We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service is excellent, even for Japan!”
Review of Grand Hyatt Tokyo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Tokyo
Ranked #4 of 111 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Service is excellent, even for Japan!”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

I do not speak fluent Japanese. I had no problem communicating with the very friendly staff. You see the pride they take in their hotel. We had a king bed room. The bed is great (firm). Every inch of the bathroom is amazing! If you forgot your tooth brush, don't worry, maintenance items are included.Ii did not need a converter for electronics. There are plenty of restaurants in hotel. The breakfast buffet is good. The bacon is thin. The coffee is weak. The pastry shop is tasty. I found that I am not a big fan of traditional Japanese food, so I will not rate food of other restaurants in hotel. The service was still superb. There is a Starbucks right outside if you need it.

Room Tip: We did not see a necessity to upgrade above king room unless you need a double sink.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phrogtours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,914 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,293
    474
    101
    29
    17
See reviews for
356
439
172
710
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

I have stayed there few years ago and was very pleased.
Nice rooms are still pleasant with great bathrooms. amenities are very good quality
great laundry and good room service.
Problem......
We have ordered a car from the concierge, a day in advance, as we had no news we though that everything was ok
Surprise, in the morning they told us that all cars were booked by the government. we took taxis.
In the evening, After enquiring why they could not have found a car in the city ( there is no war in Tokyo) and a friend had one from Okura hotel, they found one to drive us to the restaurant and take one of my guest to Haneda airport.
MISTAKE>>>>>>>.900000 JYens which is approximatively ( US$ 900.00)
I know Tokyo is expensive but this is a rip off.
I have checked out and went to the Park Hyatt which has one of the best service in Tokyo

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanluc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

First hotel when we landed in Tokyo after a long trans-pacific flight. It felt great to be welcome in such an awesome manner which gave us the first glimpses of supreme Japanese Hospitality. We got upgraded to an awesome large suite with phenomenal facilities (The rice crackers and nuts were so delicious that I'm still craving for those). Great location near some great restaurants and shopping with a subway station very near. The price was quite expensive though; the upgrade kind of compensated for that. The service outdid the ones in Pensinsula or Park Hyatt. And oh, phenomenal breakfast (included in the rate) too.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zatazoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, California
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

What can I say! This property should be considered the Flag Ship in the Hyatt Chain! From the moment I arrived, it was all about pampering the guest (me) from the doormen, to the FD Agents they make you feel welcomed. The property is spectacular. Not too long ago, I wrote a review about the Grand Hyatt in Seattle. Well my friends, the journey continues with the Hyatt Family. I decided to try out this property and play hooky on my Starwood family again. No disappointment here. This property has it all; local shops, restaurants, public transportation, walking scenery and well trained associates. The number one credo here is “The Guest is the most Important Element.” Well, they believe, breath, and act on that credo! Tokyo is beautiful without hotels, yes I know.. we need places to stay. Well, I’m happy and excited to tell you that if you were going to choose a property…This is it! Stop looking and book that room! This place and the location is FAB!!!

This Senior Contributor gives this property 5 Golden Mangos!! I’m from the Caribbean and prefer mangos to stars..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Rooms were nice but a tad smaller than the ones we stayed in at the Park Hyatt Tokyo. The lounge had a nice assortment of breakfast items, but minimal in Japanese selection. Nice view of Mt. Fuji and Tokyo Tower. Walking distance to restaurants, shops, and metro stations. Helpful concierge in person and via email.

Room Tip: Ask for view of Mt. Fuji.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sfdoggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

I stayed here on a business trip and it was great! Super nice hotel, very clean, great services (e.g. restaurants, gym, etc), solid location, and the service was outstanding.

Areas for improvement would be the wi-fi, which was a tad slow.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bsaitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

The rooms are nice & elegant with a great view, the bed is very comfortable, the bathroom is big and the shower is great, the hotel is located in the heart of Roppongi waking distance to nice restaurants, Bars, luxurious stores, Attractions like the Tokyo Tower, & Mori art museum, the metro station is a few steps away is really the perfect location difficult to beat, also the hotel have amazing restaurants like the French Kitchen (the breakfast is fantastic) & bars like Maduro, the service & the staff are excellent, and the hotel is elegant, beautifully design, modern, just amazing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adriana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minato
Shinjuku
Park Hyatt Tokyo
Park Hyatt Tokyo
#1 of 83 in Shinjuku
2,885 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Conrad Tokyo
Conrad Tokyo
#1 of 111 in Minato
2,970 reviews
Akasaka / Roppongi
The Ritz-Carlton, Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Andaz Tokyo Toranomon Hills
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Palace Hotel Tokyo
Palace Hotel Tokyo
#1 of 74 in Chiyoda
1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Tokyo

Property: Grand Hyatt Tokyo
Address: 6-10-3 Roppongi, Minato 106-0032, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Akasaka / Roppongi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#3 Business Hotel in Minato
#4 Spa Hotel in Minato
#4 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#5 Family Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Tokyo 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award-winning luxury hotel centrally located in Roppongi Hills, a multi-use complex housing 200 shops and restaurants, a cinema, an art museum and an observatory overlooking the city skyline. Roppongi Station is just a three minute walk away and the hotel is a 40 minute limousine bus ride away from Haneda Aiport and a 90 minute ride away from Narita Airport (charges apply). Grand Hyatt Tokyo offers ten restaurants and bars widely acclaimed for their authentic gastronomy that feature an incredible variety of international cuisine including French, Italian, American, Chinese, and Japanese sushi, teppanyaki and seasonal kaiseki fare. Enjoy al fresco dining at one of the open-air terraces or listen to live music in the chic jazz lounge Maduro. The stylish and modern rooms incorporate warm wood furnishings and Japanese aesthetics into the design and feature a spacious bathroom with an invigorating rain shower and a deep soaking limestone bathtub that allows guests to relax after a long day. In addition, the room is equipped with a flat-screen TV, a DVD player, a safety deposit box, a laptop charger, a minibar and Japanese yukata robes and complimentary mineral water is provided. Book a room with club-access for additional benefits in our Grand Club lounge such as complimentary breakfast and evening cocktails. Complimentary Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and guests also have access to the business center on site. Guests can find inner harmony with rejuvenating spa treatments and massages that incorporate Japanese healing traditions at the Nagomi Spa and Fitness Center or relax by the red granite indoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Rakuten, Priceline, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), JAPANiCAN, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Tokyo Hotel Minato
Grand Hyatt Minato
Grand Hyatt Hotel Tokyo
Hyatt Tokyo
Minato Hyatt
Grand Hyatt Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing