if it's nightlife you are after the b roppongi certainly offers the ideal location. It is also a perfect location for shopping, sightseeing and access to all over Tokyo.
Roppongi also looks fabulous over the New Year period with lots of lights, decorations etc. Perfect for any celebration.
We hope that you do have the opportunity to come back to Tokyo to experience not only the fabulous nightlife, but all that Tokyo has to offer.
And we hope you choose the b roppongi.
We look forward to welcoming you.
Kind regards
Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

First time staying in any Japanese hotel so think my expectations were slightly off. Was surprised that I was required to pay in full at the beginning of the stay and that they charged an additional fee for early check in, even though the room was already available. They were asking almost the full cost of an additional night but after a LONG conversation, they waived this charge (thank you!).

Location is unbeatable, loads of bars and restaurants in the area and close to the metro for exporing the city.

Cost was good compared to other hotels in the area but amentities were limited, rooms are bare bones (was in a room that ended in 01 which is right over the highway and a bit noisy) and without any personality. Breakfast is fine but not great and staff, while trying to be helpful, speak very little english.

Overall, liked my stay for the location but didn't love the hotel.

Room Tip: Most rooms are smoking room so be sure to request non smoking if the smell bothers you and I would a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abenjamin9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

Rooms are generously sized for Tokyo and Roppongi is a thriving area with tons of 24 hour restaurants. Would definitely stay here again. Free wifi internet in the lobby

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katster88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at the b roppongi, responded to this review, February 12, 2012
Dear katster88
Thank you for your comments and for taking the time to post a review for the b roppongi.
We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay - you are correct - the location is fantastic and right in the middle of all the action that is Tokyo.
We hope to see you back here again soon.
Kind regards
Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

As always, small rooms but what a terrific location, I spell it again LOCATION! great for dinner and clubing and also Shoping.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pe8ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at the b roppongi, responded to this review, February 12, 2012
Dear pe8ch
Thank you for your comments - we are glad thay you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again. It is certanly the best location to be near all the action of Roppongi - including the nightlife, bars, restaurants, shopping and even museums and other Tokyo sightseeing.
We look forward to welcoming you.
Regards
Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
174 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

The b roppongi is to the "W" what "b" is to "w" in the alphabet - distant.. The location can't be beat for night life. I was in Tokyo to see a show at Tokyo Midtown and go dancing at salsa clubs and they were all within minutes walk from the hotel! So, convenience of this location is very high for nightlife. The hotel itself, however dressed up in its ads and pictures, is pretty mediocre. I was at the ANA International for a few nights too and that was much nicer for similar price and only a few blocks walk down. The "b" has wireless in lobby, only wired internet in the modestly appointed rooms. The bed was comfortable. Small desk and TV. Not sure about the TV but there is a machine in the hallway to buy a "TV card" - must be credit for some programming? Anyway, the bathroom is just so-so with supplied large bottles (for continued use) of soap, shampoo, but no lotion, very small thin towels. No robes, one PJ supplied. One reviewer was turned on by the electric toilet seat, but the "b" has National brand that is not nearly as nice as Toto and any old restaurant in Japan has Toto! There was a very foul smell coming from the toilet when flushed - something like the water supply was different for that. Not pleasant. Very small room safe that was not even big enough for my tiny netbook. Room was generally clean. The included breakfast was very mediocre and the breakfast room only has stools. For the average traveler who is here for the fun outside the hotel, it is great for location and adequate for lodging, but the "b" is by no means a luxury or even upper level hotel. Staff was pretty good for helping with directions, etc.

Room Tip: Ask for quiet room since a lot of noise in the area..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SalsabyJake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

A lovely hotel close to metro and Roppongi. Good price, great service, small rooms but well equipped including electronic loo seats!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jch1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minato hotels
Akasaka / Roppongi
Hotel Arca Torre Roppongi
Hotel Arca Torre Roppongi
#58 of 106 in Minato
4.0 of 5 stars 72 reviews
Akasaka / Roppongi
Roppongi Hotel S
Roppongi Hotel S
#36 of 106 in Minato
4.0 of 5 stars 138 reviews
Akasaka / Roppongi
APA Hotel Roppongi Ekimae
APA Hotel Roppongi Ekimae
#88 of 106 in Minato
4.0 of 5 stars 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Akasaka / Roppongi
APA Hotel Roppongi 1 Chome Ekimae
Akasaka / Roppongi
the b akasaka
the b akasaka
#38 of 106 in Minato
4.0 of 5 stars 371 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Hotel Villa Fontaine Roppongi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to the b roppongi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the b roppongi

Property: the b roppongi
Address: 3-9-8 Roppongi, Minato 106-0032, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Akasaka / Roppongi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 106 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — the b roppongi 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Fastbooking, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and JAPANiCAN so you can book your the b roppongi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The b Roppongi Hotel Minato
b Roppongi Minato
b Roppongi Hotel Minato
The b Roppongi Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing