We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location with Awesome Skyline View of Tokyo”
Review of Park Hotel Tokyo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Park Hotel Tokyo
Ranked #6 of 110 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Location with Awesome Skyline View of Tokyo”
Reviewed October 26, 2007

Park Hotel is in a great location of Ginza district . It is walking distance to the posh shopping district in Ginza, as well as the to the famous Fish market. It is also about 7 minute walk to the JR Shimbashi station on the Yamonote, which can get you to all of the tourist attractions in Tokyo. The hotel room is a quite roomy compared to the business hotels in Japan with awesome views of the city. The hotel also has a fantastic lobby with live jazz music. For the price that we paid (about $160/night) this hotel seems like the biggest bang for buck in Tokyo. I also recommend the restaurants on the first floor or basement for cheap lunches.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank toereesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,076 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,683
    1,133
    199
    44
    17
See reviews for
530
1,462
218
393
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (524)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2007

I just returned from a 3-night stay in Tokyo. I booked the Park Hotel based on all the other reviews on TripAdvisor and the hotel didn't disappoint. It is centrally located, within easy walking distance to Ginza, metro lines, Hama Rikyu, fishmarket. The hotel is gorgeous, brand new and has great views. The staff was excellent, very helpful. And you can't beat the price for Tokyo. I highly recommend it.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank chicklet_71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2007

We have just returned from a three night stay at this hotel - our first time to Tokyo and Japan. The hotel itself is really lovely, with the room (City Queen) an adequate size for the time that's spent there.

On reading earlier reviews we requested a room away from the many train lines, which was granted. The view was still awesome - of the bay and the Hamarikyu gardens (you must visit these gardens, easily accessible from the subway under the hotel (exit 7 or 8) and walk over the overpass. You can then get the ferry to Asakusa from the gardens. There's a great tea house and bridges within. Whilst we could still hear the hum of the trains from the two train lines below (31 floors below), it would probably have been unbearable on the other side of the hotel, where I think I counted 6 or 7 train lines - and they NEVER STOP! However, you would get THE best view of Tokyo Tower and at night that's pretty spectacular. (You can visit this Tower until 10pm nightly - a must see also) The size of the city is truly unimaginable until you get up there!

The jazz in the lounge in the evening was fantastic. Different every night or so.

As per earlier reviews, mostly we found the staff to be extremely efficient and friendly, only one did we find a little unfriendly, but not so much to notice.

We had the breakfast on the last morning, and at 22,000 YEN wasn't overpriced for the selection, but the food was uninspiring and cold. The other mornings we took an earlier reviewer's advice and went to Vie de France underneath the hotel in the subway. For directions: if you're heading out of the hotel to the trains, it will be on your right in the building next door.

My only complaint would be the directions on the hotel's website about finding the hotel. As the Limousine Bus from the aiport stopped it's route to this hotel ealier than our arrival, we got off at another stop and got a cab. The cabbie didn't know where the hotel was and I ended up finding it for him. The hotel has a great map for finding your way to the subway and JR lines, and back again, but you get that AT the hotel, not off the website. It would be soooo helpful to have it before so you could just get the Narita Express from the aiport. (We did this on our way home and I would get the train every time over that hideous Limousine Bus)! And, if you have a JR pass, and it's still valid, the train journey is free!

Hope this all helps! I could go on.....but won't....

Have a great trip to Tokyo!

  • Liked — The location, the jazz every night and the cocktails!
  • Disliked — The lack of directional information for first time guests.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GlobalDesigner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2007

This was my fourth stay at this hotel and I was not disappointed - something I have come to expect from the Park Hotel Tokyo. I had a "welcome back" on check in which was a nice touch.

As I was travelling alone on holiday I booked a single room via the hotel website for 5 nights. No problem with the booking and the rate was very competitive.

This single room is a little cosy but because of the decor and layout it did not feel restrictive. The room was spotless and well stocked with little comforts - great bathroom amenities, nice coffee in the bar area and free internet access. Some hotels tend to start showing their age after a few years of service but this was not evident at the Park Hotel. I stayed in the hotel in the year it opened and can say that the hotel looks just as good now as it did back in 2004. The staff are very well trained, exceptionally courteous and speak perfect English. They will go out of their way to assist or answer any questions.

The facilities around the hotel in Shiodome are very convenient. Shiodome is a major business district in Tokyo so the eating, drinking and transportation options are plentiful. To stock up on small drinks and snacks in the room there is an am/pm and Family Mart downstairs.

I would have no hesitation to stay here again - in fact on this occassion I didn't even bother looking for a different hotel to try. For me this hotel is my "old faithful" in Tokyo.

  • Liked — Minimal design, cleanliness, exceptional service
  • Disliked — Nothing I did not like
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank ausmithglenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
126 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2007

So everything you read is true - this hotel has an amazing, breathtaking view of the city. The lounge areas are gorgeous and very
relaxing, and the service is impeccable. The hotel concierge was very
helpful with maps and directions several times. When you book ahead online you can get a pretty good rate by Tokyo standards.

The location is actually quite good in my opinion. Since Tokyo has an intricate subway system, it is important to be in a location where
you have access to the different subway lines to where the touriust attractions are. This hotel fits the bill. It is all indoor walking to every key subway line as well, which is nice when it's raining. Just makes it nice if you take a subway from the airport, as it is only one change of trains.

The rooms were definitely small by any standard, and the appointments
are not what I would call "upscale". But it was clean and fine. Not many TV channel options, which was a bit lame. And includes high speed internet, which is great. Very happy with our stay overall.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank cj_minneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2007

An excellent hotel - new, super clean, superior sevice. The location is close to subway and JR stations thus it's not a problem to get anythere in Tokyo or suburbs. Ginza, fishmarket, Hama Rikyu gardens - all within 15min walking distance from the hotel.
Would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank 3m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2007

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel for 8 nights on our first trip out to Japan. Wow what a place! As many of the other reviews have said, the hotel is extremely clean, all the hotel employees are very polite, are so nice and most of them speak English well enough to communicate effectively. Any questions you might have, I highly suggest that you ask front desk / concierge. They will go out of their way to help you out.

Some things that I want to mention that other reviews have not … there are many other “Shiodome” complexes, within walking distance, that have great, reasonable places to eat. My favorite is “Pedi Shiodome”, which is just a short stroll thru the Yurikamome (3rd floor) pedestrian walkways. We tried many restaurants here including Ginzo Sushi and Excelsior Caffe (for my Western caffeine fix).

The Oedo Subway Line (pink line) is what we took most. This line goes in a circle throughout Tokyo and connects to all the other major lines. The subway system is very efficient but requires a lot of walking (which I am surprised that everyone failed to mention). Be careful and double check that the subway line and the pay station match since each line requires their own tickets which are non transferable.

This hotel overall is an excellent choice and I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend it to anyone staying in Tokyo. Enjoy!

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank michee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minato
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Royal Park Hotel The Shiodome, Tokyo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Mitsui Garden Hotel Ginza Premier
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
The Prince Park Tower Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
#9 of 74 in Chiyoda
1,983 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Conrad Tokyo
Conrad Tokyo
#1 of 110 in Minato
2,872 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hotel Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel Tokyo

Property: Park Hotel Tokyo
Address: 1-7-1 Higashi Shinbashi | Shiodome Media Tower, Minato 105-7227, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#6 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#8 Family Hotel in Minato
#13 Business Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Hotel Tokyo 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Hotel Tokyo, opened in 2003, is located on the 25th floor and above in the Shiodome Media Tower. The 25th floor has the lobby and reception desk besides restaurants and the bar. The city's view can be enjoyed through the windows behind the reception desk. There are 270 guest rooms, located from the 26th to 34th floors. In 2013, Park Hotel Tokyo had put forth a new concept, "Infinite time and space amid cognizant Japanese beauty." In line with the concept, decorations of standard rooms on the 31st floor are in progress. Park Hotel Tokyo is planning to complete all guest room decorations on the 31st floor. To offer a memorable experience in various parts of your stay, Park Hotel Tokyo will continue to maximize the role of Japanese aesthetics and hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Rakuten, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, Priceline, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Park Hotel Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Minato
Park Hotel Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing