We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location Service Safe Quality”
Review of Roppongi Hotel S

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Roppongi Hotel S
Ranked #38 of 109 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Location Service Safe Quality”
Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

We were very satisfied with all aspects of our 3 day stay here. Following a pleasant breakfast each day we headed out. We had easy access to all of Tokyo. We walked much of the city from the hotel and used metro to return . Google maps lead us astray on getting to the hotel. It is located right on Roppongi dori just 5 minute walk down hill past Roppongi Hills mall and across the street.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Bucket2428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoppongiHotelS2469, Public Relations Manager at Roppongi Hotel S, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Thank you so much for your comments. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to you visiting again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    77
    24
    7
    1
See reviews for
19
75
20
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

The pictures and site Loker inviting but it ended up as a terrine disappointment. The WiFi did not work ( they spend 45 minuten to fix it but it still did not work). Ergonomically the rooms are terrible. One of the light switches was hidden and I needed to ask reception to find it! The bathroom was small and very plastic! The only upside was that the room was reasonably big and the bed was fine. All in all, too much money for what was offered. (There was no response at all to my complaints about the WiFi inavailability.)

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank R K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoppongiHotelS2469, Public Relations Manager at Roppongi Hotel S, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Hello RK, we are so sorry that you felt your requests and problems with the wi-fi were not attended too quickly enough and with care. Your words and comments here are very important to us and although the age of the building (30 years) and how it is built makes implementing a perfect wi-fi set up a pretty big challenge, we are doing our absolute best to solve the problem. Recent comments have been that the wi-fi is working better and we are trying to employ a permanent solution so we hope maybe next time you are in Tokyo you can stop by the cafe and see if it works better than what you remembered.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

I recently stayed at Hotel S for 3 nights and this is a really good example of the deluxe businessman’s hotels that are starting to be found around Tokyo. They are a good value for getting a bit more of an upgraded room than what you would find at a standard businessman’s hotel for not much more money. I had a standard room as I was traveling solo, it was very well equipped and efficiently laid out, and a little bit larger than some of the other rooms I’ve had in this price range. My room was facing Roppongi-dori and you could not hear the traffic unless it was something really loud.

Staff there was very accommodating and friendly. Reception staff had very good English skills, and they are taking efforts to cater to foreign visitors. The room was very clean and well equipped, I was amazed to see the mini-kitchen and the free waters at this price range. The room layout was like a boat, very efficient & compact but it didn’t feel cramped. Overall it was very comfortable.

Location is good and bad. The good part it is close but not right in the middle of the main action of Roppongi. The bad part is it’s not close but not right in the middle of the main action of Roppongi. So depending on what you are after, it’s either just far enough away to provide a nice break or it’s just far enough away to be annoying. (It is very close to Metro Hat & Roppongi Hills) Just plan to do a lot of walking, but that’s normal for Tokyo. I was there on the weekend right before Halloween, and talk about a wild party in that area, it was far more than I ever have seen anything in the US. So I was actually glad the hotel was slightly out of the area as the noise level and the lack of street touts, etc. made it easier to deal with the goings on. I found The B Roppongi while walking around, it’s right on the edge of the club zone; Hotel S is the better choice if you don’t want to get hassled by strip club touts, noise, etc.

Overall a good value and a good choice for the area, I’ll plan to return on my next trip.

Tip for finding the hotel: come out of the subway at the Metro-hat entrance, cross Roppongi –dori by the Metro hat, keep walking south down Roppongi-dori and you will pass a couple of clubs. Just when you think you are heading the wrong way as the area will turn more business/ residential like, you will see the Family Mart. It’s just past the Family Mart, and if you are approaching at night it’s not very well lit. The Virgin Café is easier to spot than the hotel entrance. There is a subway exit tunnel that crosses under the street before exiting to street level, but it’s stairs only so it’s challenge if you have luggage.

And if you are looking for a great Jazz club, Jazz House Alfie is right between Metro Hat and the main Tokyo Metro entrance and an easy walk from the hotel. Acoustics of the place are fantastic and they get quality players in there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MFRoadWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoppongiHotelS2469, Public Relations Manager at Roppongi Hotel S, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Hello MF Road Warrior. Thank you so much for your excellent and in-depth review of our hotel. We really appreciate your comments and are sorry it took a while to respond to your message. Have you been back to Tokyo since November? It would be lovely to see you again and maybe this time you could participate in the special monthly tea ceremony we have each month with a tea master from Nara.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay and it was certainly one of the better hotels we stayed at in Japan.
The breakfast is highly recommended. The Japanese style salads,pastries and smoothies were delicious.
The room has nice bedding,BBC news channel,good air conditioning unit and complementary water every day.
Very easy access from roppongi tube station and roppongi hills.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Reg191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoppongiHotelS2469, Public Relations Manager at Roppongi Hotel S, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Thank you so much for mentioning the breakfast smoothie. We are so proud of this aspect of our breakfast and feel we give our guests a very healthy start for the day. Please visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Location was great. Short walk to Metro. The area itself has many cool little restaurant options. Western and Japanese.

English speaking, European staff member!

Breakfast was a very minimal, vegetarian styled buffet. Coffee, vegetables and cereal. Would have enjoyed a little variety. If they want to be minimal, it's fine.... but maybe an egg / toast?

As a restaurant later in the day, it was full-on gourmet, amazing.

Rooms were recently renovated. I stayed in a "supreme" room which although it was still rather small (average size by Japanese standards), the way it was designed and the layout of the room optimized the use of space. Stylish and modern. Extremely comfortable, super-soft beds. Great place for travellers in their 20's / 30's. Very cool "meeting room" imacs and touch screen and projectors for a creative team pow-wow.

I was concerned about a package I had forwarded to our hotel from another. Staff member Yuri took it upon herself to call our previous hotel to inquire and made it her personal mission for the day to get it delivered safely, which it did. It was a "above and beyond" moment in customer service that makes me want to return one day.

My only qualm was the wifi. For some reason was spotty.

Outside of any negatives. Can't ask for much better in the heart of Tokyo.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Huser56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoppongiHotelS2469, Public Relations Manager at Roppongi Hotel S, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Hello Huser 56, it was so nice and encouraging to read your comment. We continue to do our best for our guests and we hope you will come and visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
80 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Stayed at Roppongi Hotel S for 2 nights late October 2013. The standard room (lowest price) is only 17m2 in area. It is extremely functional and more than enough space for one person. However for 2 people, I recommend upgrading to a larger room. They have various room size choices.... of course rate goes up too.

To my surprise, in my standard room, there is a washing machine!, microwave, frig, and a counter sink. They also provide hair dryer, the usual bath amenities, and a safe.

The breakfast vegetable buffet was unique. Nice to start the day healthy. I didn't interact with the staff besides checkin/out, service average overall.

This is a non-smoking hotel, they provide smoking area in the parking lot (I think). The hotel gave us a useful note at check-in regarding rules/schedule of the place. The last line states "Smoking is prohibited in the hotel". So of course my next door neighbor smoked the 2nd night of my stay, and of course the smoke smell crept inside my room. It was quite heavy....ie chain smoking? Unfortunately this is common in Tokyo hotels. :(

Like others have mentioned, location is great. Family Mart 2-3 stores up the street, subway 7-8 min walk, and Roppongi Hills next to subway entrance. And like other hotels in Tokyo, this place is clean.

The functional design of this hotel is worth a stay. Check it out.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank half-life2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoppongiHotelS2469, Public Relations Manager at Roppongi Hotel S, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Thank you so much for your comments and I hope that as long as we improve the handling of the smokers breaking hotel rules, you would have given a higher rating? Until now, it was difficult for our staff to be strict about certain rules, but we understand well how valuable a fully no-smoking environment is for everyone and how this should be fully enforced as it is of utmost importance if the policy is clearly stated. We will do our absolute best to keep the no smoking building, truly no smoking. We hope you will try us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama, Panama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Pleasantly surprised about this hotel, rooms are "big" for Tokyo standards, brand new hotel, all the amenities. The space is well used, theres a refrigerator and kind of a mini kitchen and dining area in the room. Huge bathtub with TV.

Walking distance from metro station Midtown and Roppongi Hills.
The restaurant downstairs is also very good. Theres a convenience store next block so you can buy food and stuff.

Really bang for the buck will return and recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarioPanama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoppongiHotelS2469, Public Relations Manager at Roppongi Hotel S, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Thank you for your comments. We are so happy you were surprised (pleasantly) with the size of the bath tub and the TV. You are right, it is amazing! We hope you will come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minato
Akasaka / Roppongi
the b roppongi
the b roppongi
#48 of 109 in Minato
4.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Akasaka / Roppongi
Hotel Arca Torre Roppongi
Hotel Arca Torre Roppongi
#64 of 109 in Minato
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Shibuya Granbell Hotel
Shibuya Granbell Hotel
#8 of 27 in Shibuya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Akasaka / Roppongi
Hotel Grand Fresa Akasaka
Hotel Grand Fresa Akasaka
#26 of 109 in Minato
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Akasaka / Roppongi
APA Hotel Roppongi Ekimae
APA Hotel Roppongi Ekimae
#73 of 109 in Minato
3.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Sakura Fleur Aoyama
Sakura Fleur Aoyama
#9 of 27 in Shibuya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roppongi Hotel S? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roppongi Hotel S

Property: Roppongi Hotel S
Address: 1-11-6 Nishiazabu | Hotel & Residence Roppomgi, Minato 106-0031, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Akasaka / Roppongi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 109 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Roppongi Hotel S 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel & Residence Roppongi (also referred to as Roppongi Hotel S) is a comfortable, quiet boutique hotel in the middle of Tokyo's bustling Roppongi Area. The 37 year old structure was completely renovated into an artful, aromatic and relaxing hotel/serviced apartment/person business space facility. Featuring the Coconoma restaurant on the first floor, a very nice lounge space called "Ko-agari" and a "Labo" business lounge guests can use free of charge for meetings or personal work, Roppongi Hotel S welcomes business and pleasure travelers from across the globe. The 24/7 concierge team will assist you in English and/or Japanese and we do our absolute best to make your stay in Japan smooth and comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Roppongi Hotel S reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roppongi Hotel S Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing