We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tokyo gets it right!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand Hyatt Tokyo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Tokyo
Ranked #3 of 108 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Tokyo gets it right!”
Reviewed April 3, 2010

This is the hotel I will judge all big city hotels on, going forward.

Its the perfect business hotel /place to stay whilst in tokyo and I don't see how they could improve. Hotel is very centrally located and convenient to get to. Big rooms, great bed, funky and trendy yet not distasteful. The service is incredible, nothing is to much. Great fitness centre, good restaurants & jazz bar. Not much else to say.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Journeyman-Saffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,186
    446
    92
    27
    15
See reviews for
312
400
162
667
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2010

I come to Japan often and stay at a different hotel chain in Ginza. For this trip, that location was not available. The Grand Hyatt Tokyo was known to me from previous trips. The room was quite large with probably the most inventive bathroom designs that I have seen. We ate at the Italian restaurant which was great. The only downside was the 4,070 yen price for the buffet breakfast. The food was great, but I never eat much for breakfast. I think ordering room service would be more economical. Overall, I enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrBrother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2010

this hotel is near Giza so it is good for shopping. large and about the same as other Hyatt's.

Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Helenblack123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tokyo
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2010

Probably the best hotel I've stayed in. The room was incredibly comfortable. Although Roppongi is one of my least favorite places in Tokyo, the location is hard to beat, as it is very convenient to the Metro &c. The room was very clean. I always wear slippers in any hotel I visit, but this is the first & only one where I didn't feel a need to do so...even took a bath in the large tub (something I would NEVER normally do because hotel tubs usually have cooties). Service was excellent. I spilled Indian curry all over my white sweater, and the hotel's cleaners were able to remove the stain completely. The Oak Door steakhouse's atmosphere was elegant, but the steak was really disappointing. I was warned by a friend who has had steak there before, and he was right. Definitely not a melt-in-your mouth meal. So skip the Oak Door. Otherwise, I can't wait to stay at the Grand Hyatt again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank georgepburdell97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2010

just middle of tokyo, so mied culuture experience! Lots of gaijin around there, 24hours open market near there. hard to understand basic japanese way of living, but sometimes to relax in the city is not so bad.
If somebody pay these, I recommend to stay, its safe evertybody soo polite.
but not. had better think about to use staying fee or use for suevenier.

Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank YukaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
64 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2010

Title says it all. Service was fantastic and far from being obsequious. Food and restaurant choices quite good. Location excellent. Rooms beautiful -- somewhat minimalist, and very chic. Views great. The hotel remembers your requests when you return -- so for instance, if you'd asked for a yoga mat on your first stay, when you return, there will already be one in the room for you. Even the laundry service is the best I've seen. Japanese precision, can't beat it.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ostramundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
385 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2010

The rooms are huge by Japanese standards, lovely and clean and serene, every convenience. Excellent Club Level lounge. Location is superb; a few hundred feet from Rippongi Metro Station and attached to a city within a city; hundreds of stores and restaurants. Facilities great. Will come again. Great with my kids.

Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank withkidstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minato
Shinjuku
Park Hyatt Tokyo
Park Hyatt Tokyo
#1 of 81 in Shinjuku
2,712 reviews
Akasaka / Roppongi
The Ritz-Carlton, Tokyo
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Conrad Tokyo
Conrad Tokyo
#1 of 108 in Minato
2,745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 108 in Minato
2,985 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
#5 of 74 in Chiyoda
1,884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Tokyo

Property: Grand Hyatt Tokyo
Address: 6-10-3 Roppongi, Minato 106-0032, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Akasaka / Roppongi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#3 Spa Hotel in Minato
#3 Business Hotel in Minato
#3 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#5 Family Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Tokyo 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award-winning luxury hotel centrally located in Roppongi Hills, a multi-use complex housing 200 shops and restaurants, a cinema, an art museum and an observatory overlooking the city skyline. Roppongi Station is just a three minute walk away and the hotel is a 40 minute limousine bus ride away from Haneda Aiport and a 90 minute ride away from Narita Airport (charges apply). Grand Hyatt Tokyo offers ten restaurants and bars widely acclaimed for their authentic gastronomy that feature an incredible variety of international cuisine including French, Italian, American, Chinese, and Japanese sushi, teppanyaki and seasonal kaiseki fare. Enjoy al fresco dining at one of the open-air terraces or listen to live music in the chic jazz lounge Maduro. The stylish and modern rooms incorporate warm wood furnishings and Japanese aesthetics into the design and feature a spacious bathroom with an invigorating rain shower and a deep soaking limestone bathtub that allows guests to relax after a long day. In addition, the room is equipped with a flat-screen TV, a DVD player, a safety deposit box, a laptop charger, a minibar and Japanese yukata robes and complimentary mineral water is provided. Book a room with club-access for additional benefits in our Grand Club lounge such as complimentary breakfast and evening cocktails. Complimentary Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and guests also have access to the business center on site. Guests can find inner harmony with rejuvenating spa treatments and massages that incorporate Japanese healing traditions at the Nagomi Spa and Fitness Center or relax by the red granite indoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Rakuten, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, JAPANiCAN, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Tokyo Hotel Minato
Grand Hyatt Minato
Grand Hyatt Hotel Tokyo
Hyatt Tokyo
Minato Hyatt
Grand Hyatt Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing