We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“worn out and off location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo
Ranked #19 of 106 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Kobe, Japan
Level Contributor
49 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“worn out and off location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

The hotel is located away from downtown areas, nothing much around, Minato location may not be taken as central (in japanese), The Embassy areas are close by but not by walk less than 20 minutes, Roppongi, Shibuya can be reached by subway in 10-15 minutes, Ginza the heart of Tokyo is quite far. Rooms are fair sized but the wood and tiles are ages old, luckily no stink in the bathroom of such old structure and equipment. Very ordinary bathroom, amenities are ok, Few options may have very restricted breakfast not buffet , so watch out when booking. Rooms close to elevators are troublesome with noise of elevators quite annoying even at night. You can hear your neighbors again sleep killer, overall I do not see advantage of staying from any angle unless you have some business nearby. Lobby is nice with garden and tree views specially the changing colors looks pleasant. Overall disappointing from many angles.

Room Tip: Better go central, but if have to stay get rooms away form elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mithaheem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    701
    212
    54
    31
See reviews for
352
266
151
405
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Very helpful n patient concierge staffs to answer all my travel queries. Love the basement health club, went for morning shower n jacuzzi really help to refresh the body in cold weather.

Buffet breakfast area has nice view of the garden. Only the buffet breakfast wasn't that great as I find the pastries not up to my expectation. But toast are nice n love the big blueberry!

There are free hotel shuttle bus to send n fetch u to metro station. The diver is so polite to greet u when u board n alight.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cooblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
95 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

The hotel is nice, we choose it because of SPG points but we would probably not stay at this hotel again if we head back to Tokyo.

The main reason is that the hotel is not very close to most Tokyo sightseeing attractions. There are a couple of things to visit near the hotel like the beautiful Happoen Garden and the upmarket Platinum street but apart from those there are no major attractions walking distance to the hotel.

Perhaps this hotel is good for business stays if the office is in the area or for someone who prefers a more quiet area and does not mind travelling by taxi or train to the main Tokyo attractions.

Hotel wise the service was good, the room on the small side but was functional, the bathroom was clean but they could do better with the quality of fixtures and fittings.

What was impressive for us is the large lobby lounge which looks into the colorful Japanese garden of the hotel. Guests can visit the garden and we did that at least on two occasions. Very nice and relaxing garden. A small oasis of tranquility inside the hotel grounds.

Overall, good hotel but if you are visiting Tokyo for sightseeing perhaps there are more convenient hotel options.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sito_Journey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimini, Italy
Level Contributor
125 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

The only reason I stay is because I am l Spg platinum and rate are some time are not bad and position is convenient for my business.
A part from this room are getting hold and hold.
When they clean the room sometime even do not clean the bath keeping even the old used shampoo open on it.
Also the policy of upgrading is quite bad, many time no upgrading and when they do they just do a little bigger room , never feel any real upgrading as most of the spg properties do all over the world.
Once they even ask me to changhe the room the last day of may stay as that particularl room was choosen by an imporant guest . Means I am not a important guest in spite of my Spg lifetime platinum . Instead of give be a better room they downgrate me to lower floor and smaller room. Thank you Miyako Hotel .

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank PFRANCESCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

As many people who frequent this site are, I travel 40-45 weeks/yr. I generally split my time between HHonors and SPG hotels. I'll be doing business in Tokyo 4-5 weeks/yr now and would caution any SPG member that they do not treat you the same way as they do in other SPG hotels. The hotel itself is not terrible, but you can find a cheaper option in a better location for no more than you receive on the benefits front. (No free breakfast and they charge $20 USD for trying to use the gym - even for SPG status members)

Was thoroughly disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drexel Hill, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This hotel is well-situated in a relatively quiet and classy neighborhood away from the hubbub. They run a shuttle, a short trip to Meguro train station, and from there you can get everywhere in Tokyo. The staff is everywhere, helping with everything. They greet you coming off the elevator. Definitely do the buffet breakfast. It can't be beat for convenience, and they have everything, Japanese and non-Japanese breakfast foods. The concierge is very helpful. They recommended a nearby sushi restaurant, Shozan, a cozy place run by a very gracious couple. They spoke no English, nevertheless they treated us royally, the sushi was excellent and language was no barrier. The rooms in this hotel are fine - we were only there to sleep, shower and go back out.
We spent a week here and we would return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardWhitney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

A Sheraton is a Sheraton is a Sheraton...so nothing exceptionally bad or good to be crazy about. My room was quite comfortable, but had to change once, first room was really noisy (neighbours) and rundown, second room was good. A colleague of mine got an old room - ask at the check in for the renovated ones. The breakfast (buffet) is sufficent, if you order anything else but coffee or tea (cappucino for example) it takes forever to get it! and they charge you extra for it! Service is great, asl always in Japan, chekout very efficent and quick. Biggest drawback is the location, though there's a shuttle bus to Shinagawa station, the neighbourhood is boring...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jensaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minato
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 106 in Minato
4.5 of 5 stars 2,694 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Royal Park Hotel The Shiodome, Tokyo
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
The Westin Tokyo
The Westin Tokyo
#1 of 11 in Meguro
4.5 of 5 stars 1,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
#8 of 69 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 stars 1,792 reviews
Shinagawa / Gotanda
Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
The Prince Park Tower Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo

Property: Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo
Address: 1-1-50 Shirokanedai, Minato 108-8640, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Shinagawa / Gotanda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#16 Family Hotel in Minato
#19 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#27 Business Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo 4*
Number of rooms: 494
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Starwood APAC, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, JAPANiCAN, Travelocity, Rakuten, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Tokyo
Sheraton Minato
Minato Sheraton
Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing