We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ryokan 
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ryokan 
View Hotel
Reviews (1,236)
Filter reviews
1,236 results
Traveler rating
726
390
81
27
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
726
390
81
27
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshinagawa stationnarita expresskonan exitdean and delucabullet trainoffice towerconvenient locationcovered walkwayhotel lobby ishigh risebusiness travelersmall hotelfitness roomexcellent locationfantastic hotelgreat businesseasy access
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
530 - 535 of 1,236 reviews
Reviewed September 8, 2013

The Strings hotel itself is very efficient, especially if you are only staying for a few days and not spending too much time in the hotel itself. This is not a luxury hotel, so don't expect top of the line accommodations, staff calling you by name, etc., but very clean, nicely decorated, comfortable, safe, and the staff is very polite and accommodating. The restaurants are expensive but convenient and room service is excellent. The bathrooms are on the small side, but have all the amenities you've come to expect in a Japanese hotel. The location is difficult to find for taxis, so make sure you take a Japanese taxi card with you.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scrapbook-Crazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STRINGSICTOKYO, Guest Experience Manager at The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Dear Scrapbook-Crazy,

Thank you for your review. It is wonderful to hear that you found our staff polite and accommodating and also enjoyed the quality of our room service. Our staff can provide Japanese taxi cards for guests.

We appreciate your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back home one day soon.

Kind regards,

Ben Johnson
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed here one night before heading to the relatives' house - convenient location next to the station, excellent room that fit a fold-out bed with little trouble, and a Circle K in the same building that made breakfast easy. Nice area nearby with tons of restaurants for dinner. Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sister67_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STRINGSICTOKYO, Guest Experience Manager at The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

Dear Guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to leave your 5 star review.
Our Concierge and Guest Service team are able to assist with advice about local area, restaurants and Tokyo in general if you require any assistance on your next stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Ben Johnson
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Next to Shinagawa Station... It does not get much better for a business hotel... Impeccable rooms, service, location... Restaurant decent... Got to get to the 26th floor to experience it. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greenskyblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STRINGSICTOKYO, Guest Experience Manager at The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear Greenskyblue,

Thank you very much for your 5 star review and we hope to welcome you back to Tokyo again soon.

Kind regards,

Ben Johnson
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Rooms are really well designed, especially the bathrooms: not very big, but really great design. The staff is awesome and willing to help (not that I would expect less from Tokyo standard to be honest). Never had breakfast as it seems a bit too expensive but there are plenty of other places where to eat. Highly recommended, unless you are on holiday and want to party... then don't come to Shinagawa on a Saturday night! :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StalinTheCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STRINGSICTOKYO, Guest Experience Manager at The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave a positive 5 star review. We look forward to welcoming you back and our Concierge are always at hand to help you with recommendations for a perfect night out in Tokyo.

Kind regards,

Ben Johnson
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights and was very satisfied with the room and service. As you would expect for Tokyo the rooms are not large but the bed was very comfortable. The aircon however did not seem to get cold enough but was adequate. Good HD TV in the room and was very clean and everything worked. The hotel gym is also quite small can cannot take more that 7-8 people at a time. The equipment is OK. Gym is open 24 hours. The hotel is next to my office in Tokyo so was very convenient. Will stay again on business.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Capt_Bola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STRINGSICTOKYO, Guest Experience Manager at The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

Thank you very much for your comments and we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to being of service again on your next stay.

Kind regards,

Ben Johnson
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews