We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Its a Hyatt”
Review of Grand Hyatt Tokyo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Tokyo
Ranked #3 of 109 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
100 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Its a Hyatt”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Not a bad one though. But if your looking for a sense of Japan you'd do better elsewhere. Rooms facing the Mori Building also feel a tad overlooked. if you book a double bed be ready to get a twin bed room (and ive got all the cards so that doesnt seem to help). Staff are great. Oak Door is good western food and lively bar.

Room Tip: those facing the Mori tower are a bit overlooked
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SingBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,233
    453
    95
    28
    16
See reviews for
325
420
166
685
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed here for 2 weeks. They have a wonderful friendly staff and very informative concierge... I don’t think we asked them about anything that they didn’t have complete knowledge of – including fish market auction which I highly recommend.
Ask for room on the even side and you should have
Pros:
Showers are fantastic and great tub for bathing
Blackout shade is seamless so no light comes in which is great for the first few days.
Beds are divine. Made service wonderful and really clean- electricity is fine and one connecter is given in the desk.
Great information about a day in Kyoto. We didn’t do a tour bus and wished we had…
Lauderdale restaurant is WONDERFUL western breakfast and great fresh Croissants, and if you order orange juice they squeeze several oranges! Very good! relatively cheap for Tokyo (1 breakfast of scrambled eggs/gruyere cheese, bacon, croissant, fresh OJ and Café lait was ¥1,800. )
walking distance ot many restaurants- including 6th floor in office next to hotel (no need ot go outside if raining)
Cons:
A/C = not easy to understand – hard to hear the AC fan so I ordered an extra standing fan which served the purpose
I could generally hear the folks (every am) in the room above me
Room sometimes smelled of water/musty when I walked in (I was in # 1308) but was fine within 5 minutes of being in room.
Oak room is very good restaurant but pricey

Room Tip: ask for a room with an even number and you should be on the side to see Mt Fuji on a clear day. i wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kinetics65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
689 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I was part of a business meeting group at this fine hotel in the upmarket Roppongi neighborhood of Tokyo. Tokyo is a bustling city; and this property offers a quiet retreat. The meeting facilities are top notch. The catering service was excellent for both breakfast and lunch. The swimming pool and gym facilities are spotless and well maintained. The hotel staff are attentive without being obtrusive. Definitely a 5 star experience

Room Tip: Choose a room away from elevators for quietude. If you are a non-smoker, be sure to insist on a non...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orso52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

This hotel is a quiet sanctuary in the middle of the hustle and bustle of Roppongi. It features a great assortment of restaurants and it is attached to an upscale mall and movie theater. The service is on par with luxury brands you would find in the US.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillTYankeesfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
218 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

This is a good hotel by any standards. Very helpful staff, who all seem to have pretty good English skills for us monoglot English speakers. Good range of retaurants from the French Kitchen for breakfast to the range of restaurants on the 6yh(?) floor in a quasi outside setting. The grill is a little eyewateringly expensive but the food is excellent.and the piano bar on level 4 is a also a little steep but the quality is good....anyway you are in the middle of food and drink territory so there are plenty of other options. Rooms are well appointed (wish they would add an ironing board) as you would expect. If you are a light sleeper you might get disturbed by the realtively frequent police sirens...partly to do with the area and partly because there is a police station 4oo metres down the street. No complaints about the room, the food or the staff...all good.

Room Tip: Try and get a room a bit higher up to get away from some of the street noise if that worries you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiverDanSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

This is definitely a wonderful place to stay for business or leisure. The service is excellent from the moment you step out of the taxi. Hotel employees are always ready to listen to your requests and needs and give the impression they really care for you. Rooms are very comfortable and offer a broad range of amenities. A personal touch is given at your arrival (breakfast in your room for early check-in, tea if afternoon check-in...). Spa, swimming-pool and fitness are just wonderful, bringing you to an oasis of quietness after an exhausting day in hectic Tokyo. The Japanese restaurants are excellent (although expensive), and the international food restaurant\bar has always a good atmosphere (live band some days).Breakfast offers a broad choice of Asian or western food and is delicious. Probably one of the best choice in Tokyo!

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank NomadeModerne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
113 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We visited this hotel 7 years ago and thought it was time to go back. Before we even got there, we received an email welcoming us back and asking us if we wanted the refridgerator cleared out like the last time. Impressive.

However, when we got in, the staff at reception was surly, wasn't welcoming and shook her finger at me when I requested for a later check-out time. She said people usually pay for the late check-outs and she'd grant it this once but never again if we returned! That took me by surprise as unprofessional and unwise. I went away with a feeling that this stay would be our last. To make matters worse, our room smelled like mild but stale cigarette smoke. My daughter is asthmatic and our specific request was for a non-smoking room. Furthermore, my request for a quiet room went unnoticed. We were put next to the ice-maker machine room and it seems like there was a congregation of people there talking and shouting during the night.

This was unsettling and didn't mirror our previous trip. So, I emailed the manager before we left to go shopping. We came back late that evening to wine, fuit, chocolates and a heartfelt note from the manager, Mr. Takaharu Takahashi, apologising that this was NOT the way the hotel operated. We were told to contact him but he had gone home. The night manager, Mr. Tadanori Uchiyama came to apologise in person (!) and escort us to a better room. He was so nice and respectful. They upgraded us to the club room floor with a room that was larger and had a great view. The best thing for us was --- no cigarette smoke and peace and quiet.

From then on, the trip took a different turn. We felt welcomed and the place seemed friendlier like our previous stays. The club floor was amazing. We were afforded the use of the club lounge which offered amazing breakfasts and the best evening hors d'oeuvres / cocktails. Wow! What a treat. The club lounge manager, Mr. Masaaki Kitano personally came to introduce himself and welcomed us. Over the course our stay, we chatted alot and he made us feel so welcomed. I called my husband back home to tell him what he was missing! We are now won over and will book the club floor room when we return. No need for dinner as the hors d'oeuvres both cold and hot were plentiful and incredible. They changed nightly so noone got bored with the selections.

Back to the accomodations....

Both our rooms were lovely. They were spacious by Tokyo standards. Nice gleaming wood floors. Automatic black out shades and blind controls. Big windows looking out the the scene below. The rooms were so clean and spotless. They looked still brand new. Our 2nd room was slightly bigger and had a view of the Tokyo Tower otherwise they were the same.

The bathrooms in both rooms were spotless. Everything still looked new though the hotel has been around for more than 7 years. The commodes had the interesting key pad indicating it performed many other functions besides flush!:) The tubs were huge and the shower area had a rain/hand held shower.

The health club, though strict in its rules, was gorgeous and a pleasure to use. The pool was a three lane one but it never was crowded and my daughter and I loved our nightly swims.

We love the hotel's location as it is connected to a myriad of beautiful shops and restaurants. Also, a short walk away is Azabu-Juban and Roppongi which have more shops and restaurants. The neighborhood is an upscale lovely one. The grocery store and book store down the street were our favorite places to visit. Another big plus was being connected to the subway by 2 minute walk. The Hibiya line is kind of a central/ main artery thus going in any direction was so easy and fast.

I could not write this without a mention about the concierge desk. They were my most favorite people! The desk was staffed by the best bunch of young people who were fun, upbeat, professional and so helpful. Kai gave us great tips on sightseeing, restaurants and how best to maximise our time. He even offered to help us plan future trips to the ryokan which we've been wanting to do. Mr.Takahashi Kai was one of the best concierges we've ever encountered. Thank you for your kind assistance that always came with a warm smile.

The best and perhaps the most interesting thing about the hotel and Japan as a whole is the tipping thing. They just don't do it. They don't believe in it. If only it were like this everywhere!:) When I ask if I need or if I could tip for exceptional service they usually say they are flattered and thankful but they won't accept it. I felt bad for all the times I used the concierge service and for the poor bellmen hauling my heavy suitcases. They just wouldn't take the tip. Job pride is a lovely thing. While checking out I asked again and they said everything is included in the price of our room. No tipping accepted. Gotta love it.

It goes without saying that the Japanese and their attention to detail are to be in awe of. The front office manager, Mr. Takahashi was at the front desk when I checked out. He bowed, thanked us, apologised for the snafu in the beginning and invited us back. As I left the desk, the lounge manager, Mr Kitano, ran up to me with a bag of bottled waters and beautifully wrapped treats from the hotel for our ride to the airport. How incredibly thoughtful. He said he hoped we'd return and consider the Grand Hyatt our second home. How could we not now?

I love Tokyo and will always be back. I love the Grand Hyatt and thanks to the wonderful managers and staff, we will always return. Thank you all for capping off our summer with your wonderful hospitality. We had the best time!

Room Tip: The rooms are all beautiful. If the view is important to you, the Tokyo Tower view was magical esp a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Beaverhousen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minato
Shinjuku
Park Hyatt Tokyo
Park Hyatt Tokyo
#1 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,779 reviews
Akasaka / Roppongi
The Ritz-Carlton, Tokyo
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Conrad Tokyo
Conrad Tokyo
#1 of 109 in Minato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
#5 of 74 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Tokyo

Property: Grand Hyatt Tokyo
Address: 6-10-3 Roppongi, Minato 106-0032, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Akasaka / Roppongi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#3 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#3 Business Hotel in Minato
#3 Spa Hotel in Minato
#5 Family Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Tokyo 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award-winning luxury hotel centrally located in Roppongi Hills, a multi-use complex housing 200 shops and restaurants, a cinema, an art museum and an observatory overlooking the city skyline. Roppongi Station is just a three minute walk away and the hotel is a 40 minute limousine bus ride away from Haneda Aiport and a 90 minute ride away from Narita Airport (charges apply). Grand Hyatt Tokyo offers ten restaurants and bars widely acclaimed for their authentic gastronomy that feature an incredible variety of international cuisine including French, Italian, American, Chinese, and Japanese sushi, teppanyaki and seasonal kaiseki fare. Enjoy al fresco dining at one of the open-air terraces or listen to live music in the chic jazz lounge Maduro. The stylish and modern rooms incorporate warm wood furnishings and Japanese aesthetics into the design and feature a spacious bathroom with an invigorating rain shower and a deep soaking limestone bathtub that allows guests to relax after a long day. In addition, the room is equipped with a flat-screen TV, a DVD player, a safety deposit box, a laptop charger, a minibar and Japanese yukata robes and complimentary mineral water is provided. Book a room with club-access for additional benefits in our Grand Club lounge such as complimentary breakfast and evening cocktails. Complimentary Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and guests also have access to the business center on site. Guests can find inner harmony with rejuvenating spa treatments and massages that incorporate Japanese healing traditions at the Nagomi Spa and Fitness Center or relax by the red granite indoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Rakuten, Cheap Tickets, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Tokyo Hotel Minato
Grand Hyatt Minato
Grand Hyatt Hotel Tokyo
Hyatt Tokyo
Minato Hyatt
Grand Hyatt Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing