We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,832)
Filter reviews
1,832 results
Traveler rating
531
901
280
75
45
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
531
901
280
75
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmeguro stationshuttle busspg platinumbamboo loungecafe californiashuttle servicejapanese gardenhealth clubthe hotel offersclub loungenice gardenchinese restaurantquiet locationnarita airportupgraded roombusiness travelerconcierge desk
Filter
Updating list...
810 - 815 of 1,832 reviews
Reviewed February 4, 2012

The lobby and public areas of this hotel are beautiful. There is a traditional garden that is especially gorgeous when the maple leaves are red and gold. The rooms are small but fine and the bathroom is an outdated pink tile. However, there appears to be a mold/mildew problem. We were checked into the hotel room after a long flight, then had a quick bite and I pulled the shower curtain open. The bath tub and grout were well covered with mold/mildew as well as the ceiling. Although we were able to transfer to another room after some negotiations, there were still mildew/mold in the bathrooms though not to the extent of the previous room. Restaurants were great.

Room Tip: Ask for newly renovated rooms without mildew problems and for garden views.
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mari858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo_Santa, お客様担当マネージャー at Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2012

Thank you very much for your staying with us at Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo.
We apologize for your uncomfortable experience caused by bad smell from mildew in the bath room. The bad smell was caused by mildew of shower curtain and mold on the grout and the ceiling was due to the negligent cleaning work of our housekeeping. The mildew removal work of the whole bath room has been periodically carried out ,however, it was insufficient. Again we are deeply sorry for our lack of cleanliness. Our housekeeping manager was given a strong warning then is rigorously attentive for mildew.
It is evident from your comments that this was not your experience for which I would like to offer our sincere apologies.
Please be assured the issues you have raised have been addressed to prevent any reoccurrence in the future. We appreciate your comment.
All of us here hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you again.

Room Dep.Guest Service
Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

After a lot of research, I chose this hotel because of the quiet location, accessibility, value for money, and the fact that it is a Starwood property. In the absence of a platinum status, I knew there would be no upgrades. I was happy that we were given a room on the SPG floor overlooking the garden. I was initially shocked at how hot it was in the room and was unable to cool it by adjusting the room thermostat. Housekeeping explained that the heater is on during winter months and the air conditioner during the hot months. They brought in an electric fan to cool the room and at that stage, I was tempted to change hotels. After the shock wore off, I realized that the fan did cool the room and we kept it on overnight for the first night. Once we have adjusted to to the Tokyo winter and the hotel heating, we only used the fan a few times. King bed was sufficient for 2 adults and 1 child. The toliet had some contraptions for bidet and drying options which was funny and interesting.
TV channels were limited although there were a few bilingual channels. Husband kept it on the golf channel for most of the time. We would have liked more English Channels including Cartoon Network and a Movie channel.

Staff were courteous and helpful. Concierge staff and reception staff have a good command of English. They loaned us umbrellas when it was raining which saved us 500 yen per umbrella.
The shuttle bus to Meguro and Shinagawa stations were great which will get you to the all important JR Yamanote line.
Room internet was fast but no wifi except at the lobby. Didn't avail of the pool and gym as I knew that there was a cost involved.
We woke up one morning to snow and it was beautiful to see in the garden at the back of the hotel.
Lobby is not worth hanging around in because of the smoke smell and cost of food and drinks. There was no reason to stay in the lobby anyway because there was much to see and do in Tokyo and by the time we have gone through the train and subway system and visited temples and other notable landmarks, we were exhausted and just wanted to stay in the comfort of our hotel room. We stayed here for 7 days and we felt at home at this nice hotel. It was not luxurious but it was value for money in a very expensive city.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the garden.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MRYMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed there. I've stayed there on business, too. They are so friendly. I love their afternoon tea. I also like their garden and fitness room with pool. The shuttle that takes you to Shinagawa or Meguro station is very convenient. We love the Chinese restaurant's tantan noodles. So yummy. The rooms are very comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the garden. So nice.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jo k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

I did a quick 2 night stopover for fun after a business trip to Hong Kong. Having previously stayed for a week at the Westin Tokyo a few years ago, I can say it's not quite as nice as the Westin but still nice.
They first gave me a double bed room but when I asked, I was given a lovely king room that was pretty massive (I am Starwood Gold). The toilet seat was heated and had a remote control bidet.
The location isn't great for stuff nearby but they do have a shuttle that takes you to a couple subway stops and there is a subway/Metro that is less than 5 minute walk away.
The staff was very nice. The concierge spoke good English and she followed up on all my requests. She wrote instructions for me in Japanese that I could take to 7-11 to buy Sumo tickets and it worked great. They have tons of maps for all the key tourist areas and already have key areas to visit highlighted.

The things that prevent it from being a 5 star rating are minor but add up. No wireless, just wired internet (but at least it's free unlike the Seoul Sheraton). The bathtub is a bit old but shower is works fine. The shuttles only run from 10 to 10 so not convenient for staying out late but again, the metro stop nearby is easy to walk to and from the hotel.

It was pretty cold in Tokyo when I was there (-3c) but the room temp was nice. All in all, a very nice stay.

Room Tip: The shuttle from Narita to hotel takes about 1 hour 45 min to hotel and about 2 hours to airport. It costs 3000 yen each way.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sorjue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

Very tired hotel, rooms are small and stuffy - and I was platnium upgrade to a larger room #802. Could clearly hear the Japanese female squealing and bed rocking of the amateur porn stars next door for the past 2 nights. No temperature control as it's centrally regulated. Lobby is disgusting and allows smokers, just look up at the ceiling to see the tar stains. I paid more than 10 dollars for a single small cup of green tea in the lobby in a so-called non-smoking area with the people next to me puffing away. Hotel has no concept of vegetarian and I am vegan, they even admitted to making fries in the same oil as deep fried meats and fish. I asked for soya milk for cereal at breakfast and was told I would have to pay more.
The food I did have; spicy tofu and white rice was revolting and sans spice. Impossible to communicate as staff (I spoke to about 10) all had poor English. And the creme de la creme.....I was not allowed to use the fitness centre as no tattoos are allowed "due to conservative Japanese culture". Location is also very poor if you like to walk around and choose a restaurant or do some shopping, absolutely nothing close by. Closest ATM is about 10 minutes walk away in a 7 Eleven corner store. The shower temperature control was some cheap device with a very fine line between a cold shower and scalding yourself.....took time every day to get it right. The TV is also a disaster with no English channels available. After watching CNN for 1 minute they go to Japanese voiceover, same with BBC......I spent 300 nights in hotels annually all over the globe and never write a review, good or bad but this hotel compelled me to write to warm fellow business travellers to avoid.....before I forget, no wireless in your room, I have to reboot my MacBook every time I come back to the room to be able to get an IP address and log on using their LAN.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank OttVanTor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews