We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, but feels dated”
Review of Hotel Okura Tokyo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Okura Tokyo
Ranked #9 of 109 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, but feels dated”
Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful stay, comfortable room. The hotel itself feels a little dated. Lobby and halls could use some updating. Fitness center opens at 6am and was about a 10-15 minute walk from my room. Staff was very kind and accommodating.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank czbrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    765
    531
    127
    33
    28
See reviews for
338
276
178
521
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Japan
Level Contributor
173 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

The Okura, like the New Otani, is a very Japanese hotel, in the best sense. The style dates back to the 1960s (although the small suite I had featured a brilliant redecoration scheme and very clever use of actually quite limited space) and the tone of the hotel is one of understated elegance. It is expensive, but what else would it be as one of the best hotels in one of the world's most expensive cities? That said, beyond the room rates other charges (breakfast, meals etc.) can be impoverishing. Would I go back? Like a flash: in Japan, I want to experience the best of the country rather than a santized Western hotel chain or one of the truly dispiriting business hotels that dot the landscape. The only real competition would be a high-end ryokan, and they can be even more expensive.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frequenttraveller076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
858 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 329 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

This hotel is old school. Built in the 1960s, the Okura embodies grace and class. It exudes an era that is sometimes missed by the casual observer. When one enters the hotel...one enters an environment that still exists today in pockets of Tokyo's city sprawl....quietly. My husband and I stayed here for 2 weeks. He is a regular customer and is treated as such. The rooms are comfortable and clean; they are not too small....but not large by western standards. We stayed in the main building and overlooked the gardens. The Orchid Bar is my husband's favorite for smoking cigars in the late evening. For those who may wish to imbibe.. the drinks are well poured.
One's experience here is highlighted by incredible customer service. I gave it 4 stars keeping in mind that there were other options available in Tokyo that offered space, contemporary amenities and undeniable youth. But, for those not in need of flash.....the Okura is a distinguished and comfortable old girl.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reasonable50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

The reviews are glowing so we thought we were onto a winner, spending our last night after a week in Japan at the "luxury" Okura. The staff have old-school customer service and it was refreshing to be able to converse with everyone, as their English language skills were so good. But that is where it ended.

The rooms (South Wing) were average, with hideous old decor. Not old-style, not retro-chic, just old, beige and tired. Having become accustomed to incredible toilet facilities in much more affordable accommodation, a loo without a seat warmer, only two bottom-cleaning options, no fan extractor, and without an auto flush was disappointing, and the bathroom overall was ancient and naff. We were given twin beds instead of a double, and to turn out the lights, you had to walk all the way back to the door and then find your way back to bed in the dark.

Others have highlighted the exorbitant (and quite frankly rude) additional costs of using any other facilities in the hotel, you need a second mortgage for breakfast and the location is slap bang in the middle of a load of embassies so you are surrounded by working Westerners which is ok if you're a working Westerner, but less inspiring as a touring one.

There are soooo many better options in less soulless establishments, with much more bang for your buck. Seriously, we couldn't understand what any of the fuss was about and wished we'd stayed put where we were.

Room Tip: Only book here if you don't mind paying over the odds to go back in time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 8 nights during a business/holiday with my boyfriend. It is clearly an old hotel, but it is well run and not shabby. The service was top notch and everyone spoke English. The only negative is that you cannot wear your robes outside your room to head to the pool. Our room did not smell of smoke and I'm quite sensitive to this, so if yours smells, ask for another one.

The gym/pool are very good facilities, but they cost extra (a lot if you are there for a week) unless you join the loyalty program (free). The pool is quite large (20m) so my boyfriend was very happy. The gym has trainers to keep you motivated for an extra fee. This service seemed to be mostly used by elderly guests keeping mobile. I was impressed at the range of some of the older gentlemen I saw there.

It is a big hotel with two wings. Nobu is right next door, which turned out to be convenient.

The wi-fi is free and fast. We had no view, but the rooms were big and comfortable with the right amount of closet space for two people. The bed was very comfortable.

We paid 26,000 yen/night during the week and 28-30,000 yen on the weekends.

There are not a lot of great local eateries like in Shibuya, but there are two subway lines (N and H) within easy walking distance. We found it perfectly situated to get to Roppongi, Tokyo Central, Akihabara, Tsukiji, Shibuya. We never made it to the museum across the street since it always seemed to be closed.

I highly recommend this hotel for business or pleasure.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank feintravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We booked Hotel Okura for three nights as part of our recent Japan trip. The day before we flew, I decided to book an early check in, which the hotel was able to organize without any problems. They were quick and efficient and that was a theme throughout our stay.

Our room was in the main part of the hotel, so finding our way around wasn't a problem. The room was well equipped and our only complaint that was despite the room being a decent size, the bed was right up against the wall - it didn't really make a lot of sense to us!

Although we had planned to get the train service from the Airport into Tokyo, the Airport Limousine (bus service) was actually very easy and took the same amount of time. The added benefit was that we were dropped at the door of the Okura instead of having to get a taxi from Tokyo station. Should you need to get a taxi, it only costs about 1,200 Yen from the station to the hotel but the bus does save a lot of hassle.

We would definitely stay at Hotel Okura again, or any of the hotels in their chain.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HKGem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Okura which is a very nice stylish older hotel that has been maintained to a very high standard. The rooms are a reasonable size and nicely finished. Located in the Akasaka area, across the street from the US Embassy the hotel patrons must be mostly business because the B'fast buffet was about $40. The immediate area is quiet with few restaurants or retail stores so one option is to walk to the nearby Roppongi area (15 minutes) where there are lots of restaurants. If you like Shabu - Shabu I'd highly recommend the Shabu Zen. Getting from Narita Airport to the Okura is very slick .. take the Airport Limousine bus. The ticket office is just outside the Customs exit and the bus which picks you up outside Terminal 1 and drops you at the hotel for 3000 Yen. This is way better than the train which takes you to Tokyo Station then you need to take a cab or another train and a walk.

Tokyo is a large and somewhat intimidating city and we were led to believe that English was at a premium. We were very happy to find that all forms of public transport repeated everything in English and electronic subway ticket stations have a button that provides an English screen. Equally in the restaurants etc the staff generally had enough English and often English menus so quite frankly we didn't have too many language issues.

The major sites in Tokyo are so spread-out so you're going to have to commute and hotel location isn't a big issue albeit the Okura is pretty central to The Imperial Palace, Ginza, Tsukiji Fish Market and the Meiji Shrine/Harijuku area. If you want to see the Sensoji Temple a good itinerary is to take the Sumida River water bus (open at 10 AM) from inside Hama-Rikyu Gardens (15 minute walk from the Fish Market) and travel to Asakusa (old Tokyo). The trip takes about 1 hour and the ferry drops you off about 10 minutes walk from the temple. Walk to the temple via the Kaminarimon Nakasise-Dori Arcade.

Room Tip: We stayed in the old wing .. the rooms were nice .. but our friends stayed in the new wing and thoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DWBCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minato
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 109 in Minato
3,075 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
The Prince Park Tower Tokyo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
#5 of 74 in Chiyoda
1,967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Conrad Tokyo
Conrad Tokyo
#1 of 109 in Minato
2,871 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Royal Park Hotel The Shiodome, Tokyo
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Ana Intercontinental Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Okura Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Tokyo

Property: Hotel Okura Tokyo
Address: 2-10-4 Toranomon, Minato 105-0001, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Minato
#8 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#9 Family Hotel in Minato
#9 Luxury Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Okura Tokyo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Japanese traditional design is carefully preserved, guest rooms ranging from standard to suites are available, providing an array of room choices each offering true relaxation. It is our hope that guests, greeted upon arrival in the room by a traditional folded paper crane, will enjoy a comfortable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, Agoda, Rakuten, Hotwire, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Okura Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Tokyo Hotel
Okura Tokyo Minato
Hotel Okura Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing