We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised”
Review of Hotel Okura Tokyo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Okura Tokyo
Ranked #8 of 109 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed March 23, 2012

Was placed here by default. I was in Tokyo on business per the usual. Company placed me here because American Embassy is next door and said it would be the safest hotel to be at, they were right!.

Working in Fashion and Advertisement, I fell in love with the character of the hotel. Very retro in the lobby, but plush and residential in sleeping rooms. Toilet is a WOW factor. I wished I could have bought one home.

Staff is very committed to provided service and always at your beck and call, better than my assistant, but don't tell her that.

I am or was a firm believer of "you get what you paid for". I usually stay at the Ritz or Park Hyatt, but was told my company, they were not safe because they were sky lobby hotels, 80 stories above ground, uh hello, earthquake line, why do they build them so high? Anyway, the rate was so low, I was concerned, but service, grounds and facilities are far better than the concrete jungle of the Park Hyatt and Ritz.

Tokyo is a destination I frequent for business, so company made this a preferred hotel after our business gathering in Tokyo.

I am a foodie and this was is the place to entertain local clients let me tell you!

Room Tip: South Tower Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DviaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    774
    532
    127
    33
    28
See reviews for
339
279
178
526
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2012

Service is beyond words, staff is very genuine in delivering hospitality and excellent at making the impossible, possible.
Was here for a conference. The meeting rooms were tremendous, but offered a good flow and had good feng shui.
Well exceeded my expectations!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SavyTravelerNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Hotel Okura is a throwback to a time before high-end international chains and the multitude of sleek business hotels that can now be found all over Tokyo. Many, many hotels in Tokyo now easily outstrip Hotel Okura for convenience, service, comfort and, in many cases, value.

The Okura is aging (though kept up well), not particularly well built (noise penetrates walls and ceilings), and at times downright eerie (try walking the tunnel between the two main buildings late in the evening). It is a safe bet that the Okura developed a reputation sometime in the seventies and has been riding it ever since, probably helped by its decent location directly across from the U.S. embassy.

I've stayed several times on business trips with groups of colleagues. The rooms are clean and tastefully decorated, but in a style that reminds me of a fifties-era living room. Technology is relatively absent - odd in a cutting edge city like Tokyo. There is no way to control temperature from the room and heat runs during the non-summer months, regardless of what the weather is like outside. Service varies from slow to average depending on what is being requested, and the fact that the front desk processes many things manually doesn't help. As others have already pointed out, Japan excels at standard hotel services so Okura's unimpressive service levels are relative.

One thing worth mentioning in the Okura's favor is the excellent Hawaiian papaya served with breakfast.

If you are traveling to Japan for the first time and for some reason fear that you'll be bewildered by Tokyo, you might give the Okura a try. This isn't because services are particularly friendly for foreign travelers, but simply because the Okura is accustomed to this type of guest. Otherwise, a place like the Ritz Carlton, Hyatt, or dozens of local hotels already described on TripAdvisor will offer you a much more comfortable and reasonable stay for the money.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JerseySam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ras Al Khaimah, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

This is one of the best hotels I have stayed at in my life. I went there sponsored by a japanesee foundation and even though rooms are not too big, due to that Japan is a very small country, the service is exquisite, the restaurants are first class, always all decorated with flowers, ikebana. It is at the street where all the Embassies are... All is impecable, you can order several types of massages in your room,... Wow, Fantastic experience.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sharaf Kaseeb N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
370 reviews
186 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 350 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2012

RECOMMENDED: The Hotel Okura like a Grand Dame Ocean Liner plies through the water calmly and sedately ignoring whatever the latest trends are outside, comfortable with well worn tradition. You won't find rock stars staying here nor will you find families on vacation with noisy kids. This is a serious hotel for serious business people. Suit n' tie are the norm.

Staff are everywhere in the hotel and you will be greeted like royalty and attended to equally as well. Every request was quickly dispensed with and the staff gets credit for advance thinking of your needs.

Check-in is professional and efficient. The hotel property is showing a bit of age, but it's all well maintained, clean and polished daily. Rooms are nicely sized and well appointed. Comfortable would be the word. Quality and comfortable bedding. Total black out curtains. A small well stocked frig and coffee/tea service.

The bathroom is smallish and showing a bit of age, but it was built with good ingredients and is well illuminated. A non-fog mirror is a little touch that many guests might overlook.

On the downside, some minor minus points (wallpaper coming off the wall in some areas), the hotel restaurant is frightfully expensive and the morning breakfast buffet while perfectly acceptable isn't over the top - keep this property from earning a full 5* from me.

It is difficult to escape the hotel by foot. Though the nearest subway is a short 10 min walk. There is not a huge variety of evening entertainment/restaurants in this business center area.

All is in all, if the location suits your needs as well as whatever room rate you acquire, this hotel would certainly deserve your attention for an authentic Japanese experience.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank roadwarrior30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

I have stayed here twice and felt I was well taken care of. The rooms are clean beside the big stain in my carpet. I'm sure you can get a better hotel for the price but if you need to be near the US embassy it's a no brainer.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rwagner999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, MA
Level 6 Contributor
276 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2012

I stayed here because it is an easy walk to our Tokyo office. The hotel is quite old-fashioned but I don't mean this in a negative sense. Very well maintained, spacious rooms (for Tokyo standards), superb service.Hotel restaurants are very pricey -- but then again so is everything in Tokyo.

While I have nothing to complain about I probably wouldn't stay here for a vacation trip. I'd rather pick an hotel such as the Dai-ichi, which is more conveniently located for restaurants, shopping, and railroad/subway connections. The Okura is a bit out of the way.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mix579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minato
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 109 in Minato
3,110 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
The Prince Park Tower Tokyo
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Royal Park Hotel The Shiodome, Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 74 in Chiyoda
1,987 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Conrad Tokyo
Conrad Tokyo
#1 of 109 in Minato
2,926 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Ana Intercontinental Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Okura Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Tokyo

Property: Hotel Okura Tokyo
Address: 2-10-4 Toranomon, Minato 105-0001, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Minato
#8 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#8 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#9 Family Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Okura Tokyo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Japanese traditional design is carefully preserved, guest rooms ranging from standard to suites are available, providing an array of room choices each offering true relaxation. It is our hope that guests, greeted upon arrival in the room by a traditional folded paper crane, will enjoy a comfortable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., JAPANiCAN, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Okura Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Tokyo Hotel
Okura Tokyo Minato
Hotel Okura Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing