We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not free but it is the best view of Tokyo”

Tokyo City View Observation Deck (Roppongihills)
Book In Advance
More Info
$14.02*
and up
Roppongi Hills Observatory Ticket: Tokyo City View
Ranked #4 of 433 things to do in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
Aalborg, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Not free but it is the best view of Tokyo”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Located on the Mori tower of Roppongi Hills, you need to pay 1500 yen to enter and experience the best panoramic view of the Greater Tokyo area from the 52th floor. During my visit, the art museum was closed but the beer house was celebrating the oktoberfest. Wonderful view but the price was a bit higher than normal.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DimChrisos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    613
    444
    102
    17
    4
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, West Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“First Tokyo Earthquake Hit on the 52nd Floor”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

My family visited our son living in Tokyo June 2012. We decided to visit Tokyo City View for a day trip. Unfortunately, it was a foggy, cloudy day, so our pictures of the city were not as beautiful as they would have been on a sunny day. But for the $15 admission, we traveled up 52 floors to the observation deck of the Mori Tower. The views of the city were awesome and you really get a sense of the size of the city with the 360 degree deck. We spent much time taking pictures when the tower started swaying side to side. The elevators immediately shut down and a television nearby advised of an earthquake's location in the ocean. My son who is an architect, informed us that we were in probably one of the safest places to be experiencing our first Tokyo earthquake. Tall Japanese buildings are built to roll with seismic activity to alleviate damage from the movement of the earthquakes. Everyone remained so calm, so we knew it was not the " big one" from the local's reaction. After things returned to normal, an announcement was made that the elevators would resume operation and we got on for the trip down. This made our trip to Mori Tower more memorable and one we would never forget. We recommend this attraction to all who want some great pictures of the city, but hope you get to do it on a clear, sunny day.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Penny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“The best view in Tokyo - FACT!”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

An unrivalled view from the Mori Tower. Fuji visible on a clear day, unrestricted view of all of Central Tokyo, Haneda Airport, Yokohama and the Bay. We went to the skytree as well and I can honestly say that the extra 100m or so doesn't make a difference to the actual view.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank marcforsterpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Overall great experience of Tokyo”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Wonderful view, and one of the most attractive museums in Tokyo combined in one. On a good day you can catch a view of a sunset behind the Fuji mountain.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TeilaRei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not so crowded and nice place”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I was there on weekday night, and it was not so crowded and had slow good time with great view.
(thought it everywhere crowded in Tokyo...)
Seeing Tokyo Tower from the other place is much better than climbing up there.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MichelMiller5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tokyo City View Observation Deck (Roppongihills) also viewed

 

Been to Tokyo City View Observation Deck (Roppongihills)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing