We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Literally melts in your mouth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kobe Beef Kaiseki 511

Kobe Beef Kaiseki 511
Ranked #2 of 10,528 Restaurants in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $52 - $219
Cuisines: Japanese, Steakhouse, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Akasaka / Roppongi
Description: Winter Vacation : 12/29(Mon)~1/4(Sun) Sunday and National holiday are closed.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Literally melts in your mouth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

This cliched statement is thrown about a bit, but i truly mean it for the beef served in 511. It was so amazing!! We had the taster menu, Japanese style, and every dish was very good. The beef was always cooked perfectly, and the waiters and waitresses spoke fantastic english and were very helpful. Definitely come back here, well worth the price

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tobzobba107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    68
    25
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Antony, France
Level Contributor
72 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fantastic Kobe beef !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

For Europeans, having that first Kobe beef experience is a fantastic experience ! Service is very smart and products are globaly high end, as well as the prices on the note ... But we really enjoyed being there and taste the best beef of the world.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
102 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“An experience to remember”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

For the price we paid, the meat got to be top notch and it wasn't disappointing! Based on reviewers' feedback, we only came here focusing on the Kobe beef and that's all we ordered - "a la carte" w/o opting for the course menu. We also ordered the foie gras appetizer and the Kobe beef jerky and we thought we could do without the latter and order foie gras x 2. In any case, we had a good evening and also got complimentary drinks. And some beef ramen noodles as souvenirs to bring home with. A good find!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AHA2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
153 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Overrated dinner”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

I brought my wife there for a romantic dinner during our honeymoon. First, the staff and service is excellent and they give detailed information about the food that you're given. Second, the food is decent but not great and the Kobe beef is hidden behind lots of other ingredients. Out of the 9 dishes, three didn't contain Kobe beef and in four of them the amount of beef was less than 5-10 grams. In those dishes you wouldn't know the beef was there if they didn't tell you. The last two dishes were fantastic and the only ones deserving of the price tag (37000 yen for two, including wine). The hearthbaked Kobe (tender, full of taste and wonderfully prepared) can also be had at lunch for a whole lot less, so if you want to go there, use that option. The wine list contains 4 (!!!) options = disappointing.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabriel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best Meal in Tokyo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Although maybe a little on the pricey side, worth every penny. We enjoyed the 8 course menu which consists of small but excellent dishes from soup, seafood, not to mention the mouth watering beef that just melts on your mouth. I didn't want the meal to end it was just fantastic & nice touch to offer a complimentary drink with the meal. Not to mention the gift of noodles and accompaniments to make your own Kobe Beef dish at home, just disappointed I could take it home. I'll attempt to recreate at home following the receipt guide. Visit this restaurant, you would be disappointed.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Chuckie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kobe Beef Kaiseki 511 also viewed

 

Been to Kobe Beef Kaiseki 511? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing