We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Wedding central!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Nikko Tokyo Daiba

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Nikko Tokyo Daiba
Ranked #8 of 106 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wedding central!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Stayed for one night to attend a western-japanese wedding.
First of all, transportation to the hotel is very very convenient, as it sits next to the Daiba overground station (this is a relatively new line and even just the ride is worth it!) - we thought of taking a taxi but in the end it was easier and cheaper to travel by tube.
Rooms are pretty average European style (later found out that we had a very large room by Tokyo standards), nicely equipped bathroom (both extremely clean). Very nice views of Tokyo bay.
We arrived at 11am and were able to check-in by paying a 5,000Y supplement.
It looks like this hotel has made a speciality of weddings, with chapels, waiting rooms, and reception rooms. It was all very nicely organized and timed with the usual impeccable japanese service.
We did not try any of the restaurants due to the short stay, but if the wedding reception is a measure of the French restaurant here, it must be very good (and we are French!!), absolutely fantastic creative, light dishes with a Japanese twist. Desserts were absolutely excellent.
The hotel is very very big with large halls and hallways, escalators, and feels a bit overwhelming and impersonal. In addition to wedding parties, it seemed quite full of families.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FamilleDiF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,162
    805
    137
    38
    17
See reviews for
785
562
145
285
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
94 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Situated right next to Fuji Television, in the middle of Daiba district in Tokyo.
As I was on business I took their special rate, checking in after 8PM and checking out before 8 AM restrictions.
This suited my schedule and was rewarded with a great double bed room with nice bathroom, large comfortable bed in a comfortable sized room.
However if I was a tourist I am not sure if I would have been so satisfied.
This is due to the fact the the Daiba district is a district in its own and quite far from central Tokyo.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank fortysomethingmale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
48 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Visited over 6 times through 2000 - 2005.

Hotel had changed its name from 2008. As its a former Meridien, its supposed to be one of the classical European taste hotel but if you compare its interior with the Meridien in London, you can see that its like a fake/cheaper version. The hotel is nothing similar compared to Westin Yebisu or Ritz Roppongi (two of the other european taste hotels).

I have visited few times, all of them on the higher floor and got a great view of Odaiba. I am not sure about the restaurants inside the hotel as I have only had dinner in Star Road on the 30th floor. It was supposed to be the special occasion dinner but I remember that I was quite disappointed with the food - but the view from this restaurant was amazing. The thing about this location is that you do not get a real good food in Odaiba so you do not have much choice than to eat inside the hotel.
Odaiba itself if not the romantic development area. It is targeted the kids/younger couples and families with kids. It is more of a huge amusement spot. However, if you do not want to stay in the central Tokyo and want to have a bay-front view, this could be the choice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erika-lux-miller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
47 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I will start by saying I did not stay at this hotel, but rather came specifically to see the rooms decked out in "Gundam style" (for the uninitiated, don't confuse this with "Gagnam style" - Gundams are giant mech robots from Japanese anime.

As I learned from the very helpful and attentive sales management staff, the hotel had quietly branded itself in Japan as a venue that specializes in designing limited-engagement “custom rooms” for clientele with a certain fan base. Designers and promoters of certain anime and other entertainment properties will contact the hotel to create these rooms, and will often lend props and other materials. The attention to detail is astonishing – from wall art to bedsheets, from coasters to the toilet-seat cover, absolutely every aspect of these rooms remain “in theme.” The two Gundam suites (each representing a different opposing faction from the anime series) include special edition models, decals on the windows that give the illusion that spacecraft are flying around outside, and even, in one case, a Gundam cockpit with flashing lights and noises. Such atmosphere is not cheap: you're talking $300US a night if not more. But if you are the consummate fan (and if you, unlike me, would not be terrified of somehow marring or wrecking these beautiful things), this place is a find. Like many things in Japan (and unlike the crass blaring advertisements of the rest of Odaiba), this is something kept very quiet...you just have "to know" it exists...and so now you do!

Again, my rating represents the artistry of the rooms, and the friendliness of the sales staff...I did not stay the night so I can comment on nothing else.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Skiold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
160 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

This is one of the nicest hotels that I have stayed at in the past year and that includes some Four Seasons and Ritz Carlton's. The view is absolutely incredible. I am on the 20th floor. Wifi in the spacious room. Beds are nice and soft. I have noticed that most of the hotels that I have stayed at in Japan the last 2 weeks have had some fairly hard beds.
There are malls galore with food courts just outside our front door. My teens could spend days there. Subway station just downstairs as well. Larger than average gift shop downstairs that is open 24 hours and the prices are shockingly reasonable. I always just assume that I am going to pay through the nose at hotel stores.
I would highly recommend this hotel and would happily book it again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank marc m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Awesome location within close proximity of 3 malls which offer plenty of shopping and dining options. Rooms are spacious and has a stunning view overlooking the bay. Hotel has all the amenities of a 5 star establishment including the Japanese special loos with heated seats, spray and deodorisers.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Warlock7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

This hotel is located conveniently near the business area at Daiba, right next to Daiba station. I come here to attend an exhibition and it appears to be a good choice except:
1. Hygiene - found 3 cockroaches crawling beside my bed over the 2 nights.
2. Staff could not understand my complaint about the bugs in English.

As a 5 star hotel aimed to serve international visitors, I believe the management can do better than this, especially the hygiene part. I was really surprised to find them in a hotel in Japan.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Safarimeow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minato
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Hilton Tokyo Odaiba
Hilton Tokyo Odaiba
#13 of 106 in Minato
4.5 of 5 stars 2,627 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 106 in Minato
4.5 of 5 stars 2,692 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Royal Park Hotel The Shiodome, Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
#8 of 69 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 stars 1,790 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
The Prince Park Tower Tokyo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Mitsui Garden Hotel Ginza Premier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Nikko Tokyo Daiba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Nikko Tokyo Daiba

Property: Grand Nikko Tokyo Daiba
Address: 2-6-1 Daiba, Minato 135-8701, Tokyo Prefecture (Formerly ホテル グランパシフィック LE DAIBA)
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#6 Family Hotel in Minato
#8 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#10 Business Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Nikko Tokyo Daiba 4*
Number of rooms: 884
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
European-style hotel in Odaiba district on Tokyo Bay, overlooking Rainbow Bridge, 6 km to central Tokyo, 5km to Imperial Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Rakuten, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Nikko Tokyo Daiba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Pacific Le Daiba Hotel Minato
Grand Pacific Le Daiba Minato
Le Meridien Tokyo
Grand Nikko Tokyo Daiba Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing