We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel that has not changed”
Review of Hotel Okura Tokyo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Okura Tokyo
Ranked #8 of 116 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 22, 2012

I first stayed in the Okura in 1987 and am very pleased that it has not changed one bit. The rooms have been subtlely updated but it still has the 1960's look and feel which is refreshing in these days of cookie cutter ultra modern attempts to make one feel at home. It is great to step out of the hustle and bustle of Tokyo into this den of tranquility and terrific service. Not only are the staff friendly, they fall all over themselves to be helpful - the hardest thing is to convince one of the many bell staff that you want to carry your own bag. There are two parts to the hotel and the passage from the Main to the South wing is a bit of a labyrinth. Ironically, if one goes between the two wings outdoors, it is less distance and far less confusing. Also sometimes security can be tight as it is next door to the U.S. Embassy. The rooms are spacious and well appointed. The beds are comfortable and the bathrooms large with great amenities - I especially like the soap. The soap reminds me of a story from my stay in 1988 which shows what kind of sevice one can expect. I phoned their gift shop to ask if I could purchase some bars of their soap to take home with me. There was hesitation at the other end of the line and then I was put on hold. Someone came on who asked what I wanted and feeling peeved that I seemed to be getting the run-around, repeated my questions. The person asked how many bars i wanted and I replied that 6 would be fine. They then told me to wait a few minutes and hung up. I thought this a little strange and was about to phone back when there came a knock at the door. There stood a chamber maid, bowing to me, offering a basket with six bars of their soap placed artfully in a towel that had been origamied into the shape of a swan. Wow! Now that is service. Love this hotel.

Room Tip: I prefer the rooms in the main building but you really cannot go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,538)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

530 - 536 of 1,538 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2012

The Okura is an elegant well organised formal hotel that reminded me of a 1960's hotel as seen in a James Bond film. Nothing wrong with that per se but not really my style and I spent my stay feeling slightly out of place.

The hotel is also very large and was confusing to navigate. However staff were always helpful and approachable.

That said -
The room was large and comfortable
The location was ideal for me (I could walk to the office in the financial district)
Staff were very helpful Both check-in and check-out were efficient.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

The Okura has a distinct preserved-in-amber quality to it. There are touches of 60's decor everywhere you look, the spaces are invariably hushed and everywhere you go, there's someone standing there, bowing at you. The hotel seems to have been designed to be timelessly classy, and that shines through in some parts and not others. The lobbies and the hotel bar (the Orchid) are deliciously retro and very, very cool. The pool, locker room and bathhouse, however, just feel dated. The shopping arcades in the basement are downright baffling, with their procession of shops packed with dowdy, dusty stuff.

Which is not to say that the facilities aren't clean and well-maintained. Quite to the contrary. Our room was neat as a pin and colossal by Tokyo standards. The pool was large enough to actually get a decent swim in (though annoyingly, you have to pay an extra fee to use it). The bed was comfortable and firm and though there must have been smoking rooms around, we didn't catch of a whiff of it anywhere. Free wi-fi everywhere was a nice touch. And the room had a nice, deep tub to soak in, which was delightful.

Some people have commented on how dead the neighborhood is, and I can't refute that. You are sandwiched between the Swedish embassy, a handful of corporate towers and some nondescript apartment blocks. But then, if you want to get all rowdy, the main drag in Roppongi is a short walk away and there are 3 subway stations nearby.

On balance, I'd recommend this place. I'm sure you could stay somewhere cheaper or more glam, but the Okura is perfectly pleasant and is an experience unto itself.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kei H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We found this hotel very well organised and maintained; the staff were excellent. It may be too expensive for a holiday, especailly if you wanted to eat breakfast in the hotel. The take away area of the Camelia cafe was handy. The bar was very expensive at the current exchange rate. It is not that near the metro and is in one of the business districts: however the area is pleasant and the museum and its small garden is a welcome respite.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ansubob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Many visitors to Tokyo have mixed feelings about the Okura. It is an older hotel but at one point was rated the finest hotel in the world by some. It has not lost any of the charm and elegance that it always had. Unlike most other high end hotels in the world the Okura retains the elegance that the newer hotels substitute with modernization, fancy and exotic materials, technology and gaudy ambiance. "Dated" is a common description but in my opinion this is due to an expectation that expensive=modern. If you are expecting Ritz-Carlton, Mandarin Oriental or Park Hyatt luxury and ambiance then most certainly avoid the Okura. The problems with those 5-star hotels is you wake up no knowing what country you're in because they all look and feel alike. When you stay at the Okura you know you are in Japan.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Route246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Went during summer and like everywhere else in Japan A/C was minimal. One would think with a 5 star hotel that wouldn't be an issue but it was and our stay wasn't that comfortable. More spacious than the average Japanese hotel but u pay for evey extra inch. Food at the restaurant was disappointing.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank CarlDah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I enjoyed my stay at the Okura Tokyo. The location was good, but not great - Toranomon is a quieter area of town, across from the US Embassy. I think I would have preferred staying in either Roppongi or Shibuya areas of Tokyo.
The hotel seems like it is stuck in 1980s. It is wonderfully maintained though and extremely clean, but just dated. The pool and spa were both very nice, but could probably benefit from being modernized. My other problem was that we requested non-smoking rooms, but they were definitely smoking and it was not nice waking up to the vague smell of smoke coming from the neighboring rooms. It only happened one morning, but it was still not pleasant...
I liked the hotel overall, but I think that it was way overpriced - too expensive for the value it was offering.

Room Tip: My friend stayed in the South Wing, which was apperently more modern and non-smoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lbak19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minato
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#7 of 116 in Minato
3,225 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Royal Park Hotel The Shiodome, Tokyo
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
The Prince Park Tower Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Ana Intercontinental Tokyo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
#5 of 75 in Chiyoda
2,065 reviews
Shinjuku
Hilton Tokyo
Hilton Tokyo
#4 of 83 in Shinjuku
4,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Okura Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Tokyo

Address: 2-10-4 Toranomon, Minato 105-0001, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Minato
#8 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#8 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#9 Family Hotel in Minato
Price Range: $194 - $478 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Okura Tokyo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Japanese traditional design is carefully preserved, guest rooms ranging from standard to suites are available, providing an array of room choices each offering true relaxation. It is our hope that guests, greeted upon arrival in the room by a traditional folded paper crane, will enjoy a comfortable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Rakuten, JAPANiCAN, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Okura Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Tokyo Hotel
Okura Tokyo Minato
Hotel Okura Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing