We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worn out and off location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo
Ranked #22 of 116 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 19, 2012

The hotel is located away from downtown areas, nothing much around, Minato location may not be taken as central (in japanese), The Embassy areas are close by but not by walk less than 20 minutes, Roppongi, Shibuya can be reached by subway in 10-15 minutes, Ginza the heart of Tokyo is quite far. Rooms are fair sized but the wood and tiles are ages old, luckily no stink in the bathroom of such old structure and equipment. Very ordinary bathroom, amenities are ok, Few options may have very restricted breakfast not buffet , so watch out when booking. Rooms close to elevators are troublesome with noise of elevators quite annoying even at night. You can hear your neighbors again sleep killer, overall I do not see advantage of staying from any angle unless you have some business nearby. Lobby is nice with garden and tree views specially the changing colors looks pleasant. Overall disappointing from many angles.

Room Tip: Better go central, but if have to stay get rooms away form elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mithaheem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,630)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

633 - 639 of 1,630 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2012

Very helpful n patient concierge staffs to answer all my travel queries. Love the basement health club, went for morning shower n jacuzzi really help to refresh the body in cold weather.

Buffet breakfast area has nice view of the garden. Only the buffet breakfast wasn't that great as I find the pastries not up to my expectation. But toast are nice n love the big blueberry!

There are free hotel shuttle bus to send n fetch u to metro station. The diver is so polite to greet u when u board n alight.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank cooblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

The hotel is nice, we choose it because of SPG points but we would probably not stay at this hotel again if we head back to Tokyo.

The main reason is that the hotel is not very close to most Tokyo sightseeing attractions. There are a couple of things to visit near the hotel like the beautiful Happoen Garden and the upmarket Platinum street but apart from those there are no major attractions walking distance to the hotel.

Perhaps this hotel is good for business stays if the office is in the area or for someone who prefers a more quiet area and does not mind travelling by taxi or train to the main Tokyo attractions.

Hotel wise the service was good, the room on the small side but was functional, the bathroom was clean but they could do better with the quality of fixtures and fittings.

What was impressive for us is the large lobby lounge which looks into the colorful Japanese garden of the hotel. Guests can visit the garden and we did that at least on two occasions. Very nice and relaxing garden. A small oasis of tranquility inside the hotel grounds.

Overall, good hotel but if you are visiting Tokyo for sightseeing perhaps there are more convenient hotel options.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sito_Journey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

The only reason I stay is because I am l Spg platinum and rate are some time are not bad and position is convenient for my business.
A part from this room are getting hold and hold.
When they clean the room sometime even do not clean the bath keeping even the old used shampoo open on it.
Also the policy of upgrading is quite bad, many time no upgrading and when they do they just do a little bigger room , never feel any real upgrading as most of the spg properties do all over the world.
Once they even ask me to changhe the room the last day of may stay as that particularl room was choosen by an imporant guest . Means I am not a important guest in spite of my Spg lifetime platinum . Instead of give be a better room they downgrate me to lower floor and smaller room. Thank you Miyako Hotel .

Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank PFRANCESCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

As many people who frequent this site are, I travel 40-45 weeks/yr. I generally split my time between HHonors and SPG hotels. I'll be doing business in Tokyo 4-5 weeks/yr now and would caution any SPG member that they do not treat you the same way as they do in other SPG hotels. The hotel itself is not terrible, but you can find a cheaper option in a better location for no more than you receive on the benefits front. (No free breakfast and they charge $20 USD for trying to use the gym - even for SPG status members)

Was thoroughly disappointed.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kyle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

This hotel is well-situated in a relatively quiet and classy neighborhood away from the hubbub. They run a shuttle, a short trip to Meguro train station, and from there you can get everywhere in Tokyo. The staff is everywhere, helping with everything. They greet you coming off the elevator. Definitely do the buffet breakfast. It can't be beat for convenience, and they have everything, Japanese and non-Japanese breakfast foods. The concierge is very helpful. They recommended a nearby sushi restaurant, Shozan, a cozy place run by a very gracious couple. They spoke no English, nevertheless they treated us royally, the sushi was excellent and language was no barrier. The rooms in this hotel are fine - we were only there to sleep, shower and go back out.
We spent a week here and we would return.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichardWhitney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

A Sheraton is a Sheraton is a Sheraton...so nothing exceptionally bad or good to be crazy about. My room was quite comfortable, but had to change once, first room was really noisy (neighbours) and rundown, second room was good. A colleague of mine got an old room - ask at the check in for the renovated ones. The breakfast (buffet) is sufficent, if you order anything else but coffee or tea (cappucino for example) it takes forever to get it! and they charge you extra for it! Service is great, asl always in Japan, chekout very efficent and quick. Biggest drawback is the location, though there's a shuttle bus to Shinagawa station, the neighbourhood is boring...

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jensaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minato
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#7 of 116 in Minato
3,219 reviews
Shinjuku
Hilton Tokyo
Hilton Tokyo
#4 of 83 in Shinjuku
4,470 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Royal Park Hotel The Shiodome, Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
#9 of 75 in Chiyoda
2,047 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
The Prince Park Tower Tokyo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Mitsui Garden Hotel Ginza Premier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo

Address: 1-1-50 Shirokanedai, Minato 108-8640, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Shinagawa / Gotanda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Minato
#17 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#19 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#27 Business Hotel in Minato
Price Range: $168 - $701 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo 4*
Number of rooms: 494
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, JAPANiCAN, Travelocity, Rakuten, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Tokyo
Sheraton Minato
Minato Sheraton
Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing