We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hyatt Tokyo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Tokyo
Ranked #5 of 107 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Stayed in a Club King, which was an excellent, large room with good facilities and was well appointed. The bed was large and very comfortable. The service was better than expected, checkin on the club floor being swift and efficient. Originally told that checkin was from 3pm, we were in our room before 11am. If you can, go for a higher floor, the view from the lift area on the 19th floor was spectacular, that from our room on the 12th, good only.

As it was a very wet day, used the club lounge quite a lot. Free Ipads were useful as the wifi signal in the lounge was not too strong. The only drawback here was a very noisy group of corporate Japanese who came in for lunch, they seemed be be competing over who could shout loudest.

The food and drink that was provided during the cocktail hour was rather good, but the ambiance was rather spoilt by a couple of antipodean parties that were intent on eating and drinking as much as they could neck

A little miffed to find that the club lounge only opened at 7am, as we were leaving for a mid morning flight out of Narita and had to exit the hotel at 6:50. Only discovered that they would have provided us with breakfast in the room when we got home. This was poor communication.

Loved the rest of the hotel, great location and easy access to the Metro, and the shopping centre and Mori tower and its wonderful art museum.

Did not use the bars or restaurants, but looked at most of them and there was a wide range of food styles and the bars seemed very popular.

One final really good point, the Airport Limo Bus service starts at the hotel. It does stop at two other hotels a little later, but here you are guaranteed a seat.

Would certainly come back and stay again.

Room Tip: Get as high as you can for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,066
    412
    86
    26
    13
See reviews for
272
355
154
615
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
138 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

I liked almost everything in this hotel - the location, the service (especially in the Club Lounge), the swimming pool area, breakfast, room. We had a big enough room high up with a nice view over the Roppongi skyscrapers. The personnel at the hotel is fantastic. The only minus comes from the too crowded Club Lounge. Club should be a relaxing place to enjoy your breakfast or afternoon tea but now there were too many people and even some families with small kids behaving less well.

Room Tip: Choose a room high up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adventure2Stockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

My expectations on this place were high, but I think that the place has to improve a lot. The room is average; I would say that small and basic. I was surprised that the breakfast was so bad; I mean very small selection to choose from and lacking from authentic japanese food. The location is fine, very convenient to walk around.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Guidver T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

Definately one of the best hotels in Tokyo. The rooms are excellent, spacious, comfortable and of course clean. The staff is very polite and go out of their way to help you. I went to the bar on a tuesday night and it was rocking with live music and has a great atmosphere. Unfortunately i had no time to eat in any of the restaurants except the breakfast buffet which was good as expected. I had a corporate rate there so ended up paying US$400 inclusive of taxes but the rack rate is US$500+. Hotel is very well located. Wifi is free in the common areas as well as the rooms. Can't wait to visit again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Layman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
776 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

A great hotel in a great location. Subway it's there. Shops and restaurants are there, in the neighbourhood. Roppongi is an exquisite location, with nice restaurants and many shops and bars and even brand shops (but who is shopping in Tokyo...?). Hotel amenties are great. Reception is always helpful, rooms are modern, nice and very clean. Breakfast is amaizing. Bathrooms are so fresh and pampering. Try the nice yukata you have there to endulge while relaxing. Spa, pool and fitness are really great too. Definitely a place to indulge Tokyo.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aburel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

At our check in the dates were completely wrong, the rates too. We had to wait for 30 min to be checked it, mind I had a sleeping toddler in my hands.
We were regular clients, but this time is definitely our last stay at GH Tokyo.
The amenities for toddlers are just awful. There is no potty (we were promised one), the child can climb out of the bed which is dangerous.
Overall disappointment in service.

Room Tip: standard rooms are extremely small
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
231 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Room is spacious by Tokyo standards, I stayed in other Hotels in Tokyo and this is is really big by Tokyo standards. Rooms and Hotel is so quiet even being so close to Ropongi. Nice Shiny wood floors. Automatic black out shades and blind controls. Limited number of English TV channels, but who would stay in the room if you have the Ropongi area next door. This hotel has an excellent location just the Hotel complex has a great assortment of restaurants and shops and the night life of Roppongi is all within walking distance, with a great variety of restaurants, bars, night clubs. The room was so clean and spotless every time we came back to the room. Still looks like new. The bathroom was spotless and clean and looks brand new. The tub is big two for sure. Big shower area with a rain hand held nozzle.
The meeting facilities are superb. The catering service was excellent for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. I also had breakfast at the French Kitchen. Breakfast buffet. Delicious food and excellent service.
The swimming pool and gym facilities are spotless and well maintained. The hotel staff are attentive without being annoying. Definitely a 5 star hotel, they earned it.
Concierge desk is awesome, so friendly and detailed. I asked them to help me with directions to how to get to Kamakura city, they printed out the train schedule, made me a route what stations to go (detail of taking Tokyo Metro and JR Line).
All personnel is so friendly and helpful and respectful as well. Believe me they do not do it for the tips. No tipping in Japan, and not even accepted if you insist.

Room Tip: Request an upper floor to enjoy a great view iconic views of Tokyo like Tokyo Tower , Mount Fuji in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ericucho n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minato
Akasaka / Roppongi
The Ritz-Carlton, Tokyo
Shinjuku
Park Hyatt Tokyo
Park Hyatt Tokyo
#1 of 79 in Shinjuku
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,500 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Conrad Tokyo
Conrad Tokyo
#1 of 107 in Minato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Andaz Tokyo Toranomon Hills
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 70 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Tokyo

Property: Grand Hyatt Tokyo
Address: 6-10-3 Roppongi, Minato 106-0032, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Akasaka / Roppongi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#3 Business Hotel in Minato
#4 Spa Hotel in Minato
#5 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#5 Family Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Tokyo 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Hyatt Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Tokyo Hotel Minato
Grand Hyatt Minato
Grand Hyatt Hotel Tokyo
Hyatt Tokyo
Minato Hyatt
Grand Hyatt Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing