We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic experience”
Review of Grand Hyatt Tokyo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Tokyo
Ranked #4 of 109 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience”
Reviewed December 6, 2010

My wife and I recently celebrated our honeymoon at the Grand Hyatt in Tokyo. It was an absolutely fantastic experience! We booked a room on the Club level, which was pretty expensive but definitely worth it as we got our money's worth from access to the Club Lounge and also the spa. We wrote the general manager, Christophe Lorvo, ahead of time, and he passed us along to the hotel's Director of Rooms, Mariana Nunes, who graced us not only with a wonderful upgrade to a suite, but also a chilled bottle of champagne when we arrived. While we didn't get to meet Mr. Lorvo in person, we had the pleasure of seeing Ms. Nunes almost daily, and she really brightened our time there with her infectiously wonderful personality.

The room itself was awesome, quite large (particularly by Tokyo standards), with the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in. The bathroom is a site to behold, particularly the Toto toilet that quite possibly requires a college degree to operate! Without too much graphic detail, rest assured I really miss the built-in bidet :-)

The Club Lounge is wonderful, with excellent breakfast and evening appetizers, and one of the most professional, well-trained, and friendly staff I've ever encountered. One suggestion would be to allow a beer or two outside of happy hour, but that's a relatively small complain.

The spa, too, is absolutely incredible. We spent a few hours a day - morning and night - alternating between the oh-so-hot sauna and the ice bath, with a few soaks in the hot tub for good measure. I can't think of a word that adequately describes how relaxed I was!

The hotel is within walking distance of the party area if Rappongi, Tokyo's Bourbon Street. We found a few poor souls still stumbling about (or passed out on the sidewalk) some mornings, which was worth a good laugh. The train station is close by too, offering easy access to almost anywhere in Tokyo and beyond.

The hotel and its staff are absolutely amazing. I wouldn't consider anyplace else when I return to Tokyo.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GerryMiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,853 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,247
    462
    98
    29
    17
See reviews for
334
429
166
690
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2010

This hotel is great but not easy to get around Tokyo from there. Better suited for exploring the immediate vicinity only.

I's too far from the nearest train station (Roppongi). I returned to the hotel from shopping in Shinjuku toting along a 14 month old Toddler and it was a longggggg walk up from Roppongi station.

That said, the hotel itself is very nice.

One downside is that we couldn't bring out toddler to the swimming pool as there was a minimum age of 5.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsDIY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2010

I traveled on business to Tokyo and was fortunate enough to stay at the Grand Hyatt in Roppongi Hills.

It was stunning. A beautiful and near perfect hotel experience. The rooms are spacious and well appointed. The bathroom spotless and luxurious.

I highly recommend the gym/spa (including treadmills where you can plug in your ipod, control your music on the treadmill's touch screen and listen via wireless headphones) - a great lap pool - relaxing sauna & hot springs/plunge pool options with stellar showers. There massage chairs and fresh juice down there as wel. Do take advantage of this 5 star experience.

The staff was also very helpful. My one day off coincided with the start of a sumo tournament and despite all my co-workers telling me it was sold out and that I'd never get a ticket - the concierge came through for me - getting a ticket a day before the event at face value.

The only downside of this hotel is the price. As amazing as it is - I'd never pay this much out of my own pocket. For business - on someone else's tab - sure, but for 500 - 600 a night - no thank you.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TSPerspective
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2010

Having stayed in many 5 star hotels and resorts under different international brands, this hotel really stood out. Ok, location is in Roppongi, which a few people said wasn't to their taste as its too western or touristy; it's actually in the Roppongi Hills complex and it wasn't at all too western or touristy. But anyway, back to the hotel... rooms are cleverly designed, bathroom/wetroom is outstanding, beds are very comfortable, all electrical appliances actually work! I also for the first time ever actually enjoyed using their shaving kit. We were Hyatt Gold members ( you can just join ), so didn't have to pay the expense of using the pool and sauna ( expensive if you did pay ), both of which are again outstanding, the jacuzzi light pool is an experience in itself! Staff there were extremely polite. Checking in and out was efficient. They also have free wifi access. I didn't try the restaurants as they were expensive, even by Tokyo standards. There is small am/pm supermarket right next door; there is also a bigger supermarket called Food Magazine further down the road, with a good bookshop next to it. Subway is 5 min walk thru the Mall which initially is bit of a maze.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kai_of_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2010

Everything was perfect, the staff, the room, the restaurants, the location, ... It's not cheap but you have all you could expect and even more.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Voyageur120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hyderabad
1 review
Reviewed November 8, 2010

I visited tokyo in August and stayed in this hotel which was too pricy about 22K Yen for a one bed studio. The room was very small but the location was good right in the middle of the shopping area and close to tokyo night life

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank write2abdul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
123 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2010

It has been my second stay and i have enjoyed it very much again. A perfect room where its visible in every single detail that the people who have configured it had a lot of love for the detail: great shower and audio system. Outstanding service in general. Please don´t use the telephone they charge outrageous rates. Using Skype via the Laptop works as well and makes a lot of sense since the WLAN access is for free.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hstone5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minato
Shinjuku
Park Hyatt Tokyo
Park Hyatt Tokyo
#1 of 81 in Shinjuku
2,814 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Conrad Tokyo
Conrad Tokyo
#1 of 109 in Minato
2,869 reviews
Akasaka / Roppongi
The Ritz-Carlton, Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
#5 of 74 in Chiyoda
1,967 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Andaz Tokyo Toranomon Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Tokyo

Property: Grand Hyatt Tokyo
Address: 6-10-3 Roppongi, Minato 106-0032, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Akasaka / Roppongi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#3 Business Hotel in Minato
#4 Spa Hotel in Minato
#4 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#5 Family Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Tokyo 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award-winning luxury hotel centrally located in Roppongi Hills, a multi-use complex housing 200 shops and restaurants, a cinema, an art museum and an observatory overlooking the city skyline. Roppongi Station is just a three minute walk away and the hotel is a 40 minute limousine bus ride away from Haneda Aiport and a 90 minute ride away from Narita Airport (charges apply). Grand Hyatt Tokyo offers ten restaurants and bars widely acclaimed for their authentic gastronomy that feature an incredible variety of international cuisine including French, Italian, American, Chinese, and Japanese sushi, teppanyaki and seasonal kaiseki fare. Enjoy al fresco dining at one of the open-air terraces or listen to live music in the chic jazz lounge Maduro. The stylish and modern rooms incorporate warm wood furnishings and Japanese aesthetics into the design and feature a spacious bathroom with an invigorating rain shower and a deep soaking limestone bathtub that allows guests to relax after a long day. In addition, the room is equipped with a flat-screen TV, a DVD player, a safety deposit box, a laptop charger, a minibar and Japanese yukata robes and complimentary mineral water is provided. Book a room with club-access for additional benefits in our Grand Club lounge such as complimentary breakfast and evening cocktails. Complimentary Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and guests also have access to the business center on site. Guests can find inner harmony with rejuvenating spa treatments and massages that incorporate Japanese healing traditions at the Nagomi Spa and Fitness Center or relax by the red granite indoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, JAPANiCAN, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Rakuten, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hyatt Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Tokyo Hotel Minato
Grand Hyatt Minato
Grand Hyatt Hotel Tokyo
Hyatt Tokyo
Minato Hyatt
Grand Hyatt Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing