We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“60-70s quiet Japanese style hotel, decent location, excellent service, outdated but well maintained rooms, good food and decent ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Okura Tokyo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Okura Tokyo
Ranked #11 of 105 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“60-70s quiet Japanese style hotel, decent location, excellent service, outdated but well maintained rooms, good food and decent ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

The good: a distinctly more "Japanese" hotel with excellent service that will take you back to the 70s. The staff is generally very friendly and will go out of their way to help. English is a bit of an issue, except with the concierge who was helpful , well informed and fluent in english.
The less good: The location is ok but a bit of a walk to the Tokyo metro. The rooms are definitely outdated but well maintained. Lighting is a bit of an issue because of having to walk to the entrance to turn off the light before sleeping. Some might find the decor a bit too old fashioned or plain but that's a matter of taste.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Markustemasek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    669
    481
    119
    31
    27
See reviews for
305
252
160
458
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I really like this place. I took the lomousine bus from Narita and at the time they could only drop me at the Ana nearby. The reception allowed me an early(ish) check in but they wanted to charge me half day for that until I showed them an email I got from them stating they would give me a room for free if there were any available. That annoyed me a little bit but once they saw the email, they honoured it (as there was obviously availability since they offered me the option to pay for it). Other than that, I'd say everything else was impeccable. I had a very large, lovely, room, spotless and very pleasant. I thought the location was really good, with four subway stations very close by and a couple more within decent walking distance. The hotel surroundings were very pleasant also, with plenty of options to eat. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sissi2702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful stay, comfortable room. The hotel itself feels a little dated. Lobby and halls could use some updating. Fitness center opens at 6am and was about a 10-15 minute walk from my room. Staff was very kind and accommodating.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank czbrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Japan
Level Contributor
161 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

The Okura, like the New Otani, is a very Japanese hotel, in the best sense. The style dates back to the 1960s (although the small suite I had featured a brilliant redecoration scheme and very clever use of actually quite limited space) and the tone of the hotel is one of understated elegance. It is expensive, but what else would it be as one of the best hotels in one of the world's most expensive cities? That said, beyond the room rates other charges (breakfast, meals etc.) can be impoverishing. Would I go back? Like a flash: in Japan, I want to experience the best of the country rather than a santized Western hotel chain or one of the truly dispiriting business hotels that dot the landscape. The only real competition would be a high-end ryokan, and they can be even more expensive.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frequenttraveller076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
635 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

This hotel is old school. Built in the 1960s, the Okura embodies grace and class. It exudes an era that is sometimes missed by the casual observer. When one enters the hotel...one enters an environment that still exists today in pockets of Tokyo's city sprawl....quietly. My husband and I stayed here for 2 weeks. He is a regular customer and is treated as such. The rooms are comfortable and clean; they are not too small....but not large by western standards. We stayed in the main building and overlooked the gardens. The Orchid Bar is my husband's favorite for smoking cigars in the late evening. For those who may wish to imbibe.. the drinks are well poured.
One's experience here is highlighted by incredible customer service. I gave it 4 stars keeping in mind that there were other options available in Tokyo that offered space, contemporary amenities and undeniable youth. But, for those not in need of flash.....the Okura is a distinguished and comfortable old girl.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reasonable50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

The reviews are glowing so we thought we were onto a winner, spending our last night after a week in Japan at the "luxury" Okura. The staff have old-school customer service and it was refreshing to be able to converse with everyone, as their English language skills were so good. But that is where it ended.

The rooms (South Wing) were average, with hideous old decor. Not old-style, not retro-chic, just old, beige and tired. Having become accustomed to incredible toilet facilities in much more affordable accommodation, a loo without a seat warmer, only two bottom-cleaning options, no fan extractor, and without an auto flush was disappointing, and the bathroom overall was ancient and naff. We were given twin beds instead of a double, and to turn out the lights, you had to walk all the way back to the door and then find your way back to bed in the dark.

Others have highlighted the exorbitant (and quite frankly rude) additional costs of using any other facilities in the hotel, you need a second mortgage for breakfast and the location is slap bang in the middle of a load of embassies so you are surrounded by working Westerners which is ok if you're a working Westerner, but less inspiring as a touring one.

There are soooo many better options in less soulless establishments, with much more bang for your buck. Seriously, we couldn't understand what any of the fuss was about and wished we'd stayed put where we were.

Room Tip: Only book here if you don't mind paying over the odds to go back in time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 8 nights during a business/holiday with my boyfriend. It is clearly an old hotel, but it is well run and not shabby. The service was top notch and everyone spoke English. The only negative is that you cannot wear your robes outside your room to head to the pool. Our room did not smell of smoke and I'm quite sensitive to this, so if yours smells, ask for another one.

The gym/pool are very good facilities, but they cost extra (a lot if you are there for a week) unless you join the loyalty program (free). The pool is quite large (20m) so my boyfriend was very happy. The gym has trainers to keep you motivated for an extra fee. This service seemed to be mostly used by elderly guests keeping mobile. I was impressed at the range of some of the older gentlemen I saw there.

It is a big hotel with two wings. Nobu is right next door, which turned out to be convenient.

The wi-fi is free and fast. We had no view, but the rooms were big and comfortable with the right amount of closet space for two people. The bed was very comfortable.

We paid 26,000 yen/night during the week and 28-30,000 yen on the weekends.

There are not a lot of great local eateries like in Shibuya, but there are two subway lines (N and H) within easy walking distance. We found it perfectly situated to get to Roppongi, Tokyo Central, Akihabara, Tsukiji, Shibuya. We never made it to the museum across the street since it always seemed to be closed.

I highly recommend this hotel for business or pleasure.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank feintravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minato
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 105 in Minato
4.5 of 5 stars 2,588 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
#5 of 69 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 stars 1,616 reviews
Akasaka / Roppongi
Hotel New Otani Tokyo The Main
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Royal Park Hotel The Shiodome, Tokyo
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
The Prince Park Tower Tokyo
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Ana Intercontinental Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Okura Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Tokyo

Property: Hotel Okura Tokyo
Address: 2-10-4 Toranomon, Minato 105-0001, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Minato
#8 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#9 Family Hotel in Minato
#11 Luxury Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Okura Tokyo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Japanese traditional design is carefully preserved, guest rooms ranging from standard to suites are available, providing an array of room choices each offering true relaxation. It is our hope that guests, greeted upon arrival in the room by a traditional folded paper crane, will enjoy a comfortable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Okura Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Tokyo Hotel
Okura Tokyo Minato
Hotel Okura Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing