We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great location, great staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Asia Center of Japan
Ranked #25 of 109 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great location, great staff!”
Reviewed August 22, 2014

Very nice hotel - rooms and public areas where all very clean, the staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the location was very convenient - just 5 min walk to the metro/ subway (it is only approx. 10-15 mins from Toyko station).
Rooms came with a mini fridge which was great, there was free bottled water 24 hours a day and breakfast was decent - mixture of traditional and western.
One negative is that there was no wifi in the hotel rooms, however the connection in the lobby was very secure (good enough for Skype chats!)
Overall, definitely recommended!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tortyv_vicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    244
    63
    10
    3
See reviews for
85
137
97
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2014

I really appreciate japanese hotels high standard of cleaness. Staff welcoming and helpful, very professional. Good location with a subway station nearby, clean room and bathroom with fresh yukata every day, very good breakfast (japanese and continental style).
Free wifi in the lobby only. Recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cosmopolitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

OK hotel with short walking distance to the Metro.
We had breakfast included. Free bottled water all day.
Clean and tidy.

We had a pleasant stay and can recommend this hotel.
We don't use much time in hotelrooms, but this hotel had what we expected.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north coast NSW
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

Average pretty much sums up the hotel, but it's good value for the price. Average size rooms with very small bathroom, nice and clean.
No in-room wifi was annoying. If you stay, don't bother going to the breakfast, as that was definitely the worst part of the stay. Even if it's included in the price avoid it - I'd rather pay to have edible food.
On the plus side, the staff we're excellent - very friendly and helpful and made the stay enjoyable.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank wassenas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

A very satisfying stay. Location is close to everything. Room was clean. Buffet breakfast was excellent, with lots of choices. Staff was very friendly and helpful and speak good english. Over all, would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a good place to stay but would still like to stay within their budget range.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MommylovesLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here based in the Tripadvisor reviews. This was the end of our 3 week tour of Asia & this was far below standards what we got throughout Japan. The rooms have old furniture & they're a bit dingy. The nicest thing is that the rooms are big for Japanese hotel standards.
We stayed in Tsujiki the night before in a very nice & updated hotel that was cheaper than this one. It was the APA brand. Definitely check out the fish market!
Once we saw how dated this hotel was we hoped to move but it was too late to back out. This hotel is in a quiet neighborhood with not a lot going on. This is a plus for some but we liked being in the center of things. I recommend Shinjuku & Shibuya if your more into a happening neighborhood. The Roppongi neighborhood is a 0.8 mile walk away. We took the subway there the first time & spent just as much time walking underground that we did walking above ground for free.
I would say do your research. My husband & I prefer updated hotels even if they are small. If you don't mind outdated guest house type of rooms this hotel is for you.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Marci S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014

I stayed for 5 nights at Hotel Asia based entirely on the recommendations of fellow tripadvisors. Hence all my positive comments will just be a repeat of the good comments already mentioned here for example:
1. Clean tidy rooms (I stayed in the new wing). Looking at the photos to get an idea of their room size first would help.
2. Good breakfast spread.
3. Close (about 8 mins walk for me) to Aoyama-itchome subway station (3 lines go through here to Shinjuku, Shibuya and Ginza)
4. Very helpful front desk staff (printed JR Narita Express schedule for me or promptly delivered extra pillow when I requested for one)

Some other minor points I liked about Hotel Asia were that the windows in the rooms could be opened (I like to open the window in the morning) and it opened into a courtyard. The hotel situated in a quiet residential area was very relaxing.
I paid about Yen11,000 per nite which I found very reasonable because of its location. My brother and his wife were on a business trip and stayed at the Ritz-Carlton one station away (Rappongi) and its close proximity was a huge plus!

There are a couple of small restaurants just on the main road before entering the lane to Hotel Asia. I found the curry tonkatsu (about Yen 720) pretty good and better than anything I could find here in Singapore for that kind of price.

I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The rooms in the new wing have bathrooms where the entrance and floor level are at the same level as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henry066_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minato hotels
Akasaka / Roppongi
Hotel Grand Fresa Akasaka
Hotel Grand Fresa Akasaka
#27 of 109 in Minato
350 reviews
Akasaka / Roppongi
Hotel Monterey Akasaka
Hotel Monterey Akasaka
#20 of 109 in Minato
565 reviews
Akasaka / Roppongi
HOTEL MYSTAYS PREMIER Akasaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Akasaka / Roppongi
the b akasaka
the b akasaka
#45 of 109 in Minato
411 reviews
Akasaka / Roppongi
Centurion Hotel Grand Akasaka
Akasaka / Roppongi
Toyamaken Akasaka Kaikan
Toyamaken Akasaka Kaikan
#103 of 109 in Minato
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Asia Center of Japan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Asia Center of Japan

Property: Hotel Asia Center of Japan
Address: 8-10-32 Akasaka, Minato 107-0052, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Akasaka / Roppongi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Minato
#17 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#22 Family Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Asia Center of Japan 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Rakuten, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Asia Center of Japan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asia Center Of Japan Hotel
Hotel Asia Center Of Japan Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing