We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location old hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Tokyo Prince Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tokyo Prince Hotel
Ranked #39 of 108 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Costa Mesa, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good location old hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for one night. The view was awesome because you can see Tokyo Tower from our window. Despite the view, I will not stay at this hotel until there is a renovation with the rooms. The rooms are old with a distinct odor which caused us to check out early. I originally booked this hotel because I was reading reviews and pictures look good. When I arrived, it had a nice lobby but the rooms were older. I wish I l knew about the strange smell. I would not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    307
    120
    25
    10
See reviews for
132
107
69
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night. We arrived at checkin at was greeted and taken to the reception area, we had booked a non smoking double room. We was taken to our room and so was our baggage by 2 helpers.

We arrived at the room and realised it was a smoking room! U could smell the old smoke smell! Not impressed! We didn't go back to reception as we wanted to get out and about so we decided to keep the room, the decor was awful....erm bright turquoise carpet and white walls! Was we In the Caribbean! Lol awfull! The room was a good size, bed was comfy but just very dated including bathroom. The room and hotel was clean so no issues there.

The location is really good just 5 mins walk to the tower and 2-5mins walk to restaurants...OMG amazing breakfast cafe just down and the bottom of the car park on the right...Amazing Cakes and baked goods. It is also about 10mins walk to the local tube station, 5-10mins walk to a Starbucks & subway sandwich & family mart.

Overall I like the hotel but it needs a big facelift! Nothing special! Only memorable for the nice cafe at the end of the car park. Hotel is also in a really good location but I would pay a little more and go somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andytudor46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seneca Falls, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

This was the second week long stay at this hotel. Both times have been very good. Location is excellent. Rooms are clean and have good-sized refrigerators.Nice views possible of the tower, or of the temple grounds. Multiple restaurants on site, all are good. Great selection of Japanese whiskey, too! Close to Roppongi and many subway stations. Helpful, foreigner friendly staff. If you need an ATM, go to the post office at the World Trade Center a few blocks away. Only problem this time was no climate control in the room, but fortunately the windows open.

Room Tip: Ask for a tower view or temple view. A temple view is nice if you are an early riser-- morning pray...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CageyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

Arriving from the airport it was just a short distance away once we crossed over the Rainbow Bridge. The Zinjo-ji Temple and the Tokyo Tower are adjacent to the hotel, so that was very convenient. There is a regulr shuttle to the train station, though it is only a 10-15 minute walk, also subway stations are close too. The staff were friendly and accommodating. The rooms were larger than we expected with the biggest double bed I have ever seen. Yes, it is a bit dated and the carpets could have done with a spring clean, but overall it was clean, comfortable, excellent breakfast, great location for touring around and the convenience store downstairs is incredibly handy if you arrive at an odd hour. This is one of the very few places I have been where the eco-friendly option works! If you have the limited cleaning service (no towel change etc) then you get a 500Yen voucher to spend in the convenience store or cafe downstairs.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LHSDoha_Qatar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

Stayed a week here. Whilst the decor is dated, the staff are wonderful and the rooms well kept. An interesting mix of local business people & functions, 3 restaurants and a convenience store make life here very easy. Walking distance to central Roppongi & subway lines, yet nice and quiet of a night. Would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Littleowleyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
279 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

The rooms are spacious, the rates are competitive and the location is central. What could be wrong? Well, as other guests have noted, the rooms have an odd smell. Even opening the window and going out for an emergency run of room freshener couldn't disperse the odor in my 10th floor room. If you plan to spend very little time in your room then perhaps it might be worth the price.

On the upside the bed was spacious and comfortable and the in-room broadband wi-fi was free and glitch free.

I was charged $25 for a buffet breakfast that promised an omelette station but no cook was on duty and the laid-out fare was pretty unappetizing. Definitely skip the breakfast unless it's included in your room charge.

Room Tip: Sniff it out before agreeing to take a particular room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 7J1AIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We arrived just yesterday, october, 07, 2012, the room was with unpleasant smelt and the air conditioning does not work. The front desk ladie was very unpolite(in my personal view) and, to make things worse, she insist in charge us for three nights. All the reservatns sites charges 1 night in case of unjustified cancellation. Our cancellation is a very justified one. We are going to other hotel and we will try to make a honest and market practice cancellation. We do believe that this hotel way to make money is not sustainable.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
5 Thank Bernardo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minato hotels
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
The Prince Park Tower Tokyo
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Shiba Park Hotel
Shiba Park Hotel
#15 of 108 in Minato
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Hotel Comsoleil Shiba Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Celestine Hotel
Celestine Hotel
#14 of 108 in Minato
4.0 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 108 in Minato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,998 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Mitsui Garden Hotel Shiodome Italia-gai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tokyo Prince Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tokyo Prince Hotel

Property: Tokyo Prince Hotel
Address: 3-3-1 Shiba-koen, Minato 105-8560, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tokyo Prince Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 462
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated next to a quiet, leafy forest in the heart of Tokyo, the Tokyo Prince Hotel offers tranquility in a centralized location. Serene sculptured gardens outside your guest room windows give no hint of the bustle of the city beyond. With outstanding hospitality, luxurious rooms, first-class restaurants and a spacious parking area, the Tokyo Prince Hotel provides a convenient base for world-class travelers and business people alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tokyo Prince Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Hotel Minato
Prince Hotel Tokyo
Minato Prince Hotel
Tokyo Prince Hotel Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing