We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,679)
Filter reviews
1,680 results
Traveler rating
900
579
135
34
32
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
900
579
135
34
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssouth wingmain buildingorchid barmid centuryembassy areaclassic hoteljames bondjapanese servicehealth clubhibiya lineimpeccable servicerooms are spaciousbusiness centerjapanese stylequiet areahotel guestsan excellent hotel
Filter
Updating list...
699 - 704 of 1,680 reviews
Reviewed June 22, 2007

If you are looking for spacious rooms in Tokyo, look not further. This hotel is massive with Main and South Wing. However, it is not worth what you pay. They sometimes have discounted rates on their site if you stay more than 3 nights so worth checking their website first. Also for 2 people, you will need to pay extra fee.

Room is large, clean and bright. Quite hard to locate the safe but it's in the bedside table drawer. Hotel is very pleasant. Service is great but this is what you would expect in all top class hotels in Tokyo.

Facilities are all there from Shiseido facial products to 4 pairs of slippers in room (2 leather and 2 material). You also get a bathrobe as well as a kumono style dressing gown.

Good place to visit - Midtown Roppongi. New area with nice classy bars unlike the rest of Roppongi

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ftse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2007

Ok - so there is 70's retro and then there is The Okura. They seriously haven't done anything since the 70's to this hotel and people thing that is fabulous and call it retro. This is by no way a 5 star hotel. Stayed in the South Wing, apparently the main wing has been renovated and is much better.

It is so incredibly expensive and the staff are absolutely useless. I travel to Tokyo approximately 3 - 4 times a year for work and unfortunately have to stay in this hotel for its location and the fact that it is corporate preferred. Believe me......if I had a choice I wouldn't.

Don't get me wrong - the rooms are ok and everything works....but you pay for anything extra (including your partner if they stay in the room with you!!... that's right.... if you don't mention there is two of you staying in the room when you book they flip out at reception and then add a premium to the room).

An average hotel at a 5 star price. Unless you get a very good deal - I would seriously suggest against the Okura.

Also, don't bother completing a comments / feedback card.... because they don't respond. I'm still waiting for feedback.

Absolutely useless !!!!

Stayed: September 2006
5  Thank SydneysidersSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2007

The rooms were a good size. The housekeeping staff was great. Front desk was very helpful with everything. Short walk to subway station and to Roppongi Street ad Hills. I enjoyed my stay here. Internet was around 1,500 yen a day.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank setcarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2007

In February, I stayed 6 nights in the Main Building of Hotel Okura during a business trip, and everything was perfect.

The room amenities were average to above average for this hotel class. The room size and bathroom size were pretty good for a Japanese hotel. The bed was comfortable, although not as nice as the new beds/pillows that the international chains have been rolling out over the last few years. Also, the ironing board was tiny, but the Okura provided free cleaning/pressing of one shirt for each night I stayed.

Although the lobby and exterior had a decidedly 1960s-1970s look, the hotel was meticulously clean. In addition, the guest rooms (at least in the Main Building) look like they have been remodeled/
renovated.

Service was top notch. The staff was quick and friendly when I had questions but otherwise unobtrusive. No wonder the Prime Minister dined there during my stay.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank govt_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2007

I have stayed four times now in the Hotel Okura for business. It is conveninet for both my office and my clients. I have been booked in the South WIng all four times.

AIRPORT: From Narita take the Airport Limo Shuttle Bus. 1.5 Hr trip and you will be dropped off right at Okura's door. Cost 3,000 Yen (approx $25 USD). Buses are scheduled and are on time so make sure you are not even a minute late as it will be gone and you will need to wait for the next one. Taxis are too expensive unless you have money to burn. You can take the train as well into the main Tokyo station and then a taxi to the hotel - no escalators or elevators in the train station though so could be a problem if you have lots of luggage.

STAFF: very attentive and will go out of their way to assist you. They have been very helpful with accomodating my vegan diet (strict vegetarian).

ROOM: See pics. Very clean. NO In room safe. Good size for Tokyo and compared to some European hotels - 30 sq m. Furniture in good shape. Room darkening drapes that overlap so you don't get that annoying beam of light from the center of the curtains. Marble bath - good selection of free toiletries available. Weight scale, hair dryer, bathrobes, full bath and shower, marble floor, toilet with bidet combined. For those first timers - many Tokyo toilets make "sounds" - music or running water when you sit down to mask the sound of your own body noises which can be considered embarassing here.

BUSINESS NEEDS. In room fax machine. Internet is 1575 Yen per 24 hours (approx $15 USD). TIP: When giving out your business card, present it with both hands, lettering facing the other person.

DECOR: General decor for lobbies is 70s style. Some people love it or hate it depending on your taste. Personally I'm ambivilent.

TV: A few Enlgish stations (BBC CNN, National Geographic, French Channel, German Channel). All programs on these may be in English or dubbed over in Japanese. No sitcoms or free movies in English. You can pay for English movies - about 15 to choose from.

Alarm clock, radio at bedside.

Hotel has South Wing and Main Wing. Bars / Lounges in each section as well as various restaurants. The Cameillia in the South Building has a full breakfast buffet for 3,000 Yen - both Western and Japanese food or you can order off the menu.

PHONES: Most western cell phones will not work over here as they are on a different system. You can rent one directly at the Narita airport in either Terminal 1 or Terminal 2. Approx 500 Yen per day rental plus insurance 250 Yen per day plus phone call costs which vary depending on the plan you choose.

HEALTH CLUB: They have a decent health club with mutiple treadmills, bicycles and eliptical (sign up for a slot between 6am and 8pm since it is very busy). Multiple weight machines, free wieghts, incl squat rack, ample room and mats for stretching. Also have an indoor pool which I have never used. TIP: Join the Okura Club as it will give you free access to the health club otherwise you have to pay a daily fee for it. Free to join the club and you also accumulate reward points.

TIPPING: No tipping over here at all - not the bellboy, not the wait staff, not coat checks etc etc. This includes both inside and outside the hotel. Like in some places in Europe the Hotel adds a 10% surcharge to the hotel bill to cover this. If you tip a person they will accept it as it would be rude to point out a visitor has made a mistake. Good manners always means making your guest / visitors comfortable.

ATTRACTIONS - walking distance to Tokyo Tower, Close to Ginza (Kabuki Theater), Roppongi (nightlife).

TOURS: Can book various tours at the hotel and charge to your room. Tokyo City Tours (full or half day), Kamakura Walking Tour, Mt Fuji, Nikko, Kyoto, Osaka etc.

ATMS: Available in the hotel.

SHOPPING: Shopping concourse level between the South and Main Building

MUSEUM: They have their own museum outside the Main Building. There is a fee to go inside. Some of the statues on the outside are really nice.

GROCERY: AM/PM nearby as well as full grocery store, post office down the hill outside the south building.

SUBWAY: near the Hibiya / Grey line - station H5 - which goes tot either Ginza or Roppongi. Very clean and safe. Check out the Asakusa Kannon Temple and Nakamise Shopping Arcade (great for souvenirs) at the last stop on the Ginza line.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
12  Thank NYC-Canuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews