We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent location / Everything we need” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Asia Center of Japan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Asia Center of Japan
Ranked #28 of 106 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
Albuquerque NM
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Excellent location / Everything we need”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

This is a hotel in one of the most desirable areas of Tokyo. It is close to two subway stations with four different lines that can connect you to anywhere in the city and beyond. It is in a quiet area, not like hustle bustle of chaotic Shinjuku and Shibuya. This is my second stay in a year. I liked the location, service, price and facilities. As a matter of fact it has everything we need, coin laundry room with an ironing board and a trouser press, PC in the lobby, breakfast and free bottled water. Since the hotel is in the walking distance to the National Stadium (the Olympic Stadium) I imagine it will be booked full when Tokyo will host the Olympic games in 2020. I had a single room this time. There are many reasonably priced restaurants, convenience stores and a super market in the vicinity. The room is not very small compared to many other Tokyo business hotels of similar prices. I'd give five stars but the mattress in my room was desparately in need of replacement so the four stars.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tangarini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    220
    57
    10
    3
See reviews for
72
121
90
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

I stayed at this hotel middle of May 2014 and I was very pleased with it. For the money and convenience of the hotel, this was best the value of any hotel I stayed at while in Japan. While Aoyama-Itchome station is not on the JR line, it was only two stops from a JR station (Yoyogi) and only one more after that to Shinjuku station (another JR line and a central hub; and I think it was 170 YEN to Shinjuku station). I know many people are saying it is a 10 minute walk, but if you take exit 4 like the hotel suggests it can not be more than 300 yards/meters to the hotel; the post office exit itself is not even a 10 minute walk to hotel. Staff was great, spoke great English and they had great tips. I recommend both Uoshin (one of the best meals I have ever had and Mocking Bird for superb Yakitori). The room itself was very clean, while small by American standards, it was slightly bigger than the rest I stayed. The only knock I have is that the only had smoking rooms (I requested non-smoking). However, the had the room cleaned and I could barely noticed the smell, but it did keep me from giving them a 5 star review. Overall great hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

I read a lot of reviews. Could not decide what section of Tokyo to stay in. It doesn't matter!! The subway and train system is so great, that wherever you stay, it is about a 10 minute walk to a station. Hotel Asia Center is a great deal.
This is a small hotel on a residential street about 10 minutes walk from Aoyama-Itchome station. The staff spoke excellent English. They were so friendly and had lots of good advice. I would like to suggest you try to get into a Twin Room. There are two beds which are very comfortable. The bathroom is very small but very new. It reminded me of a cruise stateroom bathroom. If you have a foreign passport the breakfast is free and there is a lot of food. Croissants, butter, jam, hard boiled eggs, scrambled (not great), bacon. Also, congee, rice, a new smoked fish every day, salad, and miso soup. There are even two coffees, European (strong) and American (not as strong). Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: The staff will not promise a non-smoking room, but there are two floors of non-smoking. Request it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aslow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
82 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

I booked the hotel as it's less than 5 mins walk from Aoyama-Itchome station giving easy access to Shibuya, Shinjuku and Roppongi. I've split my review into the hotel and then a few tips for getting around and from the airport.
1) I would describe the hotel as a basic business hotel tucked away in a quiet side road. Yes the rooms are small and the bathroom reminded me of a capsule! However this is Tokyo and the room was at a very reasonable price. The bed was not a true double by western standard and there was no in room safe but it was ok to leave valuables behind the desk. It had a small wardrobe and desk with room to have a suitcase out but not much else. You also have a small fridge and TV. Breakfast was ok with a mix of basic Western and Japanese. The Staff on the desk were all pleasant and spoke good English. In the reception there is good Wifi and also lots of maps and Tokyo guides. Another nice touch in reception was there is a fridge with free water bottles you could help yourself to. My only negative is that when arriving at 1PM they made me wait until 2PM to check-in.
2) In terms of location from the station it's 2 stops to Shibuya, 3 stops to Shinjuku and 1 to Roppongi although you can also walk to Roppongi in 10 mins, just walk out of the hotel and when you hit the main road go left and it's straight all the way. You also pass Tokyo midtown en route.
From Narita airport take the Narita express which stops at Shibuya then the metro to Aoyama-Itchome. Make sure you use Exit 4 East. There's also a handy map on the hotel website showing its location from the metro.
In summary I stayed 4 nights and would happily stay again for the price.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnP72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

A very good Tokyo hotel for the price. We were in the older block, so the room was a bit worn, but it was clean and comfortable. There is a step up to the bathroom, but we managed not to stub a toe on it, even late at night. Breakfast was good and there is plenty of seating. The staff was very helpful and recommended great restaurants. We were skeptical of the fish restaurant they recommended every time we asked, (Uoshin) but when we finally did go, it was probably the best meal we had in Japan.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan_and_Lynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulsan, Ulsan, South Korea
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Me and my husband stayed at this hotel at the beginning of May and we were quite pleased with it. The price was about 80 dollars a night and included breakfast buffet. Breakfast was nice, though if you intend to stay a long period of time you may get bored of the selections. We stayed for three nights and enjoyed the western style and Japanese style breakfasts.

The room itself was very clean. We only had a simple double room, but the bed was big enough for both of us. The tub is very deep as well, so if you are of average height you can sink down well enough. I will say that the 100 yen you must pay in the lobby to use their computers seemed silly, especially since they froze a lot of the time and its 100 yen/10 minutes. The wireless in the room you need a LAN connection. I think they would benefit more if the hotel had wireless in the rooms.

We were on a high floor and had a view of Tokyo tower which was very nice. This hotel is also a very handy five minute walk from the subway and various convenience stores and restaurants.

As a note as well, while we were there we had the unfortunate luck of experiencing a Mag 6 earthquake at 5am. The building did not obviously fall down.

Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone looking to experience Tokyo. Good to its name, it is definitely centrally located.

Room Tip: A high floor may get you a better view, especially at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vanessa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
167 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

This hotel was a great find - it offers really good value in a central location. Room wasn't the largest I've seen, but more than adequate. The entire hotel and room was spotlessly clean and included breakfast which was also excellent. Free wifi and bottled water in the lobby and wired in the rooms is a nice touch. Staff very helpful. Its not the easiest place to find, so have the address in Japanese to show a taxi driver.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank speedbird1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minato hotels
Akasaka / Roppongi
Hotel Grand Fresa Akasaka
Hotel Grand Fresa Akasaka
#15 of 106 in Minato
4.0 of 5 stars 288 reviews
Akasaka / Roppongi
Hotel Monterey Akasaka
Hotel Monterey Akasaka
#19 of 106 in Minato
4.0 of 5 stars 493 reviews
Akasaka / Roppongi
the b akasaka
the b akasaka
#39 of 106 in Minato
4.0 of 5 stars 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Akasaka / Roppongi
Centurion Hotel Grand Akasaka
Akasaka / Roppongi
Akasaka Yoko Hotel
Akasaka Yoko Hotel
#50 of 106 in Minato
3.5 of 5 stars 272 reviews
Akasaka / Roppongi
Roppongi Hotel S
Roppongi Hotel S
#36 of 106 in Minato
4.0 of 5 stars 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Asia Center of Japan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Asia Center of Japan

Property: Hotel Asia Center of Japan
Address: 8-10-32 Akasaka, Minato 107-0052 , Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Akasaka / Roppongi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Minato
#17 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#22 Family Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Asia Center of Japan 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Rakuten, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Asia Center of Japan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asia Center Of Japan Hotel
Hotel Asia Center Of Japan Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing