We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay in Tokyo” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hyatt Tokyo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Tokyo
Ranked #3 of 108 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Tokyo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

Hotel has everything a business traveller needs: generous rooms, good showers, great location, nice bar and breakfast. The gym is ok, but I prefer to have a view from the running machine. The pool looks very good.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank nondomuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,717 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,151
    436
    89
    27
    14
See reviews for
303
385
160
651
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chico, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

We have stayed at the Grand Hyatt Tokyo two times. This is a beautiful property with a first class Club Lounge and wonderful amenities and service. We stayed in two different suites on the Club floor. The views from both were really spectacular. The bathrooms are a fond memory. The toiletries are a cut above other Hyatt's especially in the US. The Oak Door Restaurant is superior during our two visits. I did not expect a restaurant in a Tokyo hotel to present this style of cuisine as well as they do....but this was great!! and the prices were a value, if you can imagine a value in Tokyo. We visited in the October and November time frame and so perhaps the hotel was not too busy as the Club Lounge was not crowded and the food excellent. I will always look forward to returning to this property.

Room Tip: Ask for a view facing Mt. Fuji.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheryl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Stayed in a Club King, which was an excellent, large room with good facilities and was well appointed. The bed was large and very comfortable. The service was better than expected, checkin on the club floor being swift and efficient. Originally told that checkin was from 3pm, we were in our room before 11am. If you can, go for a higher floor, the view from the lift area on the 19th floor was spectacular, that from our room on the 12th, good only.

As it was a very wet day, used the club lounge quite a lot. Free Ipads were useful as the wifi signal in the lounge was not too strong. The only drawback here was a very noisy group of corporate Japanese who came in for lunch, they seemed be be competing over who could shout loudest.

The food and drink that was provided during the cocktail hour was rather good, but the ambiance was rather spoilt by a couple of antipodean parties that were intent on eating and drinking as much as they could neck

A little miffed to find that the club lounge only opened at 7am, as we were leaving for a mid morning flight out of Narita and had to exit the hotel at 6:50. Only discovered that they would have provided us with breakfast in the room when we got home. This was poor communication.

Loved the rest of the hotel, great location and easy access to the Metro, and the shopping centre and Mori tower and its wonderful art museum.

Did not use the bars or restaurants, but looked at most of them and there was a wide range of food styles and the bars seemed very popular.

One final really good point, the Airport Limo Bus service starts at the hotel. It does stop at two other hotels a little later, but here you are guaranteed a seat.

Would certainly come back and stay again.

Room Tip: Get as high as you can for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
138 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

I liked almost everything in this hotel - the location, the service (especially in the Club Lounge), the swimming pool area, breakfast, room. We had a big enough room high up with a nice view over the Roppongi skyscrapers. The personnel at the hotel is fantastic. The only minus comes from the too crowded Club Lounge. Club should be a relaxing place to enjoy your breakfast or afternoon tea but now there were too many people and even some families with small kids behaving less well.

Room Tip: Choose a room high up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adventure2Stockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

My expectations on this place were high, but I think that the place has to improve a lot. The room is average; I would say that small and basic. I was surprised that the breakfast was so bad; I mean very small selection to choose from and lacking from authentic japanese food. The location is fine, very convenient to walk around.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Guidver T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

Definately one of the best hotels in Tokyo. The rooms are excellent, spacious, comfortable and of course clean. The staff is very polite and go out of their way to help you. I went to the bar on a tuesday night and it was rocking with live music and has a great atmosphere. Unfortunately i had no time to eat in any of the restaurants except the breakfast buffet which was good as expected. I had a corporate rate there so ended up paying US$400 inclusive of taxes but the rack rate is US$500+. Hotel is very well located. Wifi is free in the common areas as well as the rooms. Can't wait to visit again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Layman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
777 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

A great hotel in a great location. Subway it's there. Shops and restaurants are there, in the neighbourhood. Roppongi is an exquisite location, with nice restaurants and many shops and bars and even brand shops (but who is shopping in Tokyo...?). Hotel amenties are great. Reception is always helpful, rooms are modern, nice and very clean. Breakfast is amaizing. Bathrooms are so fresh and pampering. Try the nice yukata you have there to endulge while relaxing. Spa, pool and fitness are really great too. Definitely a place to indulge Tokyo.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aburel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minato
Shinjuku
Park Hyatt Tokyo
Park Hyatt Tokyo
#1 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,656 reviews
Akasaka / Roppongi
The Ritz-Carlton, Tokyo
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Conrad Tokyo
Conrad Tokyo
#1 of 108 in Minato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 108 in Minato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,939 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 74 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Tokyo

Property: Grand Hyatt Tokyo
Address: 6-10-3 Roppongi, Minato 106-0032, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Akasaka / Roppongi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#3 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#3 Business Hotel in Minato
#3 Spa Hotel in Minato
#5 Family Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Tokyo 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, JAPANiCAN, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hyatt Hotels Corporation and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Hyatt Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Tokyo Hotel Minato
Grand Hyatt Minato
Grand Hyatt Hotel Tokyo
Hyatt Tokyo
Minato Hyatt
Grand Hyatt Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing