We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, Centrally Located”
Review of Park Hotel Tokyo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Park Hotel Tokyo
Ranked #6 of 109 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, Centrally Located”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed at The Park Hotel for 3 nights and found it a good choice for Tokyo. It is located above the Shiodome subway station, which was convenient. The bed was fine, nothing extraordinary. The room was a good size and comfortable. We had questions about local dining choices and attractions, and the concierge was very helpful. Overall, a good choice for location and value.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmadcreative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,043 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,662
    1,121
    198
    45
    17
See reviews for
522
1,445
216
392
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (519)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This hotel is actually accessible all the way via undercover passages from Shimbashi station if you're arriving in on the train. There's also Shiodome subway station or the monorail station directly underneath the hotel. The hotel is on the top half of the triangular shaped office block. The hotel is located in the office/business district of Shimbashi (a little bit away from the shops and nightlife) and hence noise wasn't an issue. The staff all spoke English and were very helpful and friendly. The concierge also spoke English and was very helpful as well. The front desk actually looks out towards Tokyo Tower. The rooms were average size according to Japanese standards. They were reasonably clean and comfortable. There are plenty of food outlet options nearby including McDonalds and Subway. In these shopping centres are also 7-11 and their equivalents. I would definitely stay here again on my next visit to Tokyo.

Room Tip: Request one facing Tokyo Tower if you'd like
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel a number of times over the years and it remains my first choice when visiting Tokyo. The views are wonderful and the hotel is within yards of the Shiodome train station so travel is easy and quick. If you have time to visit local tourist destinations then get down to the fish market early in the morning. It explains why fish is so good in Tokyo.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whishkyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in April 2013. Got a room with a view of Tokyo Tower and the train station. View is amazing and one of the reasons I booked. Hotel is also handy if you plan to visit the fish market as you can walk there. Beds were fine. Pillows were not so great. Bathroom great, apart from the cheap shower curtain. Room smelt stale/sweaty which was a bit annoying but not enough of a problem to complain about. Breakfast is mediocre and expensive. Definitely worst breakfast we had in our 2 week trip. We didn't eat at the hotel or drink in the bar as there are many other better options. Transport connections are good although it took a while to find the right exit from the subway which takes you to the hotel. The area itself is not very interesting and on a short trip to Tokyo I am not sure why anyone would want to explore it. Near to Caretta Shiodome which has more amazing views and a number of restaurants but in my opinion there are way more exciting places to eat. I think I would stay somewhere different if I returned to Tokyo. You can both hear and feel the trains below but this didn't keep me awake.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view of Tokyo Tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lord_Copper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
131 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

This was a change-up for me. Normally I stay at the Villa Fontaine Shiodome. It is more reasonably priced. Unfortunately, it was not available. So...

The rooms are the same size, but they are nicer at the Park Hotel. The lobby is nicer, too. I enjoyed my stay, but I cannot reconcile the cost difference. I will stay here again if necesary, but I will begrudgingly pay the price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LHEAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsChief, Guest Relations Manager at Park Hotel Tokyo, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you for your review of the hotel and your recent patronage.

There are four hotels in the Shiodome area and each have their different styles, and levels of service and luxury. The Villa Fontaine is a very good hotel for it's star level, just as we are for ours, and the five star Conrad is for it's. It all depends what kind of service and comfort level you require from your hotel. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future and especially in trying a persude you with our facilities and service that the Park Hotel Tokyo is worth the higher room rate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Level Contributor
83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

If you enjoy stained carpet, a moldy shower curtain, and a blue smoke filled lobby then go ahead and stay at the Park Hotel. If however, you desire fresh carpet, a clean bathroom, and a lobby in which you can actually breath then keep looking.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pricekarla1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

This was our second stay at the Park Hotel after previously staying here once in 2011 and at the Conrad across the road in 2010 and liking the general area.

The hotel itself is very comfortable for what it is. Comfortable bed and compact clean bathroom in the rooms. We stayed in two different rooms (with a sidetrip to Hakone in between).

The first room on the 32nd floor was facing the bay with a glimpse of the Hama Rikyu Gardens. The second room on the same floor, but on the opposite side of the building faced Ginza and overlooked Shimbashi station and train tracks. You can hear the faint sound of the trains from the room - noticeable for a light sleeper like myself but my wife comfortably slept through it. We also had very weak wifi signal in this room. It must be a known problem as within 5 minutes of us calling staff, they delivered a mini-router. Very handy if you have urgent work to do in your room.

Shiodome isn't the most lively of areas but you'll find all you need at the convenience store downstairs and food is plentiful closeby in the Caretta building next door.

Location:
Tsukiji Fish Market is a pleasant 10 minute walk away as is Shimbashi Station and the Ginza shopping district. You can even walk to Tokyo station / Marunouchi in about 35 minutes. Shiodome station is right under the hotel.

One con is the lack of a gym. Apparently they have a "Fitness Room" with 2 exercise machines that you need to book. The weather and traffic outside wasn't the most welcoming for an outdoor run so that was quite disappointing.

Another minor incident that happened was the staff revealing the surprise meal I had the concierge book for my wife's birthday. They gave a very handy print out of the restaurant details and map for us - but handed it to me right in front of my wife. Nothing major (it was funny, even), but you have a feeling a more prestigious hotel wouldn't make the same mistake.

In summary, I would definitely recommend the Park Hotel Tokyo. For the very reasonable rates you pay, you will experience a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimboJ0nes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsChief, Guest Relations Manager at Park Hotel Tokyo, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your detailed review of the hotel and it's facilities.

The Wi-Fi in the hotel is occasionally, due to the volumes of guests who log on at the same time, found to be a little slow. We have tried all manner of ways to correct this but still find it can be slow from time to time. To combat this we offer the service of the mini-routers. We would encourage any guests who find the internet connection to be a little slow to contact reception and a router will be provided free of charge.

Our gym facility is designed for those guests who would like to partake in light daily exercise. It is equipped with a weight machine, an exercise bike and a cross trainer. It is possible to get a good workout on all of these but may be less suitable for hardened gym goers who wish to build muscle.

I have spoken to the concierge about the incident with your surprise restaurant reservation and she has apologized profusely for not making it clear to the check-in staff that the reservation was a surprise. Please accept our apologies for this, we will make it clearer in the future so the same incident does not happen again. Thank you kindly for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minato
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Royal Park Hotel The Shiodome, Tokyo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Mitsui Garden Hotel Ginza Premier
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
#8 of 74 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
The Prince Park Tower Tokyo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Millennium Mitsui Garden Hotel Tokyo
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Conrad Tokyo
Conrad Tokyo
#1 of 109 in Minato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hotel Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel Tokyo

Property: Park Hotel Tokyo
Address: 1-7-1 Higashi Shinbashi | Shiodome Media Tower, Minato 105-7227, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#6 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#8 Family Hotel in Minato
#13 Business Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Hotel Tokyo 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Hotel Tokyo, opened in 2003, is located on the 25th floor and above in the Shiodome Media Tower. The 25th floor has the lobby and reception desk besides restaurants and the bar. The city's view can be enjoyed through the windows behind the reception desk. There are 270 guest rooms, located from the 26th to 34th floors. In 2013, Park Hotel Tokyo had put forth a new concept, "Infinite time and space amid cognizant Japanese beauty." In line with the concept, decorations of standard rooms on the 31st floor are in progress. Park Hotel Tokyo is planning to complete all guest room decorations on the 31st floor. To offer a memorable experience in various parts of your stay, Park Hotel Tokyo will continue to maximize the role of Japanese aesthetics and hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Fastbooking, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Rakuten, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Park Hotel Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Minato
Park Hotel Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing