We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel. Conveniently Located!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Prince Hotel New Takanawa
Ranked #31 of 109 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Hotel. Conveniently Located!”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I stayed in this Hotel recently for more than a week. This was a great business type hotel located within a 5-minute walk from the train station Shinagawa. Nothing about the hotel was extravagant yet up to standard. There are plenty of malls and other eating spots around.

Rooms was clean and basic. Great view from the room in mornings and evenings. We could view the Tokyo tower from our room. There were little areas to socialize other than the lobby.

Food was excellent. Both Western and Japanese food are served in the hotel restaurant. There was a lot of variety. I very much enjoyed breakfasts at Marmolada, which was tasty and great value for money.

WiFi was available for free in the lobby area but not in the rooms. A cable connection is provided for rooms.
Great service and the reception staff are well spoken in English which made life easy.
However, the feel of the hotel was more western than Japanese for me.
I had a lovely stay here and probably go back if and when I go to Tokyo again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hasid88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    599
    247
    54
    24
See reviews for
261
247
107
399
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Outlook very nice but not the hotel room , may need upgrading inside the room , furniture look old .free Wifi only available in Lobby , not convienience for people who want suftnet in the room. Staff is very helpful. Standard breakfast nice with street view.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wadeyaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

I would certainly recommend this hotel, even after a reservation mix-up. We booked our hotel reservation via Booking.com several weeks before arriving at the hotel. We had a printed confirmation with us when we checked-in. The hotel had the wrong check-in date, which caused some confusion. After a twenty minute wait in the lobby, the error was corrected. Since the hotel was responsible for the error, I requested a room upgrade for our inconvenience. The request was honored, and my wife and I enjoyed a larger hotel room overlooking the Tokyo skyline. We loved our accommodation and the location of the hotel. It is very close to the Shinagawa Train Station, which is a stop for the Shinkansen to Kyoto and Osaka.

Room Tip: We always do well requesting a quiet room on an upper floor far away from an ice machine and the ele...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
125 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Pros: Located near the Shinagawa train Station which is convenient for accessing other parts of Tokyo. Take the west exit from the station and go up the street where you can see Prince Hotel buildings. Go past Outback, Singapore Seafood, TGI Fridays, etc and you'll find the hotel on the right.

Con: Located uphill from the train station. At night, lugging heavy luggage, it seemed like a long way. Should have taken a taxi. In the morning without luggage, it was a pleasant downhill walk. We didn't actually do anything in the Shinagawa area, though, other than eat and sleep so next time I might try to find a hotel in another part of Tokyo.

Pros: Convenience store located onsite
Con: Food is expensive but there are many, many options only a block or so away.

Pro: Nice size room; nice shower flow and hot water; robes & tea provided
Con: Furnishings are rather industrial and the public areas are a little tired. This is a convention type hotel.

Pro: Limousine Bus is available to the airport.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SEAPexplorer012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portugal
Level Contributor
51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Conveniently located next to the Shinagawa Train Station and to the Takanawadai Subway Station, you can reach a lot of places from here.
The rooms are big and clean. There's a small balcony available as well, and the bathroom has a big space.
The internet is fast, and as common with Japanese, the personnel are very welcoming and sympathetic.
Do be aware of breakfast, though. It is not included, and there's a restaurant on a lower floor from the lobby that serves it. You end up paying 27€ for a breakfast that is only “normal”, and that it certainly doesn’t live to the standards of such requested price. You better just buy stuff from the convenience stores located on Shinagawa Train Station. There's an Outback Restaurant just across the street in case you're in for something more western.
I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nuno_the_Curious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Stayed here during my trip in November for 4 nights and booked the superior twin room with 10% discount of the normal rate. Counter staffs were very polite and efficient, they will always greet you whenever they saw you. But command of English still need slight improvement. Room was in a great and clean condition when I checked in. Surprised at how spacious and clean the room was and there is even a balcony. The view from the balcony was great and the leaves on the tree was starting to turn red. The facilities in the room: mini bar fridge, safe, hotflask, 32" LCD TV, a big n clean bathtub, closet for clothings, a desk for writing, a single seater sofa, a coffee table and 2 super spacious bed etc.

Location wise is not bad, but if you are with a heavy suitcase, then the gentle slope to the hotel from Shinagawa JR station might prove tiring and abit challenging. Getting to the hotel from Shinagawa JR station is around less than 10min and to Takanawadai subway station is nearer. The vicinity of the hotel is full of restaurants and cafes but nothing much for you if you want to shop. There is a 7-11 convenience store in the hotel which opens till 2am so no worries if you are hungry at night. Sadly, there is no free wi-fi. You can bring a laptop and connect using your own ethernet cable. If you do not have a laptop, you can use the desktop PC at the business lounge (100yen for 10min).

You can also book the airport limousine bus ticket from the hotel as it is one of the boarding point to Narita or Haneda airport.

Overall, this is a great hotel with good service and nice rooms but location wise is ok if you do not mind daily traveling to Shibuya, Shinjuku, Harajuku etc. It will be great if wi-fi is provided free.

Room Tip: Try to book at least a superior room as the cheaper room has received quite alot of negative reviews...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fusionz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We recently decided to spend a week in Tokyo on our way back from a trip to Canada, we asked our travel agent to book as 3-4 star hotel close to transport and she recomended the Grand Prince New Takanawa.

We found the hotel to be very pleasant, and definately handy for Shinagawa Station, only about a 3-4 minute walk away.

The guest relations manager Nami Kawano was a gem. She was extremely patient with my constant hassling for information, gave us maps for everywhere we wanted to go, wrote notes in Japanese for us to give to taxi drivers, etc, and recomended some awesome places for us to visit.

Food at the hotel was excellent, breakfasts at Marmolada was excellent quality and great value for money.

Our room was always spotless and we had a (little) balcony to take in the morning air and got some great sunrise / sunset views.

The gardens between the Grand Prince & Grand Prince new were out of this world, we actually walked the long way to the station just for the pleasure of walking through the gardens!

all in all great value!

Room Tip: All rooms that I could see were great and all had balconies!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YTandCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minato hotels
Shinagawa / Gotanda
Grand Prince Hotel Takanawa
Shinagawa / Gotanda
Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo
Shinagawa / Gotanda
The Prince Sakura Tower Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinagawa / Gotanda
Keikyu EX Inn Shinagawa Ekimae
Shinagawa / Gotanda
The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo
Shinagawa / Gotanda
Shinagawa Tobu Hotel
Shinagawa Tobu Hotel
#77 of 109 in Minato
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Prince Hotel New Takanawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Prince Hotel New Takanawa

Property: Grand Prince Hotel New Takanawa
Address: 3-13-1 Takanawa, Minato 108-8612, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Shinagawa / Gotanda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#26 Business Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Prince Hotel New Takanawa 4*
Number of rooms: 938
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New (Shin) Takanawa Prince Hotel was designed by Togo Murano, one of Japan's leading architects. Every one of his design concepts from the exterior of the grand banquet halls to the restaurant interiors to the handpicked furnishings all harmonize beautifully, despite their different functions.This is the largest hotel in the Takanawa complex and it is a monument to individuality, décor and functionality. Like its other two counterparts, the New Takanawa Prince sits majestically on the beautifully landscaped grounds of a 10-acre Japanese garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Rakuten, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Fastbooking and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Prince Hotel New Takanawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Hotel Minato
Prince Hotel Tokyo
Minato Prince Hotel
Grand Prince Hotel New Takanawa Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing