We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“pure excellence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Okura Tokyo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Okura Tokyo
Ranked #11 of 106 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
Terzo d'Aquileia, Italy
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“pure excellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

this is one of the best hotel of my life. there is just one world to describe this place: excellence at all the levels. the check in, the room, the chinese restaurant (Amazing, outstanding), the public areas are simply an extraordinary experience. It is located in the embassy area of Tokyo. Don't miss it

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manwholivedinhotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    670
    482
    119
    31
    27
See reviews for
305
252
161
458
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We stayed on the South Wing of the hotel. It's spacious and extremely quiet, the room is reasonably big, so you should be able to have a good sleep at night. It's also quite accessible to the Roppongi Ichome subway station, just a 10-min walk. The hotel has free wifi and ethernet access.

But the hotel is really a bit old and facilities are not especially numerous. IMHO, it's not worth the price it's charging. Also even though it's not far from the subway station, Roppongi Ichome is not close to most tourist sites, you even have to take the subway train to Roppongi Hills or Tokyo Midtown.

So all in all, unless you're staying in Tokyo for a business trip near Roppongi, I'd not recommend this hotel to you.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for the North Wing, not the South Wing, though it's a bit more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colintclai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

First hotel in my entire life where you have to pay extra for the hotel facilities such as pool, gym and sauna. I stayed in many 4-5 star hotels in my life and I never had to pay extra for the hotel facilities. Also you can not early check out the night before. The most ridiculous regulation in this hotel is the airport shuttle bus. So when you book and paid for your seat in the bus, someone can kick you from the bus just because their have an earlier flight as you. For example: My flight is at 2 PM tomorrow and I booked and paid today already, someone with a flight at 1 PM can book tomorrow (let's say 10min before the bus leaves) and kick me out of the bus. That doesn't make any sense. Also the tickets or non-refundable if you get kicked out. I feel like this is a stupid game or something. I'm sure there are many other hotels in Tokyo for that price with better facilities and better service.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

My wife and I visited Tokyo last week mainly for relaxation and stayed for the first time at Hotel Okura Tokyo which is located in a secluded area, away from Ginza. The service of the hotel was exemplary. We greatly enjoyed the Spa there and savored the Japanese and Chinese cuisines served in different restaurants in the hotel. It suited our purpose perfectly.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

I spent a week at the Okura on business and simply loved it. It is exactly where you would have expected Don Draper to stay had he visited Tokyo in early Mad Men; it's style is a timeless fusion of east and west around the 1960s, with grand public areas, the sorts of hotel shops that you might expect (bonsai trees and cigars in the main building) and intimate hotel bars where you can smoke said cigars over a martini (there are no-smoking areas too). My room was large and well appointed (if slightly retro in places).

The only downside is some facilities - astonishingly for me, including the gym - are charged, and charged at a very high rate, and the restaurants are also very expensive. But there are plenty of cheaper places to eat nearby (including the Tokyo Nobu just across the road).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John_Dickie_LDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
119 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Just spent 3 wonderful nights at Okura Hotel, and I couldn't have asked for more. It is an old but probably one of the most prestigious hotels in Tokyo, I was told President Obama stayed there recently. The location is in a very quiet area mostly surrounded by various embassies including the American which is smack opposite it. There are 2 subway stations about 5 min walk away. The staff is fantastic, but I experienced one of the best concierge services ever. The bar is lively, and the restaurants are very popular even with residents of Tokyo. I will surely come back here when ever I return to Tokyo.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naresh1410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Im more a function over form kinda traveller but I have to say this place has a very pleasant "feeling" about it. The staff are kind, friendly and helpful as they to can be, at least to the depth of their individual abilities. I would stay here again and enjoyed my time there. Be advised though, do a calculation of your home currency to the JPY before you order or you might find a shock on your statements.

The rooms are tidy, clean, and functional. The windowed shower was a treat for the pigeons Im sure but for the more modest bird watcher the blinds do close. The shower heads on the wall were awesome for a bad back after a long work day.

All in all it was a very enjoyable stay and if your a novice Scotch Connoisseur, grab a cigar a good cigar and head across the street (The other side of the OKura) and check out the Highland Bar.

Room Tip: Not sure but my rooms were nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobH2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minato
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 106 in Minato
4.5 of 5 stars 2,596 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
#5 of 69 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 stars 1,620 reviews
Akasaka / Roppongi
Hotel New Otani Tokyo The Main
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Royal Park Hotel The Shiodome, Tokyo
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
The Prince Park Tower Tokyo
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Ana Intercontinental Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Okura Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Tokyo

Property: Hotel Okura Tokyo
Address: 2-10-4 Toranomon, Minato 105-0001, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Minato
#8 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#9 Family Hotel in Minato
#11 Luxury Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Okura Tokyo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Japanese traditional design is carefully preserved, guest rooms ranging from standard to suites are available, providing an array of room choices each offering true relaxation. It is our hope that guests, greeted upon arrival in the room by a traditional folded paper crane, will enjoy a comfortable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Okura Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Tokyo Hotel
Okura Tokyo Minato
Hotel Okura Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing