We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some good points and yet some dissappointing experiences”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Tokyo Odaiba
Ranked #14 of 117 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 6, 2012

So let's start on a positive note: fantastic lobby especially with great views at night. Decent sized rooms when you consider this is Japan and direct shuttle bus (payable) to the international airport. Also nice and stylish gardens as well as great views if you get the more expensive rooms (which we did). The views from these rooms won't dissappoint. The staff was generally nice and polite and also the concierge was helpful. Also no internet charge if you use it in their business centre.

And now the not so positive: this is supposed to be a 4.5* hotel. But you wouldn't know it from the breakfast which was somewhat basic and hardly any fruits (no bananas, no apples). I mean come on, when you pay so much to stay at this hotel, surely the breakfast should be up to the hotel's star standards. The breakfast was included in the price of the expensive bay view room but only included two breakfasts although we paid extra for this room so the kids can share it with us. The restaurants are VERY expensive and the one I had dined in (with an italian cuisine) had a service charge added automatically to the bill. A can of coke in this restaurant cost me nearly $10.

The room while clean had a stained carpet. The location is not that great if you want to go to downtown Tokyo. You need to take the train and change at least at one station.

Upon check out I had a lot of drama when I couldn't give back both keys. I mean come on, they were just your typical plastic cards (no actual metal key or anything) but no, I had to check everything until I found and returned both keys before I was allowed to check out. This was taking a bit of time as I couldn't locate one key but it made no difference, the receptionist was determined to get back both keys. This left a really bad impression on me and I was glad to finally check out of this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Appreci8life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,262)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

736 - 742 of 3,262 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2012

Stayed here for a week for a conference. Trip from Narita by Limousine bus was very easy (direct) and affordable. The facilities of the hotel are in very good shape - attention to detail from the staff was noticeable.

We had meal coupons so ate in different restaurants - Toronga (2 fl) was best for breakfast. Sakura (3rd floor) had good Japanese lunch. There is a Starbucks in the mall next door (opens at 9am :-(), and plenty of food choices if you want a change.

Room was larger than the norm in Tokyo - really quite comfortable.

Subway (Yurikamone line) is 50 m walk from hotel lobby - and runs often. It does get a tad pricey if you are going to go back and forth to Tokyo a lot - at 310 JPY each way.

One minor gripe - no English language TV channels.

Room Tip: All rooms face the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jamesanderson84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Great hotel, but out of Tokyo proper. There is a lack of restaurants in the area. It is very quiet, and if you've been at the station or shibuya, then it's a good place to recharge.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Mattnott118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed at Nikko hotel in June 2012. We stayed in Ocean view room category, but we could see rainbow bridge from our window just fine. They have japanese style bath and we loved it. Hotel provided everything and we loved the shampoo and face lotion they had. Pablic transportation was expensive as we had to take Yurikamome to the main part of Tokyo, we still enjoyed because Odaiba is the best part of Tokyo I believe. Go to Oedo Onsen which is 2 stops away from Daiba station. You will feel like you are in old tokyo.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yusimba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We moved from Shinjuku area after 4 nights of central stay. Odaiba is a very nice area and Nikko hotel is awesome. We stayed 3 nights in an Ocean view room, the size was 40m2 and everything about the room was positive.

Free Bay Shuttle around Odaiba (10 stops), and it operates from 11am to 8pm.

Good news if you are planning a trip to Disneyland/Sea. Nikko hotel is one of the "Good neighbor hotels" for Disney Theme Park, they provide complimentary shuttle to both Theme Parks (2 ways). Do make an advance reservation with the hotel reception.

We visited the Oedo Onsen Monogatari Hot Springs (a few monorail stops from Daiba) and it was a very good experience. The Onsen is opened from 11am to next day 9am. We paid around JPY 1500 (that was the price after 6pm) and spent 2 hours enjoying the hot springs. Go try it esp if you are staying at Nikko!

Overall, we were very pleased with this property and would love to go back there again!

Room Tip: Choose an Ocean view room, you will be amazed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cel_Singapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this lovely hotel in April for the Cherry Blossom season.

Rooms: We stayed in a Rainbow Ocean view room which was beautifully appointed with a separate sitting area and large bathroom with shower.

Dining: We did not eat in any restaurant except for Breakfast which is served in the Ocean Dining Room. The buffet had alot of options including western (cereals, meat, eggs, breads and pastries) and japanese (rice, fish, soup) as well as fruits and juices.

Spa: Excellent if purchased as part of the room deal. The hot tub is great at night with fantastic views of the city across the bay.

Service: Great. Most staff spoke a little English and the concierge directions were excellent.

Location/ Surroundings:The hotel is situated in Diaba which is a little out of the way, meaning you need to travel 15 minutes by Monorail to get to Shimbashi which is a interchange station for JR and Metro. The location itself would be nicer in summer as it is on the bay and as such was very cold. There is a large shopping centre within two minutes walk which is great for food however does not have much ambience. We were dissapointed we did not stay in central Tokyo (Shibuya, Shinjuku) as have a preference for a scene with alot of night life. This hotel would be very suitable for people travelling with children due to the size of the rooms and space outside to safely run around. There is another HUGE shopping centre due to open in May which has all the brand name stored-Uniglo, H&M, etc.

We were able to get the hotel limo bus very easily from the airport which drops you at the door and takes approximately 1 hour to get to the hotel.

Overall: Great hotel if you don't mind the travel.

Room Tip: Look for an extended stay saver to get breakfast and spa access included.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happy0nH0liday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

This is an all around great hotel. The service is good with plenty of friendly staff ready to assist. Rooms and bathrooms are spacious and beautifully decorated. The lobby is very impressive and great spot for wedding pictures as evidenced by the many newlyweds we saw. There are a number of restaurants on site offering a variety of different foods. We ate dinner at the Mediterranean restaurant and found it to be great. The view of the rainbow bridge and Tokyo sky line is a real treat. Be sure to have a night cap at the Veranda Bar and take in the view. The trade off for the view and spacious accomodations is that you're not in the city center, but getting to all the various sights is easy with the nearby train station. If you are a walker or runner, there are good paths from the hotel along the water so you can get your excerise in while enjoying the sea air and view. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Definitely request the rooms with a view. We are on the 5th floor, I suggest requesting a higher fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G0ldenState
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minato
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Grand Nikko Tokyo Daiba
Grand Nikko Tokyo Daiba
#11 of 117 in Minato
2,754 reviews
Shinjuku
Hilton Tokyo
Hilton Tokyo
#3 of 87 in Shinjuku
4,658 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
The Prince Park Tower Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinagawa / Gotanda
Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#7 of 117 in Minato
3,290 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Conrad Tokyo
Conrad Tokyo
#1 of 117 in Minato
3,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Tokyo Odaiba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Tokyo Odaiba

Address: 1-9-1 Daiba, Minato 135-0091, Tokyo Prefecture (Formerly Hotel Nikko Tokyo)
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Minato
#4 Business Hotel in Minato
#5 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#7 Spa Hotel in Minato
#14 Luxury Hotel in Minato
Price Range: $162 - $521 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hilton Tokyo Odaiba 4.5*
Number of rooms: 453
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the waterfront area of Tokyo Bay, Hilton Tokyo Odaiba enjoys spectacular 180-degree ocean views, with each guest room overlooking stunning views of Tokyo's skyline, Rainbow Bridge or Tokyo Tower from its private balcony. The hotel is also strategically situated only minutes away from a popular entertainment and shopping area as well as a key business and commercial district. With a wide selection of dining options and two levels of flexible meeting facilities, Hilton Tokyo Odaiba offers both business and leisure travelers a memorable stay like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Tokyo Odaiba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nikko Tokyo Hotel
Nikko Tokyo Minato
Hotel Nikko Tokyo
Hilton Tokyo Odaiba Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing