We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Chef Yasuda does not disappoint, even when you travel 12 hours from NYC->TOKYO” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sushi Bar Yasuda

Sushi Bar Yasuda
Ranked #19 of 10,623 Restaurants in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $70 - $88
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Akasaka / Roppongi
New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Chef Yasuda does not disappoint, even when you travel 12 hours from NYC->TOKYO”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

Yasuda-San is amazing - aside from the stories he can tell you, the sushi is sublime. This is some of the best sushi I've had and I've lived in Tokyo and New York and chased the best sushi in town for over 20 years.

Sushi master Yasuda has been a part of my life for as long as I can remember. When my father was a young (and poor) Japanese businessman in NYC, sitting in front of Yasuda-San was his big splurge. I can say the same for myself, and when I convinced my husband to sit at the sushi bar and eat anything that Yasuda-San put in front of him, he couldn't help but agree.

If you've been to Yasuda in NYC and you're in Tokyo, please go to his new restaurant in Minato-Ku. It is hidden and small (you may need to give the taxi driver a map) but it is an amazing experience.

If you're visiting Japan and love sushi, get a lot of recommendations from locals and any Japanese people you know. Sushi is to Japan what burgers are to New Yorkers - everyone has a favorite and they are all different, but one is not necessarily better than the other.

I do love Yasuda-San though...

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Juliana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    19
    7
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Think you know sushi?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

Before you think of going to Jiro's or any of the other 3 star Michelin sushi establishments, I would recommend going to Yasuda's restaurant. Not only does he give you an absolutely amazing dining experience, which is a little easier on the wallet he provides his diners with an insight into what sushi is.

For some of the experienced sushi connoisseurs they may feel like they've heard it all before. However go in with the right attitude and expect a fun and relaxing evening with one of the best sushi masters.

We ordered the omakase and ended up eating 27 pieces or something like that before we ran out of time as the restaurant was closing (late sitting). Too be fair I would of struggled to of eaten any more, the walk to the metro station after was very slow

Two nights after I did go to one of the coveted sushi restaurants in Tokyo and I think without this visit I really wouldn't of appreciated it as much. This restaurant should be on every sushi lovers list

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 0smudger0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely the #1 Sushi bar in the world”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

I LOVED this unique sushi bar, it's like no other place at all. Chef Yasuda is one of the kind, and I enjoyed every minute of my dinner there. Best environment and excellent food

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Zaxowi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
101 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“I dreamt about this sushi. No joke.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

We were able to secure a last minute reservation at sushi bar yasuda while on our honeymoon. I cannot say enough good things about this restaurant and chef yasuda.

The restaurant itself is on an unassuming street, and is off the tourist path. After walking down the flight of stairs, you are greeted by his wife, who seats you at the bar. There are only about 10 seats, so the experience is highly personal. Chef yasuda asks you what kind of meal you'd like (chef's choice, 12 piece, or 14 piece). We chose to get the 12 piece. After assuring yasuda that we'd eat whatever he would put in front of us, and that we didn't have allergies, the show started. Yasuda is personable, and full of fun and interesting stories about his experiences. He's very engaging and knowledgeable. We also got to talk with the other people who came to the restaurant, which was much different that the other dining experiences we had in japan. The atmosphere is very relaxed. After some more....formal....japanese dining experiences, this was refreshing. I'd say that sushi bar yasuda utilizes japanese quality and pride, while maintaining a western sort of demeanor.

Now onto the important stuff- the SUSHI!!!!!! So amazing. The rice is beyond delicious. The fish is amazing- very flavorful. Each piece is completely unique. I loved being able to watch the whole process. We tried things we had never tried before, and we would DEFINITELY get again. We weren't intimidated at all. If we could go back in time, we'd get the chef's choice meal instead!!!

For two people, getting the 12 piece meal, and around 5 beers, we spend approximately $280 usd.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank im_a_t0urist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
120 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Seamless, down-to-earth perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

I have to hand it to Yasuda; he's done something remarkable. Yasuda has made sushi both phenomenal and friendly. There's no pretension here. His food is just better than yours. Yasuda laughs and enjoys holding court, but he also offers his diners serious education about what they're eating and why he prepares his sushi the way he does. Sushi with a smile and a deft hand is awesome, but when it also comes with the freshest seafood on the planet, it's heaven.

Go to Sushi Yasuda, order the Omakase. Just do if.

Helpful?
Thank sjgjess1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi Bar Yasuda also viewed

 

Been to Sushi Bar Yasuda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing