We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Grand experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt Tokyo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Tokyo
Ranked #5 of 105 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Grand experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Stayed for 3 days and truly enjoyed it. My experience in Japan so far has been the Mandarin ( the very best), the ritz- carlton ( 2 notch down vs Mandarin because of less luxury, stained carpet and indifferent staff) the Okura ( slightly below the ritz- carlton ) And the Imperial ( 2 to 3 notches below the Okura). In a nutshell, if you can afford it, go straight to the Mandarin with no second thoughts. A very good alternative for your pocket. Location is great: in roppongi hills, attached to a shopping mall. The staff was very pleasant ( not the caliber of the Mandarin, but still great). The room was spacious, elegant. Modern, and had a large glass window with a good view. The bed was large and quite comfortable. i liked the large, modern bathroom , with toilets separated, and all amenities. I will return with great pleasure to the Grand Hyatt.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Voyageur H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    952
    381
    77
    25
    12
See reviews for
250
318
139
555
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
new zealand
Level Contributor
583 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Stayed here in March 2013. Have stayed here before and love the hotel. Tokyo is expensive so just accept it. The breakfast is great and they have some neat breakfast options. Had seven lattes over one breakfast and still the same price. The rooms are very comfortable and very spacious by Japanese standards. Dined at the Italian restaurant in house and the food was very good. The bonus, the rooms have two sets of blinds, so if your schedule allows u can sleep past sunrise - what a fantastic bonus. The staff are very oblinging - great hotel. And is served directly from Haneda or Narita airports.n

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thesmdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

During my latest trip to Tokyo, I stayed here for 4 nights. Hotel can easily boasts of one of the biggest rooms in Tokyo. I ate at the in house Italian restaurant and food was excellent. Restaurant staff was generous enough to take a pic of our group and even present a printout of the same. Overall staff was very courteous and ready to help in whatever ways possible.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PrashantArya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
167 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

It's hard to complain about anything here - the service and facilities are excellent. The food in every outlet is good - although expensive, the portions are generous. The lunches in Chinaroom and The Oak Door are good value. French Kitchen has wonderful brunches.
I've stayed in a standard room for 2 nights - comfortable and chic,nice bath, ordinary bath products. I had the pleasure of seeing the presidential suite once during a dinner party, which is exquisite.
The hotel has a minimalist design throughout with some pretty naff sculptures in the lobby but the restaurants are all have impressive decor and are well designed.
The staff are great at the Grand Hyatt and I am familiar with many of them in the dining outlets as I lived in the area for years. They are a friendly, international bunch.
The Oak Door bar is quite busy and fun with reasonably priced, high end wines for Tokyo. They really should do something about the music and it's always full of hookers in that bar but I don't mind having a drink there.
One of the best things about the Grand Hyatt is that it's linked to Roppongi Hills, which contains great shops, bars and restaurants, a kids play area, a park, an art gallery and a luxurious, world class cinema. The facilities and outlets here cater to all price ranges.

Room Tip: See if you can get a club suite, it's good value. Sign up for a Hyatt Gold Passport if you haven...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank remarkable_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stayed here on a business trip for a week in February and could not have been happier! I do a lot of business travel, and fortunately, am able to stay at nice hotels. This was no exception! From the way I was greeted to the way I was taken care of during my stay until my check-out, I was well taken care of.

From the bed to the bathroom, this was one of the best experiences I've had.

While I usually go into detail on my hotel stays, I'm going to cut this one short, as there really isn't much more to say than this was one of the most amazing hotel experiences I've had!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank briguy73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
149 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

The Hyatt in Roppongi is an excellent stay while in Tokyo. Service is at its best Japan-style, clean, super efficient, good rooms and an excellent fitness center.
The restaurants are good, but somewhat pricy even for Tokyo. However food is good and fairly plentyful for Japan standards.
The hotel is an intergral part of a mid-size shopping mall with easy access to the Roppongi Dori and metro. Roppongi is one of the most busy parts of Tokyo but not the nicest area by any standards.
Well worth a stay while in Tokyo.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bulgenes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

High-end hotel on most all accounts. Very good dining and general service. Rooms are sound proof and very quiet. Top floor views are spectacular. Convenient to most major center-city attractions. A bit pricey, but not more so than it's direct competitors. Linked to Roppongi Hills both physically (tunnels and walkways connect them) as well as in certain management aspects (joint logistics on certain kinds of events and whatnot) -- what this means is that you have a great hotel and a major dining, entertainment, and business center in the exact same location. This is Big City Tokyo, about as far as one can get from traditional ryokan inn.

Room Tip: As with most tall buildings, the higher the room the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minato
Shinjuku
Park Hyatt Tokyo
Park Hyatt Tokyo
#1 of 79 in Shinjuku
4.5 of 5 stars 2,302 reviews
Akasaka / Roppongi
The Ritz-Carlton, Tokyo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Conrad Tokyo
Conrad Tokyo
#1 of 105 in Minato
4.5 of 5 stars 2,321 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Andaz Tokyo Toranomon Hills
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
The Peninsula Tokyo
The Peninsula Tokyo
#7 of 69 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 stars 1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Tokyo

Property: Grand Hyatt Tokyo
Address: 6-10-3 Roppongi, Minato 106-0032, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Akasaka / Roppongi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#3 Business Hotel in Minato
#4 Spa Hotel in Minato
#5 Family Hotel in Minato
#5 Luxury Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Tokyo 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Hyatt Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Tokyo Hotel Minato
Grand Hyatt Minato
Grand Hyatt Hotel Tokyo
Hyatt Tokyo
Minato Hyatt
Grand Hyatt Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing