We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Prince Sakura Tower Tokyo
Ranked #5 of 109 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
101 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Convenient and great service”
Reviewed May 3, 2014

We stayed a week at the Prince Sakura Tower and really enjoyed the stay. The Shinagawa location was very convenient as its only a 5 minute walk to the train station which connects you to almost anyway you may want to visit within Tokyo.

The rooms are nice and the service was excellent. We booked through Mariott as its part of the Mariott Autograph collection and it came with breakfast included. The gym was very good for business or vacation traveller and we came away thinking we would definitely stay there again on future visits.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GManSeoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    501
    254
    54
    14
    5
See reviews for
214
204
91
231
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
tel aviv
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

The hotel is very nice and upscale. Located 2 min by foot from Shinagawa Station. Shopping mall with restaurants across the street. Also convenience stores nearby. Rooms are great and big. We had 2 double beds (140cm wide each) and also an extra bed in the room. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevethebest74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosa Beach, California
Level Contributor
148 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

This was hotel was superb - equivalent to a high 4-star hotel in the US.

If you're looking for a hotel in the Minato area, as opposed to one of the more popular locations like Shibuya/Shijuku, it's a great choice.

My room was huge - literally 3x the size of my room at a different hotel in Shinjuku. The bed was also very large, and the room had all sorts of amenities, like a jacquizzi tub, heated toilet seat, etc.

In addition, the front desk staff was outstanding, and the gardens in the back were a nice touch.

Caveat that i got this hotel with points, so this review doesn't take into account the price, which I understand is rather high.

This room was 4x better than my hotel in Shinjuku, but would I have paid 4x the price? Probably not.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

I have recently stayed in another three Prince Hotels in the Shinagawa area. This is the best out of the lot. The combination of location, customer service, size of rooms, and features in rooms, make it the best hotel I have recently stayed at anywhere.

Front desk couldn't do enough for me, printing out maps and guides to my next hotel and business location. The rooms are the biggest I have stayed in, although did have a Premium room. The bathroom had a jacuzzi in room!

As others are saying, it is pretty much across the street from Shinagawa Station, but despite the location is very quiet.

Not a cheap hotel, but then the price shows you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: 9th floor was a premium floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davelon35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Just returned from a 4-night stay at this fabulous, comfortable and modern hotel. It is very close to the Shinagawa station which has the bullet train, JR rail, Narita Express trains. I think the walk can be as short as 5 minutes. I really liked the location and felt safe walking from the station to the hotel even at midnight.

How to get to the hotel from Shinagawa station? Follow the sign to the Central Gate exit. As you come out from the gates, you will see a JR rail service office and another tourist office facing you. Then turn left and watch for the Takanawa West Exit (it's a orange/yellowish sign). Go down the stairs/escalator. There is a nice supermarket on your right (good for looking around but the prices are more expensive). Turn right and you can either take the pedesrian bridge to cross to the other side or go further down and cross at the traffic light. This is where you will see the 7-11 store (good place to get water and snacks). Keep walking up the hill after you crossed the road and the hotel is straight ahead of you. This walk is doable even if you have a large lugguage with wheels.

Once you arrived at the hotel, you are welcomed by a nice, open and modern lobby. The staff is very friendly. Check-in was very smooth for us. As a Marriott Gold member, We rec'd two breakfast vouchers per night which I enjoyed very much every morning. We had a double/double room (2 beds) and I thought the room size is big and comparable to double/double room at any US Marriott hotels. The room is very clean. The bed is very comfortable. I slept very well every night. There is a nice tub in the room and we used every night after a long day of walking. In-room wireless internet worked well. There is a nice TV but didn't use. Our room has a nice view of the garden and Tokyo Tower.

We walked around the garden and koi pond in the morning and it was very beautiful and relaxing.

Breakfast buffet was very good. Service was good. Loved the fresh fruits.

I believe this hotel was recently renovated. All public areas are very clean. The gift shop has very nice gifts.

Concierge staff was very helpful. The gentleman helped me with planning my day-trip to Kyoto.

There is a quiet/relaxation area in the basement. Also in the basement is the gym and spa. The gym looks like a standard gym. I didn't use it.

The price is reasonable considering the location and large rooms. It's really nice to be so close to Shinagawa station! The breakfast and time I saved from getting to train station is worth the extra money. I booked approximately 3 weeks in advance and got a decent rate ($240/night including tax and service charge). This is on par w/ decent hotels in downtown San Francisco. I would definitely stay here again.

We ate at a Thai restaurant called Mango Tree in the Wing shopping center which is near the pedestrian bridge. This is one of the few restaurants still open at 9:3ish at night. Small, busy place even at 10pm but price was reasonable and food was good. We especially like the Thai Roasted Pork in the appetizer section. For dinner, we had the pork w/ basil. Service could be slow if you don't grab the wait staff's attention.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travel4fun0498
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

I like this place. The location is solid and the rooms are nice and roomy and the surroundings are awesome too. The staff are nice and there is a shuttle bus that goes around if you cannot make the 5 minute stroll downhill to the train station. Its a little bit pricier than the ANA Intercontinental Tokyo. But way much more convenient. All of the other Prince hotels are within walking distance so you choice to Food and Beverage are all right there. And if you have kids, then you can walk over to the Shinagawa Prince and take them to bowling or the aquarium. Not a bad choice. Would come back here again but the $300+ a night was a bit steep for the property. The truly great thing about paying that price is location. Otherwise, Intercontinental has it beat.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yasuo O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
157 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

The Shinagawa JR station is practically across the street from the hotel. Much easier to find than I thought and easy for the Narita Expess. Take the Takanawa exit from the station and head towards the right. You'll walk past a pachinko place and a few small stores until you get to the first crosswalk. You'll see their sign, just walk up the hill. Jacuzzi tubs, spa, pool, robes and slippers. Some English speaking staff. Clean. Charges for breakfast (3400 yen or about 33 US Dollars) are ridiculous as are laundry fees ($6 to clean a t-shirt and it took two days to clean it.)

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank TrixieBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minato hotels
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 109 in Minato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,035 reviews
Shinagawa / Gotanda
The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
The Prince Park Tower Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinagawa / Gotanda
Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Conrad Tokyo
Conrad Tokyo
#1 of 109 in Minato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,811 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Royal Park Hotel The Shiodome, Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Prince Sakura Tower Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Prince Sakura Tower Tokyo

Property: The Prince Sakura Tower Tokyo
Address: 3-13-1 Takanawa, Minato 108-8612, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Shinagawa / Gotanda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Minato
#5 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#9 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#10 Family Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Prince Sakura Tower Tokyo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 309
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in October 1998, this luxurious hotel offers a wide range of excellent services and facilities within an all-season resort ambience. In the spring, pink cherry blossoms can be seen from every guest room. In the fall, the colorful autumn leaves shower the walkways. In the winter, the snow-mantled archways, trees and garden steps provide an air of complete tranquility. Offering exceptional levels of comfort in a formal Japanese garden setting, the Sakura Tower is specifically designed for the American guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Rakuten, Marriott, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Prince Sakura Tower Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Prince Sakura Tower Tokyo Hotel Minato
The Prince Sakura Hotel Tokyo
Prince Sakura Minato
The Prince Sakura Tower Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing