We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo
Ranked #40 of 109 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very clean hotel”
Reviewed October 21, 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights. Very nice hotel, and wonderful staff. Bed was a little hard.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redcar_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    578
    1,648
    940
    205
    85
See reviews for
595
574
582
1,216
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
Reviewed October 16, 2010

This hotel was awesome, clean, friendly service, lots of souvenier shops and very elegant. I really enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilovetravelling28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HNL
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2010

Recommend staying in the Annex Tower, due to larger rooms, free internet (wired), in room refrigerator, hot tea (take Starbucks Via to make coffee unless you like green tea).

Take the Narita Express to Shinagawa station. Go out the Main Gate to Takanawa Exit and go slightly to the left of the Taxi Line. Take the crossing across the way. You will see a shopping complex with a sign that says "Takanawa West". Go in there and you will see a McDonalds on the left. Go in the hallway and up the stairs and then pass a 7-11 on the left. Then enter the ANNEX tower on the right and go through a small shopping plaza toward the Bowling Alley. Go up to the 7th floor for Check in.

When you get in your room, use your room key as the "master switch" to power the room. When you leave, you take the key and it will turn off all the lights, etc with the exception of the plugs on the desk, so you can charge cell phones, laptops, etc.

Lots of places to eat in the hotel and outside. Best access to Shinagawa station (Yamanote line) to Shibuya, Shinagawa, Ikebukuro, Tokyo Station and Ueno and easy transfer to Ginza, Tsukiji (fish market), etc.


Rooms are very clean and Annex tower rooms are large (in Japan standards), similar in size to what you will find in NYC or a mini-suite on a cruise ship. Bathrooms have a nice deep ofuro (bathtub) and bidet.

If you have any electronics such as a Laptop with a three prong plug, make sure to bring an adaptor to change from the 3 prong to 2 prong, as there are no plugs that can take a three prong.

Beds are a little hard, but they typically are anywhere in Japan.

Great value for about $100-$140 USD.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank O-Man808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2010

We stayed at the Shinagawa Prince Hotel in the Annex tower as recommended by other reviewers. Overall, I thought the hotel was great. It was right outside the train station and had a 7-11 with an English language ATM, several food courts, and the staff was friendly. The room was tiny. Our 3 suitcases filled up most of the floor space but that was really the only issue I had in terms of size. It had all the expected amenities like slippers, yukata, fridge, space-age toilet, etc. Internet was free although the language implied that it was 1000 yen / day. I was never charged for it. If you opt not to have your sheets changed, they will give you 500 yen/person/day at 5 pm. This can be used at the hotel's convenience store or restaurants.

We checked in twice to this hotel on our stay in Japan. The second time, we tried to check in before 2 pm and they said there was an extra charge. We just elected to check our bags with them and go around for an hour before checking in. This brings up a big plus about the hotel. We were able to check our 2 large suitcases with them when we travelled to other parts of Japan. This really made it easy for us as we weren't lugging all our clothes for those 1 or 2 day trips. There was no extra charge for this service.

We were originally going to stay in Shinjuku but ended up staying here because the price was better. It turned out to be the better choice in my opinion. Shinagawa's train station was much less of a zoo than Shinjuku's. If you travel by train with luggage, getting through Shinjuku's train station can be intimidating. By contrast, Shinagawa train station was easier to get out of and the hotel was right outside the Takanawa (West) exit.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SANsna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2010

Stayed just for 3 nights during my trip to Japan. Excellent and Amazing hotel. At the heart of the busy city of Shinagawa ...What else do you look out for?
1. Just opposite to the Shinagawa railway station - You dont have to pay through your nose for the taxi to reach office
2. McDonalds - a must for every Indian travelling outside India - is just at crawling distance and open until 2 AM JST !
3. Guest relationship taking care of Limousine bus pickup right from the door steps to Narita Airport
4. Option to leave your luggage safely, if you plan to come back in a week's time - wow...it means a lot!!!
5. To top it all...the kindness of the Hotel staff - I must say. With no questions asked, they waved off the handling charges of my toll free calls to India - A huge savings for me!

Folks... Enjoy the stay at this great Hotel!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank manice96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middle of nowhere, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 11, 2010

I stayed at this hotel for almost a week. It is right across the street from the Shinagawa Station which is VERY convenient... It's on the Yamanote line which forms a loop around Tokyo and you can also catch the Shinkansen here as well if you wish to see more of Japan without toting your luggage too far. The bathroom was a little smaller than I had hoped, but everything seemed very clean and accessable!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaxxina42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2010

Within walking distance to the train station. Best buffet ever! Food is excellent and staff are very friendly. Plenty of shopping nearby.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kkwVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minato hotels
Shinagawa / Gotanda
Keikyu EX Inn Shinagawa Ekimae
Shinagawa / Gotanda
Grand Prince Hotel Takanawa
Shinagawa / Gotanda
Grand Prince Hotel New Takanawa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinagawa / Gotanda
Keikyu EX Inn Takanawa
Keikyu EX Inn Takanawa
#60 of 109 in Minato
154 reviews
Shinagawa / Gotanda
The Prince Sakura Tower Tokyo
Shinagawa / Gotanda
The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo

Property: Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo
Address: 4-10-30 Takanawa, Minato 108-8611, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Shinagawa / Gotanda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#31 Business Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3680
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Rakuten, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, JAPANiCAN, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Hotel Minato
Prince Hotel Tokyo
Minato Prince Hotel
Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing