We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“One of the biggest room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Prince Sakura Tower Tokyo, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Prince Sakura Tower Tokyo, Autograph Collection
Ranked #4 of 105 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“One of the biggest room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in walking distance to the JR line. AirPort Bus service offers a ride from Narita AirPort for 3.000 yen. Once you get familiar with the JR, you realize that the hotel is almost 20 minutes to Ginza and other fancy districts. The room is clean and big, and has a nice view of Tokyo Tower. No hesitate to book this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UgurYal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    218
    41
    12
    4
See reviews for
168
166
75
191
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waltham, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Positives:
1. Massive rooms - This room had to be double to triple all the other six hotels we stayed in during our trip to Japan. We did stay in an executive king suite which was only $20 more expensive than other hotels we stayed at. We did get an online deal that helped a lot and we stayed there the longest for a bigger discount.
2. The bed was huge with clean sheets and amazing comforters and pillows. I could literally roll over twice and just reach my wife.
3. The hotel is close to public transportation. The railways were only 5 minutes walking distance with restaurants littered all over.
4. Restaurants - I have two suggestions. First, the hotel has a special grill where they cook kobe beef. It is not inside the Prince Sakura, but just outside. It is expensive but if you are in Japan and can afford to drop several hundred dollars per ounce, its worth it. Second, if you walk down the hill and to the left, and walk for 2 minutes and go down the steps. There is a Thai restaurant. It was the best thai food you will ever eat, except maybe outside of Thailand.
5. The views. You have a koi pond, a temple/mansion and the Tokyo skyline.
6. Clean rooms. This was the cleanest hotel room and lobby of all the six hotels we stated in.

Negatives:
1. The hotel halls were dirty. Not a big deal but when you have an amazing hotel lobby and then the halls you walk down look drab, you expect your room to be disgusting.
2. The hotel is on top of a hill. When you walk for 12 hours and get home the last thing you want is to climb a hill, but its the trade off you pay for the view.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We were shocked how dirty the carpet in our room was when we checked in, especially with all the positive reviews on Tripadvisor. We asked the front desk to do somethign about it and nothing happened. It was a pink carpet with large darke spots in lots of places, as well as a general layer of grime. If it had not been for this i would have given the hotel 4/5.

They are critically understaffed (waited 5 minutes on the phone before bell captain picked up), but for the money we were not expecting more.

Our room was large and the bathroom was nice and clean.

Walk about 7 minutes to the train station.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank snabelfisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stay in this hotel in Tokyo with a baby (1 year old) during 8 days.

The room is very large, baby and kids can play easily. The bad point was the hotel does NOT provide a baby cot, bring your own bed or sleep with your child!!
The room was not bright new, the bathroom is large and contain 1 bathtub + 1 shower.
The view on the city from our room at 12/F was amazing.

The garden of this hotel is amazing, full of cherry blossom.

The location is perfect and there are plenty of food option in the Prince hotel group, and around (many restaurants, a bakery and gourmet stores).
Shinagawa station is around the corner and very convenient to visit the city (with plenty trains and subways in this train station).

I recommand this hotel and would go again if I stay in Tokyo.
Bote if you travel with kids to bring your own bed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gajjju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is like no other with an indoor bowling alley and pool. The entrance and styling is quite basic and due to its size you need to be mindful that you take the correct lift to your floor. The rooms by Tokyo standards are quite good with a basic decor, the prefab bathroom is well spaced. The standout feature of the hotel is the reception and concierge staff, the concierge were fantastic in photocopying district maps and setting out the train program on our first day until we had a grasp of it. The station is situated on the JR Yamomote line which is fantasic making it easy to take the JR trains to other main destinations outside Tokyo. There's a Dean and Deluca at the station if you need a decent coffee and some Western food.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank sue k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

A good hotel, very close to Shinagawa station. This station is a good station to explore Tokyo. The Narita express stops here, the bullet trains stop here also and the sites are a short ride away. The room was nice, the decor was a bit dated (this was our experience in the other two motels we stayed at. The room includes a nesepresso machine, but only one capsule of coffee and ours was not working. As is true of most hotels we stayed at, they have wired internet, but no wireless. We bought a small portable router with us, and that worked perfectly.

Breakfast, which was not included, was ghastly expensive at around 3000 yen (about 30 dollars) each! We simply walked down the hill and had breakfast at coffee shop. Right across from Shingawana station was a place that served breakfast at a much more affordable price. I think we paid around 1600 yen for both of us! Great places to eat around that area. As you walk out of the station (McDonalds is in front for you) cross the street and turn left. Down about 2-3 minutes is a little hole-in-the-wall ramen noodle place. Very good on a cold night!

Overall, this hotel was perfect to stay at. Good location, good restaurants around, just skip the breakfast.

Room Tip: High floors have a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StanC-Beijing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Very close to Shinagawa Station, the price is not so expensive, considering you have a large room in the centre of Tokyo.

The bathtub in the room is really wonderful! I like it very much. Bathsalt is free. And you can enjoy the bath like in a Jaccuzi. Free Wi-Fi and Lan internet is avaliable. Convenient location, although you need to go up a short road from the Shinagawa station.

Although the guests in this hotel can choose to have breakfast in the other building near with the same hotel group, I didn't try it. The breakfast in the restaruant at 3rd floor is better than what the comments stated. I have tried both western and japanese style, both were good, but I don't really like to have rice (for japanese style) in the morning. It's a set breakfast instead of buffet style, but good enough for me. The view of the restaurant is good, you can enjoy the Japanese Garden view. I suppose the sakura will be full of the Garden very soon.

I will choose this hotel in the future, if I use the Haneda Airport, as it is fast to go to the Haneda Airport from Shinagawa. But if I use Narita Airport, the location will be not so convenient.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hydro R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minato
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 105 in Minato
4.5 of 5 stars 2,582 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
The Prince Park Tower Tokyo
Shinagawa / Gotanda
The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Royal Park Hotel The Shiodome, Tokyo
Shinagawa / Gotanda
Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Conrad Tokyo
Conrad Tokyo
#1 of 105 in Minato
4.5 of 5 stars 2,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Prince Sakura Tower Tokyo, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Prince Sakura Tower Tokyo, Autograph Collection

Property: The Prince Sakura Tower Tokyo, Autograph Collection
Address: 3-13-1 Takanawa, Minato 108-8612, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Shinagawa / Gotanda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#5 Business Hotel in Minato
#9 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#10 Family Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Prince Sakura Tower Tokyo, Autograph Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 309
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in October 1998, this luxurious hotel offers a wide range of excellent services and facilities within an all-season resort ambience. In the spring, pink cherry blossoms can be seen from every guest room. In the fall, the colorful autumn leaves shower the walkways. In the winter, the snow-mantled archways, trees and garden steps provide an air of complete tranquility. Offering exceptional levels of comfort in a formal Japanese garden setting, the Sakura Tower is specifically designed for the American guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, JAPANiCAN, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Rakuten, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Fastbooking and Cancelon so you can book your The Prince Sakura Tower Tokyo, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Prince Sakura Tower Tokyo Hotel Minato
The Prince Sakura Hotel Tokyo
Prince Sakura Minato
The Prince Sakura Tower Tokyo, Autograph Collection Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing