We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, great holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Prince Hotel New Takanawa
Ranked #30 of 118 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed at the Grand Prince Hotel New Takanawa for 8 nights in April 2013. The room itself was big and spacious with comfortable beds, a balcony (our only wish is that we were on a higher floor as we didn't have much of a view), and the kimonos were a nice touch and great to put on at the end of the day. The rooms were cleaned well too. Some of the staff spoke better English than others, and were always compliant and hardworking. They rang our tour operators for us whilst we were out one day to confirm we would be going on our trips. We didn't try the restaurants, only the bakery at the front of the hotel which did a breakfast deal of three pastries and unlimited drinks for 1000 yen. Their pancakes were amazing too. The shops in the hotel opened later (10am) so we didn't get a chance to look round because we were out all day. Our only negative is that there were no English channels on the tv, not even news channels, but the Japanese games shows were quite amusing even if we couldn't understand what was going on. The Japanese garden in the middle of the hotel and nearby hotels was beautiful, we went there on our last day and it felt so peaceful and quiet. Shinagawa station is a 5 minute walk down the road, very convenient, and there is a mall with lots of souvenir shops across from the station. There's also a TGI Fridays and an Outback Steakhouse within a 2 minute walk. Overall, this hotel is in a great location, the service was very good and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We would recommend this hotel and we would return if we ever decided to visit Tokyo again.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views but if you don't get one take the lift to the highest floor to g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinkpaperhearts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,289)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

385 - 391 of 1,289 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2013

Spent 5 nights on executive floor (15th) in April. I booked through their own website on a promotional spring 20% discounted rate which was about GBP 95 per night which was a great deal for the quality. The room was spacious with a very comfortable king size bed, comfy chair, desk and chair, TV (Japanese channels only), fridge, fitted wardrobe. It was nicely decorated and had a good view from the small balcony. The bathroom was also nicely appointed.

I enjoyed the access to the executive lounge (7am-9pm) on the 16th floor which offered free snacks, drinks and a light breakfast. There was free wifi in the lobby downstairs but not in the executive lounge which was a bit inconvenient. Unfortunately no gym and the swimming pool is only open in the summer.

The location is great, just a short walk up from Shinagawa station which gives you access to the Narita Express, Shinkansen bullet trains and the JR Yamanote line and many other subway lines. I didn't eat at any of the hotel restaurants but there is a convenience store in the lobby which is handy. I didn't find too many good dining options in Shinagawa but there are so many options elsewhere this doesn't matter.

Room Tip: book the executive floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gingerSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there for 7 days in late March 2013. The hotel was relatively old, but well maintained. The room have been updated with very comfortable beds and bathroom. The room was relatively small compared to typical US hotel rooms, but 3 of us were able to spend the night comfortably.

I heard that the restaurants in the hotel didn't have a good cost/value. We only ate breakfast there and I agree. Having said that, the 1,000yen breakfast set at the hotel bakery was worth the cost. You get three pieces of pastries and all you can eat soup, salad, and drinks.

The hotel sits at the top of hill near Shinagawa station. The walk was about 5 min, but the hill was pretty steep coming back from the station to the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtn5212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Very big hotel , big rooms, but necessary need updating! Confusing numbering of the rooms. Terrible toilets in the lounge. Wonderful garden with blossoming cherry trees and lake full of fish improved the impression. Breakfast ok, but nothing impressive.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WineWave1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Big hotel, just up the hill from Shinagawa station. Close to restaurants and shopping. Other than that it's a throw-back to the glory days of the early 1980s. Internet is wired in the rooms, but there is no WiFi in the room unless you bring your own hotspot, or you rent a wireless router from the front desk (1000yen per night). The lobby does have free wi-fi, though, so you can check your messages on your phone

There is a convention center on the premises and three similarly named a steady stream of pedestrians walking through the lobby. All day and night, it looks like a line of dark-suited ants walking in from the street, up the stairs, and disappearing down the hallway past the elevators. Fascinating.

One last note, make sure you know which Grand Prince has your reservation! Otherwise you'll be walking all over the area, going from hotel to hotel. Come to think of it, that must be the reason for all the foot traffic passing through the lobby.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nat55nat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

The hotel is really big... Is in strategic position, close to the Shinagawa station, equipped with everything that make this hotel perfect. The staff speak english very good, the rooms are clean, and they have lan cable and wifi acces to the web. The unique thing to mention: there is a couple of very similar named hotels in the area, you must concentate in search the Grand Prince Hotel NEW Takanagawa, because there is other Gran Prince Hotel Takanagawa, and even a Grans Prince Hotel Sakura in the same area.The garden of the hotel is one of the best point, you can relax a little bit in a calm and silent are in the heart of the noise city...

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Péter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

As Tokyo hotels go, its not bad. The rooms are nice and spacious and clean. There are just a few things that let it down:
1. Limited wifi access (you have to ask for a router and they are frequently "out").
2. Bureaucratic and slow check in/check out. OK, its Japan so this is normal.
3. Awful western breakfast choices. They used to let you use the breakfast coupons in the seven eleven, but they stopped that, forcing you to have a fried egg and one strip of bacon in the Marmolade restaurant.
Having said all that, its nice and close to the station and its quiet. I will keep on using this hotel and all the while wishing that the management would just step it up and create a great hotel instead of settling for "good".

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul_K_Oregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minato hotels
Shinagawa / Gotanda
Grand Prince Hotel Takanawa
Shinagawa / Gotanda
The Prince Sakura Tower Tokyo
Shinagawa / Gotanda
Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinagawa / Gotanda
Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo
Shinagawa / Gotanda
Keikyu EX Inn Shinagawa Ekimae
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
The Prince Park Tower Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Prince Hotel New Takanawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Prince Hotel New Takanawa

Address: 3-13-1 Takanawa, Minato 108-8612, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Shinagawa / Gotanda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#26 Business Hotel in Minato
Price Range: $132 - $355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Prince Hotel New Takanawa 4*
Number of rooms: 938
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New (Shin) Takanawa Prince Hotel was designed by Togo Murano, one of Japan's leading architects. Every one of his design concepts from the exterior of the grand banquet halls to the restaurant interiors to the handpicked furnishings all harmonize beautifully, despite their different functions.This is the largest hotel in the Takanawa complex and it is a monument to individuality, décor and functionality. Like its other two counterparts, the New Takanawa Prince sits majestically on the beautifully landscaped grounds of a 10-acre Japanese garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Rakuten, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, Travelocity, Fastbooking, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Prince Hotel New Takanawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Hotel Minato
Prince Hotel Tokyo
Minato Prince Hotel
Grand Prince Hotel New Takanawa Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing