We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant and Cosy Stay”
Review of Grand Hyatt Tokyo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Tokyo
Ranked #4 of 109 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Elegant and Cosy Stay”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Stayed here twice in December totaling 7 nights. Like its location and services. Room size is good for downtown Tokyo. Breakfast IRD is always on-time which I appreciate. Hotel staff have excellent English skills and are always warm with their greetings.

I like to bring boxes of cookie from its bakery for colleagues in Japan office - they love it! The only downside is that it's opened relatively late (9? 10?) and I always have to remember to buy it the previous evening (but they are closed quite early at ~10).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iciclex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,891 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,277
    468
    100
    29
    17
See reviews for
347
437
170
702
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

There are three Hyatts in Tokyo - Park Hyatt and Hyatt Regency in Shinjuku, and Grand Hyatt in Roppongi Hills. Although within Hyatt chain classified Park Hyatt as one of its best Hyatt, but to me, Grand Hyatt is simply the best, no questions asks.

Location - Roppongi is very easy to go to different parts of Tokyo, with ample shopping and dining options nearby, including some of the best restaurant in the world - Ryujin in walking distance. Subway is located underneath the hotel. There is airport limousine bus connects to both Haneda and Narita International Airport

Rooms - Modern elegant which doesn't show its age at all. I can not believe its almost 10 years since it opened, but everything just look very new to me with the technology built in that fits today's need (electronic curtains, HD channels, free wifis). Super comfortable bed with frette linens (this is beyond Hyatt standard), strong shower pressure and relaxing deep soaking tub along with the famous Japanese washlet in every room. Some rooms face Tokyo tower which is definitely romantic to look at at night. Their room is also very quiet too. Good sound insulation. I love their yukata (Japanese bathrobe). I was going to buy it home but they ran out unfortunately.

Spa & Pool - Wow, amazing. One of the best in town too. I think the only pool & spa can be compare to Grand Hyatt is Peninsula Tokyo. But I like the Spa section at Grand Hyatt so much more. Staff here speaks good English too.

Club Lounge - can be congested at time but the open Terrace seating is very nice on a sunny warm day for breakfast or snack. I hope they can extend hours for happy hour but they already seem very busy all the time.

Lobby and public area - very beautiful, it is an artwork everywhere you see. Even if you are not staying here I suggest you visit the hotel to see how GRAND it is.

Dining - I have only tried the cake in the lobby but wow, no wonder this chef won the award, it was one of the best strawberry christmas cake I ever had (also most expensive too) but definitely worth a try! trust me! I heard so many good things about their teppanyaki, can't wait to give a try soon.

Most importantly, their staffs were super professional and courteous. I would like to thank Front Desk Assistant Manager Mr. Abe along with his teams to provide me such an amazing experience every time that I stayed there. The Concierge team enhanced my stay by helping me reserve some of the best restaurants in town to small things like putting humidifier in my room prior to arrival to make my stay more comfortable than ever. I definitely looking forward to return to Grand Hyatt again soon when I return to Japan and I will definitely recommend Grand Hyatt Tokyo to my friends & coworkers.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing Tokyo Tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doraemon79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

I love this hotel. It is sleek, new, beautiful and in a great neighbourhood. The hotel has an amazing lobby, and blends tradition with modern conveniences. Rooms are average size, mine has had a view of Fuji both times. I normally stay on Concierge floor. Amenities are good, quality soaps and shampoo's. Great showers, low hard beds, but it is japan! fantastic restaurant options, and then you have all the famous fashion houses along Ropponging. It is more a business hotel, but even if on vacation it is the best place to stay in Tokyo. Those of us that work there, know, Tokyo is expensive very. A lunch can be $100, a dinner for 2, $400. But it is a great city. with lots to see and do. Especially the Ginza area.

Room Tip: Top floors offer amazing expansive views of city. You may get lucky and get a view of Fuji. But rega...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globetrotter747_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vladivostok, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I came to Grand Hyatt Tokyo two hours before new year start. It is located very conveniently - in Roppongi where night life never stop. We (my wife and me) walked together with many people from different countries and met new year in Hard Rock Cafe.
Hotel staff is high-skilled. Despite of location in Roppongi Grand Hyatt is very quite and appropriate for relaxation.

Room Tip: All rooms are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oleg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Fantastic service, great rooms though a bit small especially from a storage point if view. Well appointed bathrooms. Very well maintained and clean. The wifi was fast which is not the case in most hotels which offer it complimentary. Great buffet breakfast especially like the croissants and cappacino.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank devil63358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Nothing has changed from my last trip. Great staff. Great rooms. Great bar. I consider myself lucky that i have stayed both there and the Mandarin in Tokyo, and i'd be hard pressed to choose which is better.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WharfTrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Highly recommend for Tokyo.

I stayed in a club level room with SPG points. Unfortunately the view was not very nice but you can only expect so much from free rooms! The room itself was nice, though slightly dated.

What I liked:
* fantastic service throughout from check in to checkout
* club lounge is one of the best quality around. Certainly they serve quality food and alcohol. Great breakfast too.
* location is good, right in the midst of Roppongi Hills and easy to get to the subway or out to dinners etc
* good choice of restaurants in the hotel, even before you venture out to Roppongi Hills (though not cheap of course)

What I didn't like:
* rooms starting to feel a tiny little bit outdated but still ok
* concierge gave me some incorrect advice, but its ok we all make mistakes
* ordering a car even to go to Haneda is at some ridiculous price

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OzCol1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minato
Shinjuku
Park Hyatt Tokyo
Park Hyatt Tokyo
#1 of 82 in Shinjuku
2,851 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Conrad Tokyo
Conrad Tokyo
#1 of 109 in Minato
2,934 reviews
Akasaka / Roppongi
The Ritz-Carlton, Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Andaz Tokyo Toranomon Hills
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 74 in Chiyoda
1,987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Tokyo

Property: Grand Hyatt Tokyo
Address: 6-10-3 Roppongi, Minato 106-0032, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Akasaka / Roppongi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#3 Business Hotel in Minato
#4 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#4 Spa Hotel in Minato
#5 Family Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Tokyo 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award-winning luxury hotel centrally located in Roppongi Hills, a multi-use complex housing 200 shops and restaurants, a cinema, an art museum and an observatory overlooking the city skyline. Roppongi Station is just a three minute walk away and the hotel is a 40 minute limousine bus ride away from Haneda Aiport and a 90 minute ride away from Narita Airport (charges apply). Grand Hyatt Tokyo offers ten restaurants and bars widely acclaimed for their authentic gastronomy that feature an incredible variety of international cuisine including French, Italian, American, Chinese, and Japanese sushi, teppanyaki and seasonal kaiseki fare. Enjoy al fresco dining at one of the open-air terraces or listen to live music in the chic jazz lounge Maduro. The stylish and modern rooms incorporate warm wood furnishings and Japanese aesthetics into the design and feature a spacious bathroom with an invigorating rain shower and a deep soaking limestone bathtub that allows guests to relax after a long day. In addition, the room is equipped with a flat-screen TV, a DVD player, a safety deposit box, a laptop charger, a minibar and Japanese yukata robes and complimentary mineral water is provided. Book a room with club-access for additional benefits in our Grand Club lounge such as complimentary breakfast and evening cocktails. Complimentary Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and guests also have access to the business center on site. Guests can find inner harmony with rejuvenating spa treatments and massages that incorporate Japanese healing traditions at the Nagomi Spa and Fitness Center or relax by the red granite indoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Agoda, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Tokyo Hotel Minato
Grand Hyatt Minato
Grand Hyatt Hotel Tokyo
Hyatt Tokyo
Minato Hyatt
Grand Hyatt Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing