We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Not too bad at all” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Prince Hotel New Takanawa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Prince Hotel New Takanawa
Ranked #29 of 106 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Not too bad at all”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stayed here for a total of 3 nights in Jan of 2013. Cute lil hotel and not as small as the other Prince Hotels in the Shinagawa area. Not too bad at all to be honest. THe price is about $200/night and there is nothing fancy about this place. But the location is superb, there are tons of places to shop and eat at within 5 minutes and the station is only 5 minutes down the hill. staff were good, the rooms were clean and there is a small lanai out there too so I can get some fresh air. I liked it and if you see my other reviews, you know I dont like all hotels! oh the other bad thing.. internet is free but you need a router or something. cause there is no wifi cept for the lobby. there is free wired internet in the rooms though

Room Tip: corner rooms were nice but the hallways are long since there are lot of rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yasuo O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,052 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    524
    224
    45
    22
See reviews for
237
219
94
340
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The location of the hotel is great ! It is a short walk (up the hill) from the Shinagawa Train station.
The hotel itself is gigantic but has nothing much to offer in terms of ambience and decor ! Good place to sleep and get out. The breakfast was average at best and the shopping facilities inside is below average. There is a 7-11 conveniently located within this building !
There are some good restaurants on your walk to the Shinagawa Train station as well. If you would like to go where the locals go for food, take the train to Shibuya train station and go downstairs (basement of the Shibuya train station). It is a food paradise ! All local food freshly made and it is a great way to experience Japanese cuisine.
The Shinkansen is also conveniently located in the Shinagawa train station.

Room Tip: The walk to the hotel from the Shinagawa train station can get tiring at times. This is up the hill...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BhaskarKoukuntla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Location - far from city centre . Property very nice . Language is a problem . Staff friendly and helpful . Rooms good but not very well equipped as are most hotels in Japan . Breakgast very good but could have more non - Japanese / Chinese and particulary for vegetarians .

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ShaliniSippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I think this may be the biggest hotel I've ever stayed in: it was absolutely huge. You walk into an enormous lobby, and there are about a million rooms. Possibly more. It's part of a larger complex with some other Prince hotels too: keep a note of the exact name so you don't end up in the wrong place.

We stayed as part of a family holiday during which we stayed in three hotels in Tokyo and one in Kyoto. This was a large hotel that looks to be set up mainly for conferences and businesspeople, although as we were there during the week between Christmas and New Year, it was a lot less businessy than I suspect it usually is.

In spite of the size, service wasn't impersonal or unfriendly: all of the staff went out of their way to be helpful. Check-in and check-out were surprisingly fast and easy given the very large number of guests.

We had asked for two interconnecting rooms, but the hotel doesn't have any. Instead, we got two double rooms. Both were large, clean, comfortable, and had loads of storage space. The outside of the hotel looks a bit 70s, but our rooms were extremely modern: they seem to have been very recently renovated. The beds were very comfortable.

My only real criticism of the rooms would be that they were far too warm. Even though it was late December, I had to keep my window open. We couldn't do that in the kids' room, though - it was a full-length sliding door onto a balcony, and it wouldn't have been safe.

There was free, fast, wired Internet. There was a reasonably big TV with CNN and BBC.

The location is great: it's about five minutes' walk from the Takenawa exit of Shinagawa Station. The bullet trains to and from Kyoto and Osaka stop there: if you're travelling to the hotel from another city, get off the bullet train at Shinagawa station rather than Tokyo station.

There was a 7-11 convenience store on the ground floor, and an ATM that took a full range of international cards (something of a rarity in Japan): both of these things were incredibly helpful.

This was a high-quality, no-nonsense, business-focused hotel. I'd be happy to stay here again.

Room Tip: Club-floor rooms (15th and 16th floor) offer free use of the club lounge, with free breakfast (basic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BruceShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I stayed in this Hotel recently for more than a week. This was a great business type hotel located within a 5-minute walk from the train station Shinagawa. Nothing about the hotel was extravagant yet up to standard. There are plenty of malls and other eating spots around.

Rooms was clean and basic. Great view from the room in mornings and evenings. We could view the Tokyo tower from our room. There were little areas to socialize other than the lobby.

Food was excellent. Both Western and Japanese food are served in the hotel restaurant. There was a lot of variety. I very much enjoyed breakfasts at Marmolada, which was tasty and great value for money.

WiFi was available for free in the lobby area but not in the rooms. A cable connection is provided for rooms.
Great service and the reception staff are well spoken in English which made life easy.
However, the feel of the hotel was more western than Japanese for me.
I had a lovely stay here and probably go back if and when I go to Tokyo again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hasid88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Outlook very nice but not the hotel room , may need upgrading inside the room , furniture look old .free Wifi only available in Lobby , not convienience for people who want suftnet in the room. Staff is very helpful. Standard breakfast nice with street view.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wadeyaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

I would certainly recommend this hotel, even after a reservation mix-up. We booked our hotel reservation via Booking.com several weeks before arriving at the hotel. We had a printed confirmation with us when we checked-in. The hotel had the wrong check-in date, which caused some confusion. After a twenty minute wait in the lobby, the error was corrected. Since the hotel was responsible for the error, I requested a room upgrade for our inconvenience. The request was honored, and my wife and I enjoyed a larger hotel room overlooking the Tokyo skyline. We loved our accommodation and the location of the hotel. It is very close to the Shinagawa Train Station, which is a stop for the Shinkansen to Kyoto and Osaka.

Room Tip: We always do well requesting a quiet room on an upper floor far away from an ice machine and the ele...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minato hotels
Shinagawa / Gotanda
Grand Prince Hotel Takanawa
Shinagawa / Gotanda
Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo
Shinagawa / Gotanda
The Prince Sakura Tower Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinagawa / Gotanda
Keikyu EX Inn Shinagawa Ekimae
Shinagawa / Gotanda
The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo
Shinagawa / Gotanda
Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Prince Hotel New Takanawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Prince Hotel New Takanawa

Property: Grand Prince Hotel New Takanawa
Address: 3-13-1 Takanawa, Minato 108-8612 , Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Shinagawa / Gotanda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#26 Business Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Prince Hotel New Takanawa 4*
Number of rooms: 938
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New (Shin) Takanawa Prince Hotel was designed by Togo Murano, one of Japan's leading architects. Every one of his design concepts from the exterior of the grand banquet halls to the restaurant interiors to the handpicked furnishings all harmonize beautifully, despite their different functions.This is the largest hotel in the Takanawa complex and it is a monument to individuality, décor and functionality. Like its other two counterparts, the New Takanawa Prince sits majestically on the beautifully landscaped grounds of a 10-acre Japanese garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, Rakuten, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Prince Hotel New Takanawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Hotel Minato
Prince Hotel Tokyo
Minato Prince Hotel
Grand Prince Hotel New Takanawa Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing