We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, Service, Room - everything was perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Shiba Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Shiba Park Hotel
Ranked #15 of 108 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Location, Service, Room - everything was perfect!”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights by myself on my recent trip to Japan.

I had booked a business single bed room and honestly did not expect much when I got there. But I was absolutely positively surprised. The room was really big, with a nice double bed, desk, TV, minifridge, watercooker for the tea and coffee provided, as well as slippers and bathrope and a nice bathroom with a tub :)
Everything was very clean and bright, I felt very comfortable.
The staff was very friendly and helpful, english was no problem there at all, one of the girls even spoke a little german. I did not book breakfast, so all I can say is that it at least looked good and people I met told me it indeed was.

The Hotel is located near the monorail station Hamamatsucho, so coming into Haneda Airport it is the cheapest way to get to your Hotel, which really is not hard to find. Also the best way to get around Tokyo, since you have access to bus, train and subway.
Close by the Hotel is the Shiba Park (which is worth a visit) from where you also have a very nice view at the Tokyo Tower, which is located right behind.

I would definitly recommend this place, I was very satisfied

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JenBlack85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

997 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    499
    152
    36
    14
See reviews for
334
291
74
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Having stayed at Shiba Park Hotel several times over as many years, I highly recommend this hotel. The staff are friendly and knowledgeable and the rooms are good.

On the most recent trip, I stayed in a Park's Business Single room even though I was on holiday - the room was spacious so I could drop off my shopping with little hassle, and the working desk was handy for setting up the laptop and writing missives to home.

The decor can be rough around the edges - scratches on drawer edges, elevators that aren't equipped with infrared sensors on the doors - but the important thing is that everything works.

The location also works out well for me since Hamamatsucho is on the Yamanote train line, and one stop from a terminus of the Yurikamome train if you're planning to head to the Daiba area.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Phillip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
benfleet
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Nice hotel, quiet location, staff pleasant and helpful, free internet, had a nice drink in the bar served good pub food but quite expensive, one beer about £10..00.
Within walking distance to most sites, temples, river ,shops and tower.
Also a good trip to Mount Fiji and a ride on the bullet train, a trip worth doing.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Laois, Ireland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

There's something a little grubby about the Shiba park hotel. It seems to have an infinity of staff who are more than helpful but what it has in hospitality, it lacks in modernity. The hotel is split into two separate buildings (not structurally connected. We were staying in the second hotel (we think) behind the first one and can therefore really only speak for that.
The room decor and fixtures/fittings are a little dated and at times tatty. Pillows (not bed linen) on bed had stains, as well as 2 chairs in our room. Similarly the hallway carpet was visibly stained (more so than dirty).
In the reception area there is a bar which opens onto the reception in the evenings and it has a strong whiff of cigarette smoke coming from it when it's busy (which is often). The bar is dark and Western hotel style in appearance. Very unlike other Japanese places.
For breakfast you can have Japanese or Western style buffet (in separate buildings). There is a wide variety of items. Although the scrambled egg was cold in the Western breakfast (not unusual for Japan in our experience) though it was cooked.
Depending on what you're looking for the hotel is located 10 minutes walk from a underground station and between the World Trade Centre (which has an observatory on top) and the Tokyo tower (also a popular viewing spot). There are various restaurants in the area which the hotel kindly provide a map of.
This is not to be mistaken as a terrible hotel based on my review, merely in need of a little renovation/tlc. The rooms are cleaned every day and are not dirty as such.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Faith Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo, Hawaii
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

We liked this hotel for the most part. It was our first night in Tokyo and we were a little tired from arriving into Haneda so late, but the staff was really friendly and took care of us right away. It was a 10-15 min walk to surrounding restaurants as well as the hamamutsucho train station. This is also a business area so bear in mind that over the weekend, lots of the surrounding restaurants will be closed.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Steph H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
1 review
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Problems with refrigerator and air conditioner in room. Reported fault in the morning, still wasn't fixed when we returned in the evening. Resulted in spoilt food & 2 nights poor sleep. Ultimately fridge replaced but not food, and no offer of fan or A/C repair to cool room, only told to "open window" onto a narrow alley at rear of building, still no air flow.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teeldama_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

My partner and I stayed in the Shiba Park hotel for 6 nights while we were in Tokyo.

The hotel is of good quality and while it is obviously not a 5 star hotel, the service is great and the rooms are clean and of a good size. We managed to stay at the hotel for a very good price while we were in Japan during one of the busiest times of the year.

The hotel is located in Hamamasutcho and is about a 10 minute walk away from the JR train station on the Yamanote line.

It is also within walking distance to Tokyo tower and Zojoji temple.

A great location and hotel for people who don't want to spend too much money but also want a hotel that provides great service!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IndiaDwyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minato hotels
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 108 in Minato
2,985 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Royal Park Hotel The Shiodome, Tokyo
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
The Prince Park Tower Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Mitsui Garden Hotel Shiodome Italia-gai
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Hotel Villa Fontaine Tokyo-Shiodome
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Shiba Park Hotel 151
Shiba Park Hotel 151
#30 of 108 in Minato
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shiba Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shiba Park Hotel

Property: Shiba Park Hotel
Address: 1-5-10 Shiba Koen, Minato 105-0011, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Minato
#24 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#32 Business Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shiba Park Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shiba Park Hotel is a city hotel established in 1948 as a hotel for foreign trade delegations. Since then, the hotel has welcomed many guests from overseas. There are 199 guest rooms of various types, Japanese restaurant Hanasanshou, Chinese restaurant Peking, steak restaurant Old City Grill House and bar Fifteen's. Conveniently located in central Tokyo, the Shiba Park Hotel is easily accessible to and from both Haneda and Narita airports by the Airport Limousine Bus. There are 4 train and subway stations within a walking distance, offering great access to Tokyo's major sightseeing spots and business districts. The Shiba Park Hotel continues to welcome guests from around the world with the hope for guests to "feel relaxed as they are at home, even in the midst of a trip." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shiba Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Shiba Park
Shiba Park Minato
Shiba Park Hotel Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing