We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Location, wonderful staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Asia Center of Japan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Asia Center of Japan
Ranked #28 of 107 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
120 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Great Location, wonderful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

The hotel has very easy access to the Ginza metro line which made finding the place super easy and provides access to everything in Tokyo. The hotel staff was more than welcoming and helpful. Checked in quickly and found their guidance for our first walking venture great. The two of us found the semi double room adequate for two Americans and our stuff (we are backup packers). The AC worked well, plenty of hot water, tea kettle in the room as is a small refrigerator. Only wired internet in the room (free) and a wifi zone in the lobby. The room was very clean and well maintained. The bathroom had a wonderful Japanese soaking tub and a toto bidet on the toilet. The room is not large and we did find ourselves doing a close dance in the mornings. The breakfast was fine - I enjoy trying a typical Japanese breakfast but the also had typical western items too. The pastries were wonderfully delicate, flaky and tasty. The best news is that the hotel is less than a 8 minute walk to Tokyo Midtown shopping mall. Its right down the main street (which is full of small restaurants and noodle shops) so you cannot lose your way. The mall has many, many food options on the bottom floor. You can self-cater or find a great small booth for quick tempera on rice. We also found vegan and vegetarian options which was a nice surprise. Another 5 minutes you can continue your walk to Roppongi. Don't miss seeing General Nogi's house on your way. Its has the beautiful Nogi-Jinja shrine on the grounds. We happened to go by during a wedding which was beautiful!

Room Tip: Higher floor has the double rooms and a view of the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ranleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    223
    57
    10
    3
See reviews for
73
125
90
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aomori, Japan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

My experience here was excellent. The location was great, the staff was friendly, and the room was clean. The breakfast was decent. And all things considered, I think the cost was fair too.

LOCATION: The hotel is in a central location to most parts of the city, which is great for general sightseeing purposes and probably just fine if you're there for business as well. It's a five minute walk to the Aoyama Itchome Station (closest entrance/exit: http://goo.gl/maps/h4J5y). If coming from Tokyo Station, take the Metro Marunouchi Line to Akasakamitsuke and transfer to the Metro Ginza Line, which will take you to Aoyama Itchome. Lastly, I really liked the neighborhood surrounding the hotel. I didn't really explore it, but it felt like a pretty nice area, and I can see that as a plus for families that are considering going here.

HOTEL STAFF: The staff was fantastic, just like the other reviews had stated. Much of the hotel staff could speak English well, but I was most impressed that they always seemed genuine. I felt like when they said good morning they were really sincere--not just saying it because they had to do so.

ROOMS: When booking a room, you will have to choose between the "annex building" or "new building", but they are actually in the same physical building. The difference is the annex rooms are older, the new rooms are newer. I stayed in one of the older rooms and I didn't have any problems. When I booked I made a note emphasizing that i wanted a smoke-free room, and happily that's exactly what I got. The room size was good and the bathroom size/setup was very standard, relative to average hotels in Japan. The bed wasn't amazing but it was just fine for me. Unless your picky and/or are going for a special occasion with your significant other, I would recommend booking the cheaper annex rooms, based on my experience. Lastly, a great feature in the room was a mini-fridge which could be used for your own foods/drinks.

BREAKFAST: The breakfast was above average, but not fantastic, in my opinion. There was a pretty good variety of both Western and Asian breakfast foods and drinks.

RECOMMENDATION: Yes :-)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bluesky95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

This hotel is a bit "off the beaten track," i.e., not in the usual tourist spots, but it's close (5 minutes) to Aoyama Itchome subway station and just a short subway ride from anywhere you might want to go. I stayed here with a group of teachers, and it was a great hotel for us, with English-speaking front desk staff, restaurant for breakfast, free wi-fi in the lobby, and washing machines. The rooms are small but slightly larger than some business hotel facilities I've stayed in in Tokyo. The rooms are very well insulated and perfect for the irregular sleep schedules of the jet-lagged.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claradog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

This hotel is perfectly located. We stayed first in Shinjuku, and then here, we should have done the other way around. All places in Tokyo are easily accessible with metro. This is the easiest area in Tokyo to get help, English is way ahead including the hotel. Here they speak English with a non Japanese accent, the staff is very helpful, maybe not as cheesy as in other places, but more professional. If you have question they look it up for you.

Western breakfast was good, best we had in Japan, croissants as good as in France. We will recommend this for any one of our friends going to Japan.

Negative, bed was extremely hard, and it took to time to get used to it and sleep well.

Plus:
++Location
++English
++Helpfulness
+Breakfast
+Free water
+Coin Loundry
-Room size
--Bed

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tiger751023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

This hotel is located in Akasaka, not so far from Tokyo Midtown and Roppongi, just 5 minutes from Aoyama Itchome Station. You can find food and snack easily around the hotel. The atmosphere is quiet and calm, the staff is friendly and the breakfast is good, I love the croissant .

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vibriyani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

Great location,very clean and the staff were excellent. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Normajean052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012 via mobile

I've stayed here numerous times over the last ten years and it is definitely the best low-cost hotel in Tokyo. I'll be staying again in a week and am looking forward to it. The rooms are clean, the staff friendly and always ready to rectify any mistakes (this is Japan after all). The central location is excellent. Rooms are small (this is Japan after all) but no worse than places I have stayed at in London at twice the price and half the service. Amenities are excellent.
In-house breakfast sets you up for the day or there is a Starbucks up the road.
My only advice would be to go for a semi-double room (if you're by yourself) in the newer part of the hotel and book early.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobson-doyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minato hotels
Akasaka / Roppongi
Hotel Grand Fresa Akasaka
Hotel Grand Fresa Akasaka
#15 of 107 in Minato
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Akasaka / Roppongi
Hotel Monterey Akasaka
Hotel Monterey Akasaka
#23 of 107 in Minato
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Akasaka / Roppongi
the b akasaka
the b akasaka
#42 of 107 in Minato
4.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Akasaka / Roppongi
Centurion Hotel Grand Akasaka
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Sotetsu Fresa Inn Hamamatsucho Daimon
Akasaka / Roppongi
the b roppongi
the b roppongi
#49 of 107 in Minato
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Asia Center of Japan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Asia Center of Japan

Property: Hotel Asia Center of Japan
Address: 8-10-32 Akasaka, Minato 107-0052 , Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Akasaka / Roppongi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Minato
#17 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#22 Family Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Asia Center of Japan 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Rakuten, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Asia Center of Japan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asia Center Of Japan Hotel
Hotel Asia Center Of Japan Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing