We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, efficient, quiet neighborhood”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Asia Center of Japan
Ranked #23 of 112 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We got a semi-double room. Stayed here because my boyfriend stayed here before to attend a friend's wedding in the area.
Room is tiny but forgivable (we're in Tokyo). Clean. Bathroom could be claustrophobic for some. I usually keep the door open when I'm on the toilet. The bathroom also has the cutest 4ft long tub, nice strong shower, high tech toilet, shampoo and soap dispenser. Toothbrush and shaving kits are at the reception with the complimentary bottled water.
I love the breakfast buffet. They make their own breads and croissants and they are perfect. They have Western and Japanese food. Although they don't give you a wide variety of choices, they sure make you are satisfied with what they offer. The menu is the same though everyday (I think except for the type of roasted fish), so it could get a bit boring on your 3rd or 4th morning there. Breakfast is open at 7am but gets busy around 8am with those going to the office at 9.
Location is good as it's really close to a train station that takes you to a lot of the famous tourist spots in Tokyo without changing lines, but there's not much to see if you just walk around the hotel. It's really more of a business hotel than a tourist hotel. Neighborhood is really quiet in the evening though.
All in all, it's a good hotel but I'll look for another one when I go back - a place with more charm, closer to the big parks or areas bustling with activities, and some place cheaper.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcmanila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (481)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Asia Center of Japan
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

141 - 147 of 481 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2013

I was always curious about this hotel. I knew it as a place to stay exclusively for students and visitors from Asia long, long time ago and I had a friend from Malaysia who stayed there. Now it 's a hotel retaining the original name. I had an opportunity to stay here for three days. The location is very good, one of the most desirable areas in the city. It is close to four metro lines including the most usable Ginza Line especially for tourist. The hotel is in the walking distance to Roppongi, Harajuku/Omotesando and Jingu Gaien Park. The surrounding area is quiet but there are lots of restaurants and convenience stores. Nearby Nogi Shrine is interesting and there is also a park where business people eat lunch and people walk their dogs to the West of the hotel. We had a double room in the annex building. The room showed its age but it had an adequate space and clean. The small bathroom is a unit type as most of the business hotels and it takes a step up into it---twelve inches or so. The small fridge was not working well and didn't cool very well. The facility has coin laundries so we can minimize clothes to take. They serve breakfasts in a restaurant on the 1st floor. The menu has varieties but is same every day. My husband liked it very much but I thought it could be improved a little. I've read on TA reviews of good service and indeed I was very impressed by polite, friendly and helpful front desk staff. They were exceptionally good. The hotel seemed to have more non Japanese guests staying. We decided to stay here because of a close proximity to a largest Catholic center in Tokyo (Franciscan Center) for my husband to attend Easter Mass and we were very satisfied with our experience. For the price, location and service, we would definitely stay here again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tangarini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

#1 location
We stayed with several hotels in Tokyo over the years; overall, this is a good one.
It is a simple budget hotel; it sits in a quiet and convenient location. We were able to get around the city easily in daytime and quiet enough to have restful sleep at night.
The location of the hotel is halfway between 2 subway stations, Aoyama-it-chome & Nogizaka. (http://www.asiacenter.or.jp/eng/access/) Both stations are a few minutes’ walk from the hotel.
The rooms are small like most hotels in Tokyo but they keep them tidy and clean. The Internet is free in the rooms for your laptop if you bring an Ethernet cord and there is free Wi-Fi in the lobby area. The breakfast is basic and mixed with western & Japanese style.
If you want to have a break from the breakfast in this hotel, Tokyo Midtown in Roppongi is about 10 minutes’ walk in the direction of Nogizaka station. This high-end shopping mall has a Starbucks, a pastry shop and a 24-hour supermarket (Precce Premium) in the basement so it could be another breakfast option. Or there are couple of restaurants that also serve breakfast in Aoyama-it-chome subway station.
#2 location - From Narita airport
One of the reasons we liked this hotel is that, with only a couple of train ride and a short walk we were able to get to the hotel from airport. And the subway station at Ueno where you board the train is not over-crowded like Shinjuku or Shibuya station. We easily changed trains even with our suitcases and it was rush hour. You have stairs to navigate though.
We followed the direction from the hotel website, taking Keisei Line (Skyliner) from airport (Yen 2400 each) to Ueno station. Then following the sign to the Ginza line (yellow line), it is about 5 minutes walk and all under cover. Taking the Ginza line, in the direction to Shibuya, to Aoyama-it-chome is 190 Yen each way.
Try to go to the front compartment of the train with your suitcases, it might less crowded. And because of Ueno & Aoyama-it-chome station are the fourth stop of both ends, you are likely to find a seat as well. Exit 4 South is the closest exit to the hotel in Aoyama-it-chome station; turn left once you pass the turnstile and look for the signs.
#3 location
Tokyo metropolitan is covered by 2 major subway companies – Tokyo Metro & Toei Line.
A day pass (710 Yen) for Tokyo Metro line is almost able to take you to most of the places in the city. With 290 Yen more, a day pass (1000 Yen) for both Toei & Tokyo Metro subway lines will give you even more access and more convenience. Such as : if you want to go for a swim in hot summer day or feel like to do some workout, a newly renovated Tokyo Gymnasium is right next to Kokuritsu-kyogijo station (A4 Exit) in Toei Oedo line, one stop from Aoyama-itchome. With 600 Yen, you can use the facilities for 2 ½ hours, there is one 8-lane, 50-meter pool and a 25-meter pool and all new cardio machines with free weights in the workout room. The lock is included; just bring your gear –bathing suit, bathing cap, towel, soap and shampoo. There you go. Have a good trip.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelxiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Spent nine nights at this hotel in a single room and it was great.

If you're into glitz and glamour you'll need to look elsewhere as it is basically a functional, business style hotel. Having said that though, I couldn't fault it. The rooms were of good size as was the bathroom and they were immaculately clean. Everything is catered for in the room - free wired internet, tea making facilities, tv, etc. There are also numerous other facilities provided by the hotel including food vending machines, a laundry room and a reasonable buffet breakfast.

The hotel staff are excellent and speak good English and will go out of their way to help you. The reception area also has free bottles of water for guests and free wi-fi should the wired internet access in your room elude you.

The hotel is within a five minute walk from the subway station which will get you into the heart of Tokyo speedily. The Tokyo transport system is just sensational.

To get to the hotel from Narita airport, get the NEX to Shibuya and not Tokyo as Shibuya is on the Ginza subway line which is the same line as the hotel. At Shibuya i'd recommend getting a Suica card to use on the underground and then head up the stairs to the Ginza line heading towards Asakusa. You'll need to go three stops to Aoyama-Itchome (G4). Once there look for the yellow information signs on the subway wall and head for exit 4 south. The hotel is mentioned on the information boards. Go out exit 4, up the stairs and cross over the pedestrian crossing. Once on the other side of the road, go right and the hotel is in a side road on your left about five minutes away in a road opposite the curry place.

Great hotel and will be my place of choice for future Tokyo visits.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gerro81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

The location is fantastic, easy walk to train and shops. Rooms are small but liveable and very clean. The staff were helpful & English not a problem. We've stayed here twice and would happily do so again

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brooke O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has a great location, just five minutes walk from the closest subway station. It is in walkable distance to Tokyo Midtown and Roponggi Hills. The room is clean, comfortable and with network (just need to bring a portable router for free wifi). Staff at reception speaks good English. Breakfast is also great. I saw many international travellers. I stayed here for 4 nights and no complaints.

Thank JiuJiuAmani
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Rooms were clean and comfortable. There is free internet in the rooms but wired only, free wifi in the lobby. Good breakfast selection in the restaurant.
As others have said one of the things that stands out is the service, all the staff were very friendly and helpful.
When I first booked the hotel I thought the location didn't look that convenient, however it's less than 5 minutes walk to a station served by 3 metro lines.
The hotel website has some very clear directions for getting in from the airports. My recommendation on arriving in Tokyo would be to read up on the baggage delivery services from the airports and take a stress free metro journey with hand luggage only!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markmat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minato hotels
Akasaka / Roppongi
Hotel Grand Fresa Akasaka
Hotel Grand Fresa Akasaka
#31 of 112 in Minato
357 reviews
Akasaka / Roppongi
Hotel Monterey Akasaka
Hotel Monterey Akasaka
#21 of 112 in Minato
577 reviews
Akasaka / Roppongi
the b tokyo akasaka
the b tokyo akasaka
#44 of 112 in Minato
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Akasaka / Roppongi
HOTEL MYSTAYS PREMIER Akasaka
Akasaka / Roppongi
Hotel Risveglio Akasaka
Hotel Risveglio Akasaka
#32 of 112 in Minato
102 reviews
Akasaka / Roppongi
Tokyu Stay Aoyama Premier
Tokyu Stay Aoyama Premier
#50 of 112 in Minato
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Asia Center of Japan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Asia Center of Japan

Address: 8-10-32 Akasaka, Minato 107-0052, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Akasaka / Roppongi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Minato
#17 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#22 Family Hotel in Minato
Price Range: $77 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Asia Center of Japan 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Rakuten, Booking.com, Travelocity, JAPANiCAN, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Asia Center of Japan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asia Center Of Japan Hotel
Hotel Asia Center Of Japan Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing