We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view”
Review of Park Hotel Tokyo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Park Hotel Tokyo
Ranked #7 of 117 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We spent our last night in Japan at the Park Hotel for a last hurrah before flying back home. The room was beautiful, light and well laid out, with a window seat so that you can enjoy the view of Tokyo Tower, and if you're lucky, Mt Fuji. For the train enthusiast, you can look down and see the shinkansen running on the tracks below. If you are a very light sleeper, you may have a problem with the distant sound of the trains, but they didn't bother us in the slightest.

We didn't eat in the hotel as it was expensive, but there are several options nearby. The concierge gave us directions to a street full of izakaya next to Shimbashi station, which were quite complicated, so take the map offered. There are several cafes nearby for breakfast.

We found the staff to be very helpful, particularly the younger ones who all seemed to have completed their university education in New Zealand or Australia. We don't expect Japanese people to use anything but their own tongue, but English skills shown by the staff were exemplary.

NB: The Park Hotel is not a long walk from Shimbashi station. With luggage though, I would recommend arriving via Shiodome monorail, as the exit from the station goes straight past the entrance of the hotel, which is very easy. The neighbourhood was a little confusing to navigate at first.

Room Tip: It's worth spending a little extra money to guarantee one of the tower view rooms. The view was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miloqk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,246)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,613 - 1,619 of 3,246 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

i recently stayed for four nights at the Park Hotel. The reception is on the 25th floor and there is huge airy atrium where breakfast is held, and which is a bar at night. The restaurant is on the side with the views and there is a bar that overlooks the city. The rooms are of a decent size, with the normal amazing toilets and great views. There was not enough storage space for clothes - and not enough drawers to put stuff in really. but there was tea and really nice coffee in the room. A mini bar stocked with drinks, but no snacks or food.

The service was really great with a very helpful concierge, and polite, but not overly in your face waiters and bell boys. I was here for business and would certainly come here again. the only complaint is the fact that people were smoking in the bar - but that applies to every hotel so i cannot hold it against the Park! Oh and one more thing - there is no gym to speak of - just one room you have to book and pay 500 yen for.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Been here 2 times, first time in 2008 and the impression was just marvelous - fantastic building, nice service, international papers every morning in your room. In 2012 no more newspapers and staff is not that friendly as before but still overall impression of the hotel is very good. Sky view of the Tokyo (hotel occupies top part of the Shiodome tower), nice design and very convenient location - just couple of minutes from Yamanote JR line, couple of stops from Ginza shopping area. Breakfast was a bit overpriced but this is Tokyo after all and you always can buy something from 7-11 convenient store downstairs. Highly recommend this hotel. Good discounts for early bird reservations.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are more spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ajonins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in early January and loved the hotel. We made our reservations online and the hotel was quick to respond and ready to assist in anyway possible. When we arrived we were overwhelmed with the stunning view from the lobby - just beautiful. The room was clean, well equipped and had an amazing view of the Tokyo Tower. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The Assistant Manger went out of his way to give us directions, make dinner reservations and insure we knew where to go and how to get there!! The hotel's location is perfect - walking distance to the Pokemon store (we have 3 kids and THIS was important!), right next door to the train and directly on top of the metro. The price is so much more affordable than most other hotels of this caliber.

My only negative comment would be about the breakfast. While the food was very good and the staff attentive, the price is high. We found the dining in Tokyo to be fairly reasonable overall, and were disappointed at the price the hotel charged for a basic, buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SingSavs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Enjoyed this stay, hotel was in a great location for underground access, room was perfect and i had a fantastic view out towards Mount Fuji in the distance. Small issue with the room smelling of cigarette smoke, i moved rooms and the second one was a little better.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

I previously stayed in this hotel about one year ago. At the time, service, rooms and cleanliness were excellent. As such, on my next trip to Tokyo I decided to stay here again. However, this was certainly a mistake. We booked a premium room and upon entering, the smell of urine which had permeated from the bathroom hit our noses. We then asked to change rooms and were put in a new room. Although this room did not smell, the toilet seat had droplets of blood! It seems that the cleaners do not properly clean the rooms, and the bed covers are quite worn.

In terms of service, this hotel is a mixed bag. The younger staff all seem very polite and helpful. The front counter staff always seem happy to help and always greet you with a smile. However, older staff are less friendly and less inclined to help. E.g. I tried to book the airport limousine, and when I asked the staff at the desk about what time I should depart from the hotel, I was told that he did not know my flight departure time when I clearly showed him my departure itinerary and also showed him the time of my international departure flight. Perhaps this had to do with the language barrier, however his demeanor was that he did not seem like he wanted to help at all.

I did not have an enjoyable stay at this hotel this trip, and I do not feel inclined to try it again.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Chocmufn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

The hotel is very close to 2 of the nicest places in Tokyo: Ginza neighborhood and tsukiji fish market.
Besides that, there is a direct connection to the train and metro stations from the underground of the hotel building, which makes your life really easier.
The hotel starts in the 25th floor of a commercial building so all rooms are in the 26th+ floors and have nice views but the best ones are the ´corner rooms´, once the hotel has a triangular format.
Breakfast is ok, actually a little expensive for what it offers ( 25 US dolars) but you have many other alternatives in the same building, so this is not an issue at all.
Definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a ´corner rooms´ to get the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tichaguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minato
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Royal Park Hotel The Shiodome, Tokyo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Mitsui Garden Hotel Ginza Premier
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
The Prince Park Tower Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Hilton Tokyo
Hilton Tokyo
#4 of 83 in Shinjuku
4,533 reviews
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
#9 of 78 in Chiyoda
2,067 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Conrad Tokyo
Conrad Tokyo
#1 of 117 in Minato
3,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hotel Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel Tokyo

Address: 1-7-1 Higashi Shinbashi | Shiodome Media Tower, Minato 105-7227, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#7 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#8 Family Hotel in Minato
#13 Business Hotel in Minato
Price Range: $163 - $326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Hotel Tokyo 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Hotel Tokyo, opened in 2003, is located on the 25th floor and above in the Shiodome Media Tower. The 25th floor has the lobby and reception desk besides restaurants and the bar. The city's view can be enjoyed through the windows behind the reception desk. There are 270 guest rooms, located from the 26th to 34th floors. In 2013, Park Hotel Tokyo had put forth a new concept, "Infinite time and space amid cognizant Japanese beauty." In line with the concept, decorations of standard rooms on the 31st floor are in progress. Park Hotel Tokyo is planning to complete all guest room decorations on the 31st floor. To offer a memorable experience in various parts of your stay, Park Hotel Tokyo will continue to maximize the role of Japanese aesthetics and hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Rakuten, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Splitty, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Hotel Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Minato
Park Hotel Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing