We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too overpriced bad food”
Review of Hotel Okura Tokyo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Okura Tokyo
Ranked #8 of 117 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Went during summer and like everywhere else in Japan A/C was minimal. One would think with a 5 star hotel that wouldn't be an issue but it was and our stay wasn't that comfortable. More spacious than the average Japanese hotel but u pay for evey extra inch. Food at the restaurant was disappointing.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank CarlDah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,549)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

540 - 546 of 1,549 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2012

I enjoyed my stay at the Okura Tokyo. The location was good, but not great - Toranomon is a quieter area of town, across from the US Embassy. I think I would have preferred staying in either Roppongi or Shibuya areas of Tokyo.
The hotel seems like it is stuck in 1980s. It is wonderfully maintained though and extremely clean, but just dated. The pool and spa were both very nice, but could probably benefit from being modernized. My other problem was that we requested non-smoking rooms, but they were definitely smoking and it was not nice waking up to the vague smell of smoke coming from the neighboring rooms. It only happened one morning, but it was still not pleasant...
I liked the hotel overall, but I think that it was way overpriced - too expensive for the value it was offering.

Room Tip: My friend stayed in the South Wing, which was apperently more modern and non-smoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lbak19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

RECOMMENDED but just: This my 2nd visit to this property. To set the stage, you nearly anticipate to see James Bond as you turn the next corner. The setting of this property is from the 60's and like the Queen Mary, the Okura plys the waters in a regal and stately manner.

The hotel is located near to 3 metro stops, but sadly there is scant little in the neighborhood to do/eat, it's pretty dead at night. I don't think I'd recommend this for a tourist visit for this reason alone.

If you have business in the neighborhood, then this is a fine choice. The Okura caters to the numerous nearby embassies and the crowd is mostly older and nearly everyone is in a business suit (so not a hip trendy sort of place). Even when running at full capacity, the hotel is nearly dead quiet.

Having said that, the rooms are comfortable though everything is slowly aging (gracefully). Service is over the top and they run around eager to cater to whatever desire you may have. Cheap though, it is not.

If I have a negative, the American breakfast buffet is not befitting the hotel. Something is missing though I struggled to identify exactly what. My group complained mostly about how the eggs were cooked. The hotel recently added Wi-fi and it's free throughout the hotel (a nice addition).

The short is -- if you're placed here have nothing to fear, the staff and hotel will take good care of you.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roadwarrior30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

When in Tokyo I usually stay either in Gnza, on Tokyo Bay or in the Shinagawa area as there is a lot to do in each of these locations. This time, however, the arrangements were made on my behalf and I went with their suggestion - Hotel Okura. This is a very nice, quiet hotel - very quiet despite its size - which I would highly recommend for someone who does not like the glitz and bustle of some of tokyo's other areas. The hotel is a nice oasis of calm and elegance. I had a Deluxe Room which was very nice and suprisingly spacious. The food in the hotel was good and not crazily over-priced like in some Tokyo hotels. The hotel is walking distance to Hibiya Park, the Imperial Gardens and the area. I really enjoyed Hibiya Park which had a current exhibition on Japanese gardens. All in all a very good hotel for a quieter, business-oriented stay in Tokyo.

Room Tip: The South Wing seems a little quieter to me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

I love the Okura for its architecture, its spaces, its general athmosphere. I was here the last time approx. 5 years ago and would not have chosen another hotel to come back to. However, this time I was disappointed by the general service mentality, that does not meet the standars one would expect in this range. We had a reservation for three nights and wanted to extend for a fourth night. There was space, but they asked for an extra 4'000 because it was a Saturday. They refuse to do a computer print-out for their guests - you have to rent a printer in the business centre and then pay by the page - stuff like that. No big deal, but nagging details which makes you feel as though you are in a big business machine rather than a special guest of the house - and that is what a luxury hotel should be all about...

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malou1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Enjoyed my stay at the Okura, but got off to a rough start. Had to change rooms after checking in, as the first did not appear to have been cleaned properly, and took a long time for the staff to retrieve my luggage and switch rooms. Glad I changed, though, as the bathroom in the second room appeared to be much larger, with a separate shower/bath combination.

Upon departure, took the bus back to Narita, and was all a very smooth and comfortable trip. Only had to make 1-2 stops.

Overall, the Hotel Okura Tokyo is a nice enough hotel. The staff was very friendly, attentive and helpful. The buffet breakfast was excellent, and overlooking a nice garden area. I will stay here again if/when I travel to Tokyo in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RigbyBellingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

This was our first visit to Japan. We enjoyed every second and minute of our stay there. The Okura staff are very professional and nice. The lobby is is beautiful. It is very obvious the staff have pride in their hotel. The hotel is very clean. The room we stayed is nice and the bathrooms are amazing! The breakfast buffet was our favorite. We ate there the whole week we stayed at the Okura. We would like to go back.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank g-N-gAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minato
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#7 of 117 in Minato
3,246 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Ana Intercontinental Tokyo
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
The Prince Park Tower Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Royal Park Hotel The Shiodome, Tokyo
Shinjuku
Hilton Tokyo
Hilton Tokyo
#4 of 83 in Shinjuku
4,533 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
#5 of 78 in Chiyoda
2,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Okura Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Tokyo

Address: 2-10-4 Toranomon, Minato 105-0001, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Minato
#8 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#8 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#9 Family Hotel in Minato
Price Range: $188 - $451 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Okura Tokyo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Japanese traditional design is carefully preserved, guest rooms ranging from standard to suites are available, providing an array of room choices each offering true relaxation. It is our hope that guests, greeted upon arrival in the room by a traditional folded paper crane, will enjoy a comfortable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, Priceline, Travelocity, Splitty, Rakuten, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Okura Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Tokyo Hotel
Okura Tokyo Minato
Hotel Okura Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing