We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pay extra to stay in the Main Tower on a high floor - the views are incredible”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo
Ranked #40 of 109 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Pay extra to stay in the Main Tower on a high floor - the views are incredible”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

I've reviewed this hotel previously but I had stayed in the East Tower in a single room on that particular visit. This time I stayed in a twin room in the Main Tower. I had specifically requested a view of the Tokyo Tower and was happy to find that this is exactly what I received, it was truly a magnificent view and even more spectacular once the sun went down. I could sit at the window and admire the view for hours if I didn't have things to do! Check in and check out is a breeze, much like most hotels in Japan. The hotel is very close to the Shinagawa Station, one of the main train stations in Tokyo and as such provides easy access to almost all of Tokyo's major attractions as well as Haneda Airport. The room itself was reasonably sized, modern and clean. The hotel has heaps of facilities and even has a 7-Eleven onsite, but it gets really busy even late at night. We got a great rate for this room, it was our second hotel in Tokyo on this particular trip and I wish we had stayed there for the first half of our holiday too, the view is that good.

Room Tip: Get a high floor in the main tower if you are booking a twin/double room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank inefekt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    578
    1,649
    940
    205
    85
See reviews for
595
574
583
1,216
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

We chose this hotel because it had a swimming pool, it's a nice way to end the day sitting by the pool and doing a few laps. I was totally amazed that they wanted to charge us for this, I have stayed in hotels all around the world and never had to pay extra, what next a service charge to use the elevator?
No wifi was another problem for me.
The toilets were disgusting, they looked clean enough until you sat in the bath, that is when you can see they don't clean under the rim, a disgusting brown line going the whole way around, it made me sick looking at it.
We stayed in main tower floor 28, smallest rooms ever stayed in.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ruby33333333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Minato hotels

Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

This hotel has a very good location and is very centrally located in Tokyo's Shinagawa district. From the hotel it is very easy to access the different area in Tokyo as it is close to the main train station. I just wish they had cheaper options for breakfast around the area, as breakfast in Tokyo is generally very expensive.

Room Tip: Great Location
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romanshorn, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo
“One of Tokyo’s most affordable 3-star Hotel”
Location
Shinagawa Prince Hotel is just an hour away from Narita International Airport via Narita Express to Tokyo Shinagawa Station. From there, it’s just a 3-minute walk. Simply follow the Signboards. Its superb location is an ideal spot to start your Tokyo Escape that connects you to the city’s world famous’ Sights, Restaurants and Shopping Districts.

First Impression
This hotel complex is divided into three hotels (Main Tower, Annex Tower & N Tower). We booked a Room for 6 Nights at the Annex Tower (the Reception is located on the 7th Floor & our Room was located on the 31st Floor). The Annex Tower is an old building but everything is functional. One has to get used to the Elevators, Entrances & Exits. Fortunately, we didn’t book a Room at the Main Tower because it was packed with Tourists arriving and leaving on a daily basis by Coaches and Bus. Shinagawa Prince Hotel has a lot to offer from Restaurants to Shopping to Entertainment. But we didn’t have the time to explore the whole complex.

Highlights

Great panoramic view of the city especially at night (the photos on their official site matches with reality!), Cleanliness was of high standard (great Housekeeping team!), complete Bathroom Amenities (Top-branded Shampoo & Conditioner), there’s a Green Tea Fabric Freshener, modern toilet bowl (the Flash was actually the Pedal located on the right side) and the daily English Newspaper Service (International Herald Tribune & The Japan Times).

Lowlights
The Reception at the Annex Tower looks very empty (no fresh flowers or decoration), our Room was quite small and old but in good condition, the flat screen TV was hanged on the wrong direction (right side of the bed), there’s no free Wi-Fi, Breakfast was at an extra cost (we checked out once the buffet and it was not appetizing!) and there’s no “go the extra mile service.”

My Verdict
With its affordable rates (not on Weekends) and great location in Tokyo, this 3 star Hotel is definitely recommendable but Service needs to be improved plus the Breakfast Buffet needs a major facelift.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tumfave815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed as part of a group. Found the room to be small but quite adequate with all the facilities needed including slippers and robes. No trouble with AirCon. The green voucher was a good idea, in return for not having your room cleaned each day you can choose to receive a voucher instead which can be exchanged in the hotel restaurants or shops. The bidet WC was an experience that took a bit of getting used to. The location was superb being just over the road from Shinagawa station. many restaurants in the hotel to choose from for breakfast. Supermarket and lots of shops in the station. Very interesting areas surrounding the hotel within a short walk. The view from the Top of the Tower block at night is not to be missed. Our room was on a high floor and it was really fascinating to watch the trains from our window. We had no trouble with WiFi, it is free in your room if you have the correct cable port on your laptop which we did or else you can go to the lobby. We ate in restaurants around the hotel most nights and in the hotel twice for dinner. We will certainly go back if we visit Tokyo again.

Room Tip: High rooms for view, ask about green vouchers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles, CA
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is a huge hotel complex but with very dated feeling. The hotel has so much potential, great location, proximity to JR Rail, restaurants and mall. However, room was very small, the air condition control is not great, and my biggest complain of all, no WIFI. There is an internet machine that one can use but I believe it's 100 Yen for 10 mins. In this day and age, one would expect that's the least a hotel would provide in the technology advance country like Japan.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RRla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minato hotels
Shinagawa / Gotanda
Keikyu EX Inn Shinagawa Ekimae
Shinagawa / Gotanda
Grand Prince Hotel Takanawa
Shinagawa / Gotanda
Grand Prince Hotel New Takanawa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinagawa / Gotanda
Keikyu EX Inn Takanawa
Keikyu EX Inn Takanawa
#60 of 109 in Minato
154 reviews
Shinagawa / Gotanda
The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo
Shinagawa / Gotanda
The Prince Sakura Tower Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo

Property: Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo
Address: 4-10-30 Takanawa, Minato 108-8611, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Shinagawa / Gotanda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#31 Business Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3680
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Rakuten, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Hotel Minato
Prince Hotel Tokyo
Minato Prince Hotel
Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing