We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A "Tokio style" hotel, comfortable and close to the commercial area (and Roppongi)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Asia Center of Japan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Asia Center of Japan
Ranked #28 of 105 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
Trnava, Slovacchia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A "Tokio style" hotel, comfortable and close to the commercial area (and Roppongi)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I have been there three times during the last 5 years and always i found a perfect "Japanese style" on both room space and people. People there are very friendly and willing to help you as much as they can. The rooms are quite small but this is, as said, in line with most of the hotels in Tokio. The nice environment and the apparently quite area (even if quite in the center of the metropolis) are the things i remember the most and i am always considering choosing this hotel whenever i plan a trip in Tokio. Nice choice for a short or long stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MassimoBarberio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    215
    57
    10
    3
See reviews for
72
119
90
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Noosaville
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I have only been to Tokyo twice, and despite staying in Shinjuku for one night, I just love this area. It is a lovely quiet location but walking distance to JR Shinanomachi (20 min), and subway (5 min). Nice area - some restaurants, galleries and shops, alsoTokyo Midtown, Roppongi and Mori tower nearby. Good breakfast (not fancy) but enough to choose from to start the day. Friendly and helpful reception staff. Comfortable rooms for a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NoosaCoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

The good points of this hotel:

Location - good access to all parts of the city using the subway, or even the JR overground line. A few small restaurants close by.

Quiet - in a small street, residential area with apartment blocks nearby.

Reception desk staff - friendly, helpful, speak English.

Information - in lobby , plenty of brochures with ideas of places to go and things to do.

Beds comfortable.

Good value for money in our case, room size OK and breakfast included.


Not so good:

The first room we were allocated smelt really overpoweringly of stale cigarette smoke. We arrived quite late and no other room was available. The next 2 nights we were offered a room on a non-smoking floor, which was better.

The rooms themselves were a bit well-worn. Dreary colour scheme. Carpet tiles showing signs of wear. Bathroom quite small and not impeccably clean - eg a long hair wound round the base of the handrail on the bath.

Breakfast room staff not so helpful, also not speaking English.

Breakfast OK with both western and Japanese food, not a great choice of dishes and no butter for the bread, just margarine.


Last point, a tip for access if you come by subway:

Take the Ginza or Hanzomon line to Aoyama Itchome station and go to Exit No 4. You will see the post office on the opposite side of the road and to the left a big boulevard with a park on the far side. Turn right out of exit 4, cross one side road at lights, then at next lights cross the main road to the other side. Follow the small road on the other side, perpendicular to the main road, going between 2 big blocks and then a little downhill and the hotel is on the right. Approx 5 mins walk altogether.

Room Tip: Ask for a non-smoking room (if you are a non-smoker!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JofromFrance1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don Lorenzo
Level Contributor
154 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

This is the best bargain that my wife and I have encountered in Tokyo. It is located near the very center of the city and very close to the subway which provides easy access to the whole city. The rooms are Spartan but impeccably clean and very utilitarian. Breakfast variety is limited but more than adequate and there are some reasonably priced restaurants in the area. To top it off a most helpful staff makes a stay there a treat. We cannot recommend this hotel too highly.

Room Tip: Bookings should be made well in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roamer70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

For the price of the hotel, this is a great hotel in Tokyo. Clean room, decent size for Tokyo, yes the old building rooms are a bit older but still in good condition, they've got everything you need. Free internet and free bottled water from reception. Staff on reception speak a decent level of English. Breakfast if included with the room is ok, but not worth paying the 995 yen for if not. The western breakfast was cold most mornings!

Within 10 mins walking distance to the busy Roppongi and served well by 2 subway stations. Hotel can be a little tricky to find in the dark when you arrive, easiest way to spot it is look for the side street closest to the steak restaurant with a moustache sign!

Would definately recommend to stay here if you are planning on exploring Tokyo.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jamie2703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We were really pleased that we chose this hotel to start our holiday in Japan. We arrived an hour or so before their standard check in time, but we were able to check in without a problem and get a bit of much needed sleep before heading out for the evening. The staff spoke excellent English, and were happy to recommend somewhere to eat - a great local Japanese restaurant.

The location was ideal for the Tokyo Metro, with at least three stations and a variety of lines within easy walking distance. Tokyo Midtown, Roppongi, Roppongi Hills and so on were a comfortable wander away for all of our evening needs.

It barely needs saying that the room and bathroom were small by western standards, but we found them perfectly sufficient, and the semi-double bed was adequate for my partner and I. Everything was spotless.

The breakfast buffet was good, with plenty of western and Japanese choices. Free wifi in the lobby. All in all, and especially for the price, I’m not sure we could have picked a better hotel for exploring Tokyo.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JohnMenzies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The room was compact but okay; the bathroom has been remodeled and is great. The staff was helpful. The bed wasn't the greatest but it was wide enough for a single person and was okay, albeit a bit uneven. The breakfast buffet was fine. This hotel is close to Aoyama Itchome (Ginza) subway stop which is a handy stop if coming from the airport using the Keisei line to Ueno. The area around the hotel is very nice.

Room Tip: Rooms in the annex are okay but are older. Don't know about the newer rooms. Bathrooms in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minato
Akasaka / Roppongi
Hotel Grand Fresa Akasaka
Hotel Grand Fresa Akasaka
#15 of 105 in Minato
4.0 of 5 stars 281 reviews
Akasaka / Roppongi
Hotel Monterey Akasaka
Hotel Monterey Akasaka
#18 of 105 in Minato
4.0 of 5 stars 483 reviews
Akasaka / Roppongi
Akasaka Yoko Hotel
Akasaka Yoko Hotel
#49 of 105 in Minato
3.5 of 5 stars 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Akasaka / Roppongi
Centurion Hotel Grand Akasaka
Akasaka / Roppongi
the b akasaka
the b akasaka
#38 of 105 in Minato
4.0 of 5 stars 369 reviews
Akasaka / Roppongi
Roppongi Hotel S
Roppongi Hotel S
#37 of 105 in Minato
4.0 of 5 stars 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Asia Center of Japan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Asia Center of Japan

Property: Hotel Asia Center of Japan
Address: 8-10-32 Akasaka, Minato 107-0052 , Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Akasaka / Roppongi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Minato
#17 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#22 Family Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Asia Center of Japan 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Rakuten, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity, JAPANiCAN and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Asia Center of Japan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asia Center Of Japan Hotel
Hotel Asia Center Of Japan Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing