We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional location for sights we wanted to see....”
Review of Tokyo Prince Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Tokyo Prince Hotel
Ranked #31 of 111 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
“Exceptional location for sights we wanted to see....”
Reviewed February 23, 2011

Location was great if you're a walker. Close to the station. Lots of amenities in the neighborhood and a tranquil park a block away.

Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank DanceFeverTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    325
    128
    25
    10
See reviews for
140
117
73
175
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2011

We stayed at the Tokyo Prince hotel in Minato (not the Tokyo Prince Park, which I hear is nicer) for a week, frm which we explored all of Tokyo as well as Kamakura and Nikko on day trips.

I actually quite enjoyed the hotel. The location is in a quieter part of Tokyo - very peaceful at night, but just within a 2 minute walk to a metro station, and a 5 minute walk to a more lively part of Minato on Dimon Street.

Hotel restaurants were overpriced (didn't eat there at all), but countless options for food nearby.

Rooms are decently spacious for Japanese city standards, and clean -- as long as you don't move the furniture around to reveal HUGE dust bunnies.
Pool only open in Summer, so can't comment on that (not that i probably had time for swimming anyways!).

Staff at concierge desk were pretty useless, only helpful to ask for maps of the metro, as they couldn't advice anything else, from were to eat, to what to do or how to get around... they didn't even know what a JR pass was!

Other than that, quite enjoyed the hotel and th great view of the Tokyo tower from our room!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claus G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2011

Walking into The Tokyo Prince Hotel is like traveling back in time. It really appears like nothing has been replaced or updated since the early-mid twentieth century.

Having said that, the rooms were clean and the staff courteous and helpful. The breakfast buffet is monstrous but is constantly overrun with people. The hotel charges nearly 2000 yen per day to use the gym or swimming pool, and internet access is charged by the minute or for a 24-hour period (you have the option depending on your anticipated usage).

If you want to be by The Tokyo Tower you can't really get any closer. But if you're a first-time visitor to Tokyo, it's not really the area you want to be. There isn't much going on relative to Shinjuku, Harajuku, Shibuya, etc.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jracleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2010

Hotel is just next to Tokyo Tower, you'll be able to see the Tokyo Tower from your room if you're lucky to be assign a room facing it. The deluxe rooms we have are big, although we had problem with their aircon which was not functioning well. They have free shuttle service to nearest train station which is a 15 min. walk from the hotel. Very ok to take a walk to the train as the way is full of very affordable restaurants and convenience store. Hotel also has airport limousine bus pick up for a fee of 3,000 yen per pax. They give refund of 1,000yen in gift voucher per room if you wont avail of their housekeeping during your two nights (min.) stay. You may use this voucher to purchase goods within the hotel stores and restaurants only.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tetreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 31, 2010

We got an awesome deal staying at the Tokyo Prince for nine nights. We requested a room on an upper floor with a view of the Tokyo Tower and they accommodated us perfectly. The view of the tower was incredible, especially when it was lit up at night. The room was smallish by American standards but perfectly adequate size-wise. It definitely was not shockingly small like I'd been warned about Tokyo hotels. The bed was hard, being pregnant this was a definite downside. Walking all day around Tokyo and then sleeping on a hard bed made me very sore. I would guess that a more Western hotel would have the softer beds?
There were three train stations near the hotel, one was a five minute walk, another a ten minute walk, and the one we used most often was fifteen minutes from the back of the hotel.
The hotel had very expensive restaurants and the tea room was extremely over-priced. We only tried the tempura restaurant and it was not great to our palettes but it was crowded so I'm guessing others liked it. The restaurant was gorgeous, though. We never ate at the tea room since it was way too expensive. I was glad I had brought lots of breakfast foods with me to eat in the morning and then we ate around town the rest of the day.
The hotel staff was very friendly and nice. You definitely had to know Japanese to be able to communicate with them however. We would always try speaking English and then resort to Japanese to get our full point across. I imagine if you didn't know any Japanese you would not be able to ask them about how to get places or recommendations very easily at all. You would just have to tell them very basic things in English.
They didn't have an ice machine but were willing to send ice to our room for free.
The tub was very deep and nice. The heated bidet/toilet and heated steam-free mirror were pretty fun, too.
Overall, it was a great deal, and we loved the view. Probably not the closest location, depending on what you wanted to see. (Very close to the fish market, however). But you can get to everywhere using the trains.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SMSArmstrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2010

The Tokyo Prince is located in a green oasis within the city, within easy walking distance of the Emperors palace. The lobby & the rooms are spacious. Breakfast room was like a zoo, very busy & Expensive especially in USD terms with an 80Yen Exchange rate.Swimming pool is outdoors so no chance to swim in the winter time, really nothing worng with the hotel , this just isnt my favorite location, it doesnt feel in the heart of the city & that is beacuse it isnt. If you like a more peaceful envionment, this this is the hotel you are looking for.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Njhammers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oita, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2010

All the staff were friendly everywhere and on their best -behavior to all customers.
The hotel was old, but feeled like kinda tradithinal .
Best to stay watching "Red shining TOKYO tower".
Need to confirm the room reservation is tower-side or not.
All you have to do before check-in is try to choose better room to see the tower.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank drgentlewolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minato hotels
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
The Prince Park Tower Tokyo
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Shiba Park Hotel
Shiba Park Hotel
#15 of 111 in Minato
1,129 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Mitsui Garden Hotel Shiodome Italia-gai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 111 in Minato
3,152 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Celestine Hotel
Celestine Hotel
#13 of 111 in Minato
722 reviews
Shinagawa / Gotanda
Grand Prince Hotel Takanawa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tokyo Prince Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tokyo Prince Hotel

Property: Tokyo Prince Hotel
Address: 3-3-1 Shiba-koen, Minato 105-8560, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#29 Business Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tokyo Prince Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 462
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated next to a quiet, leafy forest in the heart of Tokyo, the Tokyo Prince Hotel offers tranquility in a centralized location. Serene sculptured gardens outside your guest room windows give no hint of the bustle of the city beyond. With outstanding hospitality, luxurious rooms, first-class restaurants and a spacious parking area, the Tokyo Prince Hotel provides a convenient base for world-class travelers and business people alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Booking.com, Rakuten, Priceline, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), JAPANiCAN, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tokyo Prince Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Hotel Minato
Prince Hotel Tokyo
Minato Prince Hotel
Tokyo Prince Hotel Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing