We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo
Ranked #39 of 109 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very good location”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

A very big hotel with plenty to offer.Too bad that we just had a short stay and unable to explore.Room is clean, tidy and small.But still consider as spacious for Japanese standard.The train JR Station is right across the street but unable to recall the name.Conveniently located,surrounded by shops,food store etc.The restaurant itself offer plenty choice of Japanese food.Eat till you drop.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChongHun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    564
    1,613
    923
    205
    81
See reviews for
581
561
574
1,186
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

My trip was to Tokyo and Osaka + the convenient way to-from Narita airport is preferred. So it came down to locations with Shinkansen (bullet train). Only Shinagawa and Tokyo station answered my requirements, ending up choose this hotel. Not disappointed at all.

The location is "in the mall" opposite to the Shinagawa station. So no worried about food supply, places to eat, or being not safe if you come back late (actually most areas of Tokyo are safe as I saw).

Talking about the room itself, I stayed in North tower which is the cheapest one. The room is small but acceptable. For those who're familiar with hotels in US, it's about 50-70% in size with the same rate. The room is clean, no problem.

For those who don't know what to eat and go for McDonalds downstair... don't do that. You can find many other options inside the train station or mall nearby with about the same price with real foods...I mean not junk. A set of McDonalds is about 700yen already.

Room Tip: The hotel (mentioning North tower only) is not big so rooms away from elevator should be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lousifers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

This is a huge hotel, but the plus side of this is the facilities. Reception spoke good English, there is a separate guest relations desk who give advice, sell stamps and post letters and will take messages; there is also a concierge desk where they will help you with onward travel (booking taxi or limo bus etc). There is also a swimming pool although we didn't try it.

Our room was in the main tower and fine if a little on the small side, but this was the same in all Japanese hotels we stayed in. It was clean and comfortable. A negative is the lack of wifi - none at all, not even in the hotel reception. All the other Japanese hotels we stayed in had free internet if you brought a laptop and cable with you to plug in in your room, but at this hotel you are charged for this.

The location is ok - it seemed a safe area and there is a convenient 7-11 next door to the hotel for late night snacks and a ATM which takes Western credit cards. It's a two minute walk to Shinagawa station for the overland Yamamote/JR line. This is quite a convenient line to be on as it is circular so goes through a lot of the Tokyo districts.

Note if you fly from Tokyo Narita airport, there is a direct limo bus from this hotel to Narita. Buy tickets at the concierge desk (buy them a day in advance) for 3000 yen one way. It took about 1 hour 15 min and was easier than going to Tokyo station and getting the train (although I think the train is slightly cheaper).

Room Tip: Try and stay on the side that faces Mount Fuji - if the weather is clear, you can get a good view (a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LinzofLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ware, Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
140 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

My flight arrived at Haneda (the second Tokyo airport) very late. I needed to get home, but the last Shinkansen had gone. Fine, I needed a hotel room. ASt Haneda railway sation there is a very helpful welcome centre that will book a room for you and issue your train tickets.
There are lifts up and down to all platforms (not always easy to find, but just ask for "Elevator" - Japan is heavily Americanised.
If you're looking for major rail connections anywhere west of Haneda, try to get to Shinagawa first. It's a Shinkansen stop, a JR Tokaido line stop, and on the Keikyu line from Haneda (400yen).

The hotel is just across the road from the station (5 minutes with heavy suitcases). The part I stayed in is 17 storeys tall, the rooms are comfortable and compact. I paid 7000yen for a single, one night, no breakfast. Rooms are really anonymous, but comprehensive.
There is a 24 hour cafe and restaurant on the ground floor.
By the way, you won't be able to open any windows. The "fresh" air comes from the air conditioning. There are drinks machines on every floor, or a 24-hour NEWDAY shop at the sation.

Room Tip: Just ask for a quiet room, maybe at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bradstow2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Annex tower for 4 nights and then another night in the East tower. Our room in the Annex tower had a great view and a great shower and restroom. The bed was really hard to sleep on and hurt my pelvis as I tend to sleep on my side. At the Annex tower you get free Internet by Ethernet but not free wifi, which I find ridiculous.
Getting to the East tower with our luggage was awful. It is VERY hard to find and if you do with your luggage it's even worse. When we got to the reception we told the lady at the front desk that it was very hard to find and she simply ignored us and was very rude all around.
Getting to our room was not easy either! We were sent to the fourth floor but all the signs pointing there indicated that it was a floor for meeting rooms so it was very confusing, we weren't sure if we were going in the right direction at all.
The room itself is VERY small (I say 'is' and not 'was' as I am writing this review from the room now). The appliances look old and broken, basically the room and all of it's items look very neglected, it's like they're not even trying.
The walls between the rooms are VERY thin, as we speak we can hear someone from the room adjacent to us walking in his room. We can also hear all of the noise from downstairs. So a good night's sleep is not expected - Good thing I brought my earplugs!!
The restroom can only be defined as somewhat larger than an airplane restroom.

Do yourself a favor and don't come here.

Helpful?
4 Thank Karen Z
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers are raving about these Minato hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

The Shinagawa Prince Hotel in Tokyo is a huge complex of 4 towers (Main Tower rises up to 39 floors), with a labyrinth of banquet halls and foodcourts, shops, different lobbies and entrances, cinema, aquarium, bowling centre, wedding concierge and entertainment zone for kids. Very popular among locals, its is situated at the Shinagawa train station (Takanawa exit). Its size intimidates as you lose your way and run into noisy crowds of diners, wedding guests and bawling children. You also have to queue in long lines for the better restaurants that you will just give up and head for the relatively quieter foodcourt where the food choices are mediocre. Outside, the busy intersection is always full of people hurrying to catch their train. 2 nights is the most we could take. Our room was quite shabby too.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cyclogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

This hotel was great for my 10 day stay in Tokyo. The room had great views, was spotless and a bit small, but since I was only there to sleep, it was fine. The service was excellent and the buffet breakfast downstairs was affordable and good. The hotel had an ATM, a bunch of small shops, and a 7-11 (if you are missing that western feel) directly outside. A main railway station is located across the street from the hotel and made travel by public transportaion easy. I had no problems getting around Tokyo and even to several day trips farther away. The hotel even held our luggage for us for two days while we went to Kyoto. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buttons828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minato hotels
Shinagawa / Gotanda
Keikyu EX Inn Shinagawa Ekimae
Shinagawa / Gotanda
Grand Prince Hotel New Takanawa
Shinagawa / Gotanda
Grand Prince Hotel Takanawa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 109 in Minato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,043 reviews
Shinagawa / Gotanda
The Prince Sakura Tower Tokyo
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Royal Park Hotel The Shiodome, Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo

Property: Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo
Address: 4-10-30 Takanawa, Minato 108-8611, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Shinagawa / Gotanda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#31 Business Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3680
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Rakuten, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Hotel Minato
Prince Hotel Tokyo
Minato Prince Hotel
Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing