We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good service even if rooms a little tired”
Review of Hotel Okura Tokyo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Okura Tokyo
Ranked #8 of 112 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 1, 2013

This may not be one of the new hotels and the rooms certainly show that but everything is very very clean, the level of service is of the highest quality and even though it is a little bit of a maze it works very well. The sushi restaurant is wonderful if not cheap, the hotel bar is friendly and fun for a solo traveller through to a large crowd and the hotel is well positioned in the financial district. Great value for money all round.

Room Tip: try and stay in the main building and on the higher floors away from the announcements in the car pa...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JSMLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,527)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Okura Tokyo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

500 - 506 of 1,527 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2013

I first stayed in the Okura in 1982 and promised myself a return visit one day. I have been to Japan many times since 1982 and took my wife there in March 2013. It is virtually unchanged. Service is very good, not perfect. We ended up lugging six cases to the Limousine bus pick-up point. I anticipated staff rushing to help from the lift to the entrance door. Didn't happen? It isn't a Western hotel, nor is it anywhere near a Ryokan. It is 1960s Japanese, esp. in its decor. Nicely understated, pastel, flowers everywhere. It certainly isn't black and chrome. Kimono clad women greet you in and out of the lift on the lobby floor(s). I booked a Grand Comfort double room in the main building. It was nicely furnished and had a good modern bathroom. The carpet though not all dirty was showing signs of slight ageing. i.e. marked by previous guest(s). The highlight for me was the breakfast and this is where the Okura scores. Instead of the normal fare of views across modern Tokyo sky-scape, here you breakfast and look across a beautiful garden with water features incl. full sized beautifully marked Carp swimming leisurely. On a nice day, if you are fortunate to get one, you can sit at the small number of outside tables in the garden. Marvellous. This was the highlight for me.
The Okura is opposite the US and near the Spanish Embassies and is in a quiet area of Tokyo. It certainly isn't bustling etc. The subway system access is a 5 min walk. The Okura is traditional. So, it appeared, were many of the guests.

Room Tip: The hotel has a Main Building and a South Wing seemingly across the road. They are however connected...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AustinAlford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I've been to Tokyo many times and was unlucky enough to experience this hotel. For the price I would not recommend staying here. You can see that it was probably something special in the 70's the problem is they never left the 70's. Everything here is perfectly preserved as if you stepped out of your car into the past. Clean and well kept but extremely vintage, kind of like being in a strange movie. Some of the staff are friendly and helpful some are cold and could care less. My room is HOT and was told there is heat but no AC. The only way to cool off my room is to have the windows unlocked by the staff so they could be opened and to leave them open...this makes trying to sleep on the severely hard bed even more of a challenge.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clyvus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I was booked for 1 night at the Okura and booked at the Grand hyatt for the rest of my stay. The lobby is, grand, splendid. Unfortunately the room, although nice, do not render justice to the elegance of lobby. You could feel that at one time in the past this had been a sumptuous place. My room was very nice, but not comparable to that of the Mandarin oriental in Tokyo which remains the best. It had all the required amenities, but I found the decoration bland.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Voyageur H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for a week while on business. Hotel was chosen more for its proximity to where I needed to be, as opposed to anything else.

It is a dated hotel but clean and well-run. I was happy that the Wifi was complimentary and fast, and printing my boarding pass in the business center was complimentary as well. Breakfast buffet was a tad expensive ($30 USD) but good. The gym is equally a tad expensive ($30 USD) but also good.

Beds are good and hard -- which is how I like it -- but if you are looking for a really soft bed, this isn't it.

Had some surprising downsides (e.g. no hotel safe in the room) but overall was a decent, good, safe experience. Just wasn't anything "special" and if I had to be close to somewhere else, I'd stay in a different hotel next time.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1kunited
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

The hotel is situated very close to the ropponging and ginza areas which boasts of nightclubs,bars and restaurants along with shopping. just a 5 min drive with almost minimum taxi fare.

However, one can get lost in the hotel..its huge! kimono clad girls assist u near the lifts..
the floors are beneath the lobby which is level 5. so, it can get little confusing to call for lifts when ur on floors like 3 and 4th. (usually u press 1 for the lobby )...

nice rooms.. good bathroom (with de-fog partitions in the shower area) toiletries provided are neat !

Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
Thank anushree l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

After reading some of the reviews about how dated the hotel was, I was a bit concerned that the rooms might be very worn. My concerns were unfounded. The hotel is pretty much a perfect representation of the 1960s but in great shape. Everything is spotless and comfortable and the service is impeccable.

Check in was great. I took the bus from the airport and the Hotel Okura was its first stop. (A good enough reason to stay here in my book.) The bus was greeted by approximately 10 hotel employees some of who took care of the luggage and others who escorted the guest to the front desk. They were quick and they honored my request for a non-smoking room. It was impossible not to be helped to one’s room although I had only a single bag.

The rooms are fairly large and it was nice to be able to spread out after staying at another hotel in Tokyo.. My room had two twin beds and there were origami animals on the pillows—a cute touch. There were also bathrobes and a nice basket of toiletries. The rooms are well lit (a nice change of pace from many hotel rooms) with ample work space and the free internet is sufficiently fast that I had no problems getting work done.

The breakfast buffet was fine. If it is included in your room rate it will be enjoyable but probably not worth the extra charge. There are plenty of options but the quality is just ok. I was amused that vodka, champagne and several types of juice were included in the price but a diet coke is about $5. The restaurants and room service are in general very expensive, particularly given the quality.

As other reviewers have noted, there is not much in the immediate area to walk to for dinner, although one can walk to a food court that is open during business hours in a nearby office building and there are a handful of convenience stores in the area.

One of the nicest features is the health club attached to the hotel. It services both hotel guests and paying members and as such it is a step above the normal hotel gym. There is a full time attendant and numerous cardio machines of high quality. I believe there were 6 or 7 treadmills, several of which had tvs attached. There are headphones that one can borrow, towels, and water. The only down side is that it does not open until 6:00am so if you are up early with jetlag, it is not possible to burn off some energy.

Room Tip: Be sure to request a non-smoking room ahead of time if you want one.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank runkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minato
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 112 in Minato
3,184 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
The Prince Park Tower Tokyo
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Royal Park Hotel The Shiodome, Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Ana Intercontinental Tokyo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
#5 of 75 in Chiyoda
2,034 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Conrad Tokyo
Conrad Tokyo
#1 of 112 in Minato
3,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Okura Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Tokyo

Address: 2-10-4 Toranomon, Minato 105-0001, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Minato
#8 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#8 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#9 Family Hotel in Minato
Price Range: $201 - $433 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Okura Tokyo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Japanese traditional design is carefully preserved, guest rooms ranging from standard to suites are available, providing an array of room choices each offering true relaxation. It is our hope that guests, greeted upon arrival in the room by a traditional folded paper crane, will enjoy a comfortable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Okura Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Tokyo Hotel
Okura Tokyo Minato
Hotel Okura Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing