We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor location and over priced”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Roppongi Hotel S

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Roppongi Hotel S
Ranked #41 of 108 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Poor location and over priced”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

For the final three days of our three week stay in Japan we booked this place as it looked a bit "swish". While the place is quite nice albeit it in a clichéd way, and the rooms a reasonable size (nice touch having an iPod Dock and the bed was the most comfortable of all accommodation) the price and location undermined our enjoyment. It is right on a 4 lane main road (mention this if your sleep is dependent on quiet) in a fairly boring part of Roppongi with most of the attractions on the other side of the station. Unlike other places we stayed in Shibuya and Shinjuku, you don't just step out and find yourself with heaps of stores and food outlets within metres. And it is not close to the Roppongi station in our opinion...count on a 10 minute walk which certainly felt further with luggage. Finally, notwithstanding that accommodation is expensive in Tokyo, we found heaps of more cost effective options compared to the $300 a night we paid (reduced as part of a deal).

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tattsdream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoppongiHotelS2469, Public Relations Manager at Roppongi Hotel S, responded to this review, September 17, 2014
Hello Tattsdream,

Thank you for your comments about our hotel but we are so sorry that you did not enjoy it as much as you expected. You are right that it is in a more secluded section of Roppongi and we are sorry that you were not able to find ample shopping, etc., just outside. We might have neglected to tell you about Plate, the Sushi Restaurant and one or two great Italian places just to the back of our building. Also, if you walk down past Gonpachi restaurant to the Nishi Azabu area, there are a lot of cute shops that are very different from those available in the huge complexes towards the Roppongi crossing. I hope you might give us another chance on your next trip and we will do our best to make your stay amazing. Best regards, Roppongi Hotel S team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    72
    23
    7
    1
See reviews for
18
73
19
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in a "Ren" room, which was probably one of the coolest rooms I've ever stayed in, very modern bathroom/shower area, controls for room lights on headboard, surround sound speaker wiring (but couldn't figure out where to plug in iphone/iPod, washer/dryer in room (but we couldn't figure out how to use properly because all controls in Japanese and the English directions weren't sufficient to operate). Best location in Tokyo, in heart of trendy area, lots of restaurants nearby.

Only two cons: First, it is extremely inconvenient to get in/out of the lobby if you have luggage due to awkward stairs and no ramps, very small lobby. Second, the hallways and elevators are extremely dark as if it were a night club. That may not be a con to many, but it was for my wife.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoppongiHotelS2469, Public Relations Manager at Roppongi Hotel S, responded to this review, September 17, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review. We will do everything to keep the level of service and environment as comfortable and relaxing as possible. We are definitely ready to welcome you again on your next visit. Best regards, Roppongi S Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
159 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We are a couple that have stayed at both the Hotel and the Residence. When we came to Tokyo we stayed at the hotel for two days. The room were very good. When we returned to Tokyo we were supposed to go to an apartment, but it turned out to be a disaster. Pure luck that the residence side had an available apartment for the same price. The apartment had everything we needed. The hotel Staff was outstanding as they helped us with any needs that we had during our 1 month stay. We can't thank the staff enough for all that they did for us.
We would recommend both the hotel and the residence. Who says that Japanese can't do things on the spur of the moment,
By the way the location in Roppongi is great and near the subway system.

Room Tip: ask for a bigger room if you are from America as the rooms can be a little small, but not that small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ronald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoppongiHotelS2469, Public Relations Manager at Roppongi Hotel S, responded to this review, September 17, 2014
Hello Ronald B-san,

Thank you so much for your kind review of both our Hotel and the Residence. We were happy to oblige your request for the residence and we hope the kitchen, furnishings and all the appliances there made your month stay in Tokyo a little closer to a sense of "home". We look so forward to welcoming you back! Please take care and best regards, Roppongi Hotel S Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

We loved this hotel and consider it excellent value, particularly for Tokyo and especially as we made a last minute booking. After travelling around Japan for 3 weeks we would say this was one of our favourite hotels. The location is excellent being near the subway and some great shops. Even the nearby business buildings provided fabulous eye candy due to the architecture, designer stores, parks and local entertainment. The hotel itself had a boutique feel to it, a great ambience. The staff were friendly and very helpful. There's a great restaurant attached to the hotel, providing delicious dishes and an extensive international wine list. We thought our room was more than adequate being modern, clean, a great bathroom and the room even it's own washing machine. Our only regret is we did not have more nights at this hotel. We highly recommend it, great value for money. Tip: Whilst there's no onsite gym, you can buy at a very reasonable price, passes to a nearby facility.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AucklandGetaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2014

We stayed in this hotel in April 2014 for our first time in Tokyo. The staff is polite and friendly and speaks english perfectly.

Although the bathroom was really tiny, the room was quite big for japanese standards. We had a "Hollywood Twin" room, with a small sofa and table, desk, and a small kitchen with a tap and sink, a small fridge and a microwave. There were bottles of water, and tea/coffee provided daily at no extra charge. There also is a washing machine in the room but we did not need to use it (it was all in japanese anyway).

The Wi-Fi was free and quite fast and reliable for a hotel Wi-Fi. There also was a flat-screen TV with mostly local channels (but also some in english), and a DVD-player.

The hotel is located in Roppongi, minutes away from the nearest subway station (Tokyo Metro Hibiya Line and Toei Oedo Line). Although the highway is quite close, it's not very noisy when the windows are closed.

The room was very clean and the lobby, elevators and corridors always had a pleasant smell.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

The staff are friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. The rooms are small but clean , and the location is just a ten minute walk to the subway. Lots of shops close-by, including the "Kill Bill" restaurant 2 minutes down the hill. Good value hotel for Tokyo.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank the_siger007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We had a very nice stay at Roppongi S Hotel. The rooms are very clean and comfortable, although not very spacious. The location is not bad, near the Roppongi Hills complex and not to far from the subway station. The breakfast was very good. Would recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minato
Akasaka / Roppongi
the b roppongi
the b roppongi
#52 of 108 in Minato
310 reviews
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Shibuya Granbell Hotel
Shibuya Granbell Hotel
#7 of 27 in Shibuya
650 reviews
Akasaka / Roppongi
Hotel Arca Torre Roppongi
Hotel Arca Torre Roppongi
#61 of 108 in Minato
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Akasaka / Roppongi
Hotel Grand Fresa Akasaka
Hotel Grand Fresa Akasaka
#25 of 108 in Minato
340 reviews
Akasaka / Roppongi
APA Hotel Roppongi Ekimae
APA Hotel Roppongi Ekimae
#86 of 108 in Minato
25 reviews
Akasaka / Roppongi
Grand Hyatt Tokyo
Grand Hyatt Tokyo
#3 of 108 in Minato
1,766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roppongi Hotel S? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roppongi Hotel S

Property: Roppongi Hotel S
Address: 1-11-6 Nishiazabu | Hotel & Residence Roppomgi, Minato 106-0031, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Akasaka / Roppongi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 108 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Roppongi Hotel S 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel & Residence Roppongi (also referred to as Roppongi Hotel S) is a comfortable, quiet boutique hotel in the middle of Tokyo's bustling Roppongi Area. The 37 year old structure was completely renovated into an artful, aromatic and relaxing hotel/serviced apartment/person business space facility. Featuring the Coconoma restaurant on the first floor, a very nice lounge space called "Ko-agari" and a "Labo" business lounge guests can use free of charge for meetings or personal work, Roppongi Hotel S welcomes business and pleasure travelers from across the globe. The 24/7 concierge team will assist you in English and/or Japanese and we do our absolute best to make your stay in Japan smooth and comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, JAPANiCAN, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Jetsetter, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Roppongi Hotel S reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roppongi Hotel S Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing